We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tulum Monkey Sanctuary”

Tulum Monkey Sanctuary
Ranked #24 of 87 things to do in Tulum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tulum Monkey Sanctuary was closed on October 13, 2014 due to the death of the owner of the property. Thank you for your support. The Tulum Monkey Sanctuary is a privately owned 60 acre ranch. On the ranch we have 15 rescued Spider Monkeys that live in natural habitats. There are also wild monkeys that pass through on their normal feeding routes. In addition to Spider Monkeys we have saved many, many animals including lots of street dogs. Although the Tulum Monkey Sanctuary is closed at the moment we hope you will support us in our move to the YuCARE Ranch. The YuCARE Foundation will be dedicated to broad based animal rescue (starting with the monkeys of Tulum Monkey Sanctuary) and will be self-sustaining both financially and environmentally.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tulum Monkey Sanctuary”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I had a great time here. We fit Coba and the Multun-Ha Cenote in before stopping here at our reserved time of 3pm. Rob was a great guide even though he was just temporarily filling in for the usual guide John. He had great knowledge of all the animals in the Sanctuary as well as knowledge of Mayan history, ruins, and mythology that he shared along the way.

A rundown of how our tour went:

We first arrived and were greeted by 3 rescued horses and a burro. While waiting for another couple that was to join us on our tour we took some pictures with the burro who Rob referred to as "cheeky"- which was a title well deserved as he soon nipped me on the thigh (in a playful manner).

From there we moved on to some of the monkey habitats. The main one is a very large area surrounded by fence that houses ~10 individuals while a few others house from 1-4 monkeys each. Rob explained that this allows them to slowly introduce newcomers to the main group in a controlled way since monkeys have a complicated social structure that can be hard for new members to be accepted into. The monkeys themselves were very happy to see us as Rob came prepared with food for them (in this case, peanuts).

Next, we headed towards the river like cenote to catch a glimpse of the resident croc. On the way we were accompanied by a rescued puppy and cat and also saw numerous ducks, a rabbit, and the deer enclosure. The croc took some coaxing before he appeared- Rob fed fish in his river in order to attract him to hunt them. We got to see him take one (unsuccessful) strike at the fish. He may have been too embarrassed from missing his mark to try again in front of us.

After that, we got to jump into a cenote (not accessible by the croc, of course). It's basically a hole in the ground that drops down ~10 feet. Once you jump in you can see a tunnel that leads to a dock that allows exit. Along the way there are numerous bats that do fly-bys which was really cool and freaky. We tried to get pictures of them mid-flight but they are too fast.

Last, we took a short walk to Richard's on site house for drinks (I believe this part is only on Wednesday tours). I'm sure it was suppose to only last ~30 minutes or so but everyone was having such a good time drinking and hearing stories (especially those about Richard's life) that we lost track of time and visited for much longer.

Overall it was a very memorable experience and well worth the cost and time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    57
    13
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique place for animal & nature lovers”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Tulum Monkey Sanctuary was a treat. It was very special to meet Mimi and the other rescued and rehabilitating monkeys up close, to watch the antics of the Monkey Island residents across the way in their enclosed habitat... And perhaps best of all, to discover wild monkeys swinging in the trees and checking out the Monkey Island residents.

Warning to visitors: pile on the natural/ biodegradable insect repellant! It's the jungle - there are Mosquitos galore. Also wear your swimsuit under your (light weight) clothes, and enjoy swimming in the open cenote. It's a refreshing treat.

We enjoyed the Monkeys & Margaritas tour, which also gave us a chance to talk with Richard, the owner. Must see for animal lovers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragley, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Monkey Sanctuary was a great visit. It was a private sanctuary that is now open for the public to enjoy. The tour groups are very small so you have a very personalized experience (there were 7 of us total). John (the tour guide) was very knowledgeable and interacted very well with our children. He told many stories and kept their interest the whole time. We visited with and fed several monkeys and got to even see the wild monkeys. The mom and her baby were a big excitement.

We saw the crocodile, but he did not stay around long. He caught himself a meal of fresh talapia and moved on.

The cenote was very refreshing (cold!!) and beautiful.

This is a jungle tour, so bring plenty of mosquito repellent. There is a lot of walking and terrain is uneven, so mobility could be an issue for some.

Overall, this was an amazing experience. My girls are still talking about it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank toadiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“monkey lovers, this is for you.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

John was a great tour guide. He was very accommodating, knowledgable, and inspired the imagination of the kids on our tour with a little bit of Mayan folklore. We definitely saw lots of great characters (monkeys) on the tour and even got to shake hands with a few.

We went the day after a big rain in June, so sadly we could not go swimming in the cenote. He did offer for us to come back on another day for a swim. We didn't take him up on it, but we were glad for the offer.

This was definitely a highlight of our visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful experience for everyone!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a fascinating tour. We got close to the monkeys (and we're visited by wild monkeys, too). If you love adventure, don't miss out on this great opportunity.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulum Monkey Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Tulum Monkey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing