We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above And Beyond”
Review of Hostel Sheck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Sheck
Ranked #9 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hostels I've been to. Very clean, fast internet, really cool bar. The place has a great vibe.
Btw, pancakes for breakfast (free)! Zero mosquitoes where I slept it was well screened. Also more girls than guys just saying ;)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Keyan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 292 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Comfy beds, high ceilings, hot water. The owners are a couple and make a good party. My boyfriend spent his 21st birthday there and Mike poured him 21 free tequila shots and a bday cupcake. It was a blast! The bar really brings everyone together. I would definitely stay here again! The hostel is pretty close to everything too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chikitawita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Staff is very welcoming and provide a great map and description of surrounding activities as well as prices and recommendations immediately upon arrival without needing to be asked. Great recommendations for restaurants, overall very helpful. The hostel is new and clean, water in the showers is actually hot. Location is a little ways off the main tourist street. The dorms are right above the bar and common area, which means it can get a little noisy for sleeping so bring your ear plugs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We liked Hostal Sheck a lot!
Good location, very nice and green facilities with a bar, hammocks and kitchen.
Friendly staff, especially thanks to Jorge for his enthusiasm - he is an infinite source of information!
The hostel provides help with renting bikes and you can rent snorkeling gear and towels for reasonable prices right there.
Breakfast is decent and included.
Downstairs toilets and especially showers are really nice and clean.
Although the dorm is really huge, you don't feel it because of seperating walls. But we didn't like that the bathroom upstairs is open at the top so everyone hears everything...
And we found some garbage under and around our beds.
We would return anytime and recommend to stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perle379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall reall nice hostel, good vibes. Camp like environment. The beds were decently comfy and the sheets were nice. Access to a kitchen is awesome after the last hostel. Safe is really friendly.

Tip: if your a couple don't expect much privacy if you know what I mean. Half walls every where.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sombra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hostel was exactly what I wanted for my stay at Tulum. It would be great if such places were everywhere where I go for holidays! Very social, great staff, nice bar and a lot of party! I can only recommand this place to every traveller, especially solo travellers (they don't have individual rooms, but they are planning to add some).

The owners, Mike and Gabi, and the people working there, are extremely helpful and keen to read your wishes from your lips. They do their very best to make their guests happy, and I can say they succeed in this task!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while in Tulum- the staff was amazing! Jorge showed us on a map eeeeverything we could possibly want to do, how to get there, how much it should cost, etc. The showers were great, rooms were clean, and the free breakfast was such a bonus. It's a small hostel, so even coming alone you feel at home right away. People are always hanging around chatting and drinking at night (the hostel bar has the lowest prices in town)- hardly anyone sits in the rooms. I was there on a Sunday and the staff still took us out on the town and showed us where to go and what was open. It's a great location as well- would definitely recommend staying here if you are in Tulum!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caityregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#11 of 136 in Tulum
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 136 in Tulum
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#25 of 136 in Tulum
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#44 of 136 in Tulum
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lucky Traveler Hostel
Lucky Traveler Hostel
#35 of 136 in Tulum
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quintana Roots Hostel
Quintana Roots Hostel
#8 of 136 in Tulum
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sheck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sheck

Address: Corner Avenida Satelite N. and Sagitario, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $17 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in November 2012, we have been attracting backpackers worldwide. Hostel Sheck is a laid back hostel with a lush garden to relax, meet people and yet have a good time and party at our budget-friendly bar. We have created an atmosphere we know backpackers will appreciate and enjoy. We offer a full range of facilities including a big modern kitchen; free Wi-Fi; and hammocks when you are ready to just relax and enjoy the day or evening. A free, hot Breakfast is offered daily and of course plenty of hot water. We are close to downtown Tulum - just 2 blocks from the main Avenida and easily accessible to restaurants, shops, the Central Bus terminal, transportation to the ruins, beaches, and bike rental facilities. Everything is brand new - beds, bathrooms, and comfortable mattresses. Come stay at Hostel Sheck, the newest hostel in Tulum! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing