We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay and awesome owners”
Review of Hostel Sheck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Sheck
Ranked #9 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hostel Sheck in a four bed dorm. We were originally booked into another hostel in Tulum, however after arriving at the hostel we had to get out of there ASAP as it was not what we had expected or had paid for. We walked to Hostel Sheck late that evening and they did not have beds available for the two of us that night but said we could come back in the morning and hang out there until check in. The owners were very friendly and very helpful. The hostel had an awesome atmosphere, the rooms were clean, the showers were hot and clean, and they could not do enough for us to make our stay comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 291 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is the best place to stay in Tulum! The hostels is brand new, very clean, comfi beds and a nice communial area. Very social place easy to meet other travelers, made some good friends here! Mike and Gaby work very hard for the hostel and to make their guest feel comfortable. Both of them are very knowledge able, also set me up with a great diving instructor. Hostel is walking distance from the bus station and all the bars and restaurants. Hostel itself has a bar as well to socialise and exchange travel information with fellow travelers. Hot showers and big kitchen with much storage room for your own food. Currently still staying here almost over a week!

Room Tip: For best sleeping quality take the small dorm! Big dorm nice and clean too just more people :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Mike and Gby the owners are great people,
they are very hospitable giving guests information on Tulum and the surrounding area.
I called Hostel Sheck home for over 3 weeks and had an amazing time. Spending a lot of time at the bar which has great backpacker prices which are hard to find nowadays in hostels. The environment of Hostel Sheck is a real traveller friendly place with great music played, great kitchen, chillout areas with hammocks and gardens to create a cool environment to organise your activities.

Tulum itself is a way more chilled out town with local people, restaurants and coffee shops, better beaches and cenotes. Much more chilled out than the gringo towns of Playa del Carmen and Cancun which have exorbitant prices and I don’t see the point in going to Mexico for an American experience!

Visit Tulum and stay at Hostel Sheck, I wish Mike and Gby all the best with their hostel and know you’ll enjoy your stay there with great people in a hostel in a great location.

Make sure you try the Fresh Juices across the road, and the best empanadas in Mexico from Sebastián and Mariano.

I wish Mike and Gby all the best for the future.

Kiwi Dan,
travelled over 50 countries
so I should know a good hostel!!! :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank DanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Bloody love this place.
Superb service.
Tequila is delicious.
Showers are warm and outdoorsy.
Gabi isthe love of my life. And Mike is a complete babe.
They go above and beyond for your happiness.
Couldn't be happier with my stay and the wonderful family vibe they provide.
Came for 2 days, stayed for a week.
HOSTEL SHEK, WE LOVE YOU.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Sheck has a nice vibe and the management and owners are what make this hostel wonderful.
Rooms are fair priced during peak season and the upstairs dorm is airy.
The hostel bar is lovely and brings everyone together. Location wise the hostel is within easy reach of the ruins, town and beaches of Tulum.

Room Tip: If staying in dorms take the upstairs dorm it may be larger but the ventilation is great. Bring a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_Claire_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at this hostel 3 separate times in a span of 2 months. The owners literally bent over backwards for me and other guests. The hostel always had hot water, clean bathrooms and clean common areas. (Very clean in general)The hostel has a bar with very reasonable prices. They also have an Argentinian staff member who makes delicious empanadas for sale at a great price. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a safe and inviting stay! I have read the reviews that were bad and I find it hard to believe any of it. In my opinion if you can't get along with these people it's YOU not them!
I was rather ill at the end of my stay and they even gave me some tea and were genuinely concerned and helpful in every way possible!
Thank you Mike and Gby!
When next in Tulum I'll be more than happy to stay and see you again!
Krista York

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaybeads72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hostel Shek is a great place to stay in Tulum. The dorms are well-priced and includes a solid breakfast in the morning. Beds are comfortable, showers are hot, and the WIFI is fast and reliable. There are hammocks for lazying-around, a bar with lots of cool people to meet and drink with at night, and a real cute puppy to play with. The owners are cool and very chill. They are travelers themselves and have good stories and fun to hang out with. The location is good, close to the bus stop and with a few little eateries and fruit stand just across the street. They hook you up with a cheap bike rental. I stayed for 4 days and was really comfortable and enjoyed my stay. I really like how open the place is, it's refreshing. You don't feel closed-in in the dorms. I'd recommend staying here, for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexanderkattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#13 of 134 in Tulum
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#6 of 134 in Tulum
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#25 of 134 in Tulum
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#50 of 134 in Tulum
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Cha Cha Cha
Hostal Cha Cha Cha
#78 of 134 in Tulum
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weary Traveler Hostel
Weary Traveler Hostel
#28 of 134 in Tulum
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sheck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sheck

Address: Corner Avenida Satelite N. and Sagitario, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $13 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in November 2012, we have been attracting backpackers worldwide. Hostel Sheck is a laid back hostel with a lush garden to relax, meet people and yet have a good time and party at our budget-friendly bar. We have created an atmosphere we know backpackers will appreciate and enjoy. We offer a full range of facilities including a big modern kitchen; free Wi-Fi; and hammocks when you are ready to just relax and enjoy the day or evening. A free, hot Breakfast is offered daily and of course plenty of hot water. We are close to downtown Tulum - just 2 blocks from the main Avenida and easily accessible to restaurants, shops, the Central Bus terminal, transportation to the ruins, beaches, and bike rental facilities. Everything is brand new - beds, bathrooms, and comfortable mattresses. Come stay at Hostel Sheck, the newest hostel in Tulum! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing