We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and affordable food that happens to be vegan”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurare

Restaurare
Ranked #15 of 387 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American, Fusion, Healthy, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Author vegan cuisine, supporting local products and farmers, inspired in permaculture and pursuing sustainable development all served with love in tulum's jungle, few steps from the beach.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and affordable food that happens to be vegan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Tulum area is full of overpriced restaurants (some good, some not) so we were VERY happy to find Restaurare.

More than the food (which other reviewers have done a good job describing), the service was excellent, and the waiter/co-owner(?) spoke perfect English and gave us some good advice for our trip.

The also have a booth at the Saturday Tulum market at El Jardin de Frida.

FYI, they are closer to km 6 on the road, not km 4.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    80
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent vegan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A hidden gem in the jungle. This restaurant has a very simple yet brilliant menu of curries, tofu dishes and fresh juices (add mescal for a cocktail). Highly recommended!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite flavors - culinary nirvana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just returned from a heavenly week in Tulum, during which we ate many delicious meals. Restaurare was without question the culinary highlight for us "foodies."

In fact, we couldn't go home without going back for seconds! The vegetarian mole was to die for: exquisitely rich, complex, nuanced, and exploding with flavor. I wish I could have it every week of my life. Also delicious: tacos pibil and the salbutes. Every bite at Restaurare was fresh, flavorful, and unique. My mouth is watering just remembering the sensory delights of each dish. The tropical jungle setting is special too. Great for a romantic meal, for hungry beach goers, for families... for anyone who loves extremely flavorful, lovingly prepared, nourishing food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“amazing fresh juices and food, byo to mix with the juices fod awesome cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to restaurare based on TA reviews and had an awesome meal. Everything is made fresh and the combinations of flavors are very tasty. The tacos were a highlight for sure. The curry is made with homemade coconut milk. That's right : homemade coconut milk! The setting is an upscale garden with romantic candlelight. It was raining so only some tables were under cover and they were taken so we sat at the bar. We loved this because we had a front row seat to watch our fresh fruit drinks and meals being prepared. The owner is very nice and friendly and gave us some nice tips on what to do in the area. Delicious food in an awesome setting. Not to be missed. Bring a bottle of liquor to mix into the juices for some delicious cocktails.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripgal926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food Even for a Non-Vegan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This restaurant is tucked on the beach road below Tulum. Look carefully for their sign as we almost missed it --- and you don't want to miss a meal here. The location is very "jungle rustic" with tables scattered outside among the palm trees. A very relaxing and pretty setting. Bring bug spray as there will be little critters flying around.

I've never eaten at a vegetarian restaurant, so as an omnivorve I can tell you the vegan dishes here are excellent. I had the mayan curry and my wife has the special that day, which included a lime soup and baja tacos. Everything was delicious. The menu is short but doesn't really need to be any bigger. The handmade drinks are flavorful and refreshing, and the prices here are very reasonabvle. Try it out !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveFromMerryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurare also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Restaurare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing