We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“BEST RESTAURANT IN TULUM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simple

Simple
Ranked #46 of 335 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Simple we know and respect each ingredient we use, that’s why our menu turns out to be original, simple, and unique. In it we gather the taste of the Pacific, preparing grilled and roasted fish, seafood and vegetables; meat and poultry, cooked in their own juices with the preparation of your choice. We offer portions by the weight designed to be shared (we also offer individual portions), as well as natural and buzzing beverages, in the middle of a cozy atmosphere where you will feel treated just like home. Simple is a family-owned and family-operated restaurant where you will find trust, kindness, happiness, party, music and dancing.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN TULUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

this restaurant is the best food i ate on this trip. The staff is great and the cook uses his own sauces that he came up with himself. the food is great but the prices are weird because they determine the price by the amount of grams the fish is. If you are hungry i would advise you to watch the amount you eat because its kind of pricey but still delicious!!!! When you get there say hi to the cook and hell take care of you.... have a great trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TahoeKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    100
    29
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
“Perfect .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Its a experience !
Live your own , go and meet Richie !
Muy bueno ve y vive tu propia experiencia
Conoce a Richie y come muy bien !!
Salud pescado y amor !
Sex fish and rock and roll hahah
Buen provecho !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadaeduado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“White tuna and ceviche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I didn't really like ceviche before I went to this restaurant. It totally changed my mind about it. The owner is lovely, the service is just right, the location is great. Unpretentious, delicious, good value. Best place I went to in Tulum by a mile. The fish is so special you buy it by the gram. Try the white Tuna.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlieinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Fantastic experience , was in tulum for 5 days and this was our best meal. Lobster, salmon bad wine was excellent and the ambiance is chill and relaxed but up scale. Service was slow but staff super friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend and can't wait to go back!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samlsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pushy, Overpriced and Totally Lame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The first sign of trouble was the pushy owner giving his own food rave reviews and dissing another restaurant in Tulum for no reason. Then came the hard sell from the waiter and the unclear pricing structure (prices for whole fish were in pesos per 10 grams). The gross waiter continued with unfunny jokes and endless bragging about the chef's food throughout and then the bill came to over $100US for the fish alone - ridiculous!

The atmosphere is not sophisticated, or cute - it's lazy and haphazard, like the staff. At the end of the meal, the waiter dragged me over to the credit card machine and gave me a lecture about how he was honest and I could trust him, but I should always watch closely at other restaurants because there are a lot of dishonest people elsewhere trying to rip off tourists. Really dude? You're the only one who ever made me feel ripped off or uncomfortable in an entire week in the area.

In the end, the food was decent, but the atmosphere and sleazy staff made it one of our worst experiences in Tulum. So many better places to go from the simple and fun atmosphere at La Zebra or Posada Margherita, to the exemplary food and truly charming settings at Tobano or Hartwood (which are both considerably lesse expensive as well).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank efaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpleTulum, Owner at Simple, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your feedback, it is always helpful to find opportunity areas in order to improve ourselves and create better experiences for our customers. We've been doing some research on your report and we found out that you were served by a new waiter, who is actually in his trial period. We offer you our most sincere apologies, as he did not honor our values in respect to treating our customers. First of all, one of our values is not to be pushy and to offer our products based on our customer's needs and wants. He offered a whole fish, which was large for your party. Second of all, he should have explained our pricing structure, which is always by weight. Whatever whole fish or fillet you choose is weighed and you are charged based on that. Our prices appear in our menu, and the most expensive fish is $110 pesos per 100 grams. Even lobster we offer it at $120 per 100 grams, which are very competitive prices for the zone. We really regret our waiter offered you one of our most expensive fishes which weighed more than 1 kg. No wonder why your bill felt excessive. We would really want to compensate you for your bad experience in feeling you didn't get what you paid for. If you're still around please come back and we promise we will make it up to you. We want you to have an outstanding dining experience which is what our customers deserve. If you're not around anymore, please send us your contact info to reservations@simple-tulum.com and we will reimburse your bill. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simple also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Simple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing