We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel and Hostal El Punto
Ranked #37 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed March 22, 2014

First off, the gentlemen - Julio and Carlos- who manage the establishment are ultra laid-back and cool. El Punto is located very near (.5 km) to the main highway in Tulum, about 1km from the center of town and about 2 km from the nearest public beach. If you want the luxury resort, right-on-the-beach experience, look elsewhere and prepare to pay for it. El Punto offers simple, spacious rooms with air conditioning, running water (which fluctuates in temperature depending on the time of day), private bathrooms and romantic lighting. There is a community kitchen and a big-box style grocery store is right across the street if you want to save money on dining. If you book the room online, prepare to pay for the room upon the time of checkout - not in advance as we thought we'd done. Rooms were cleaned daily but a new set of clean sheets had to be requested after the third evening of our stay as we kept returning from our excursions to find the same sheets on the bed, however tidied by the maid. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who might consider staying in a hostel but would prefer some of the niceties of a hotel. The use of free bicycles were a very nice touch. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Hotel and Hostal El Punto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 169 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

I intended to spend 1 night here, and was a little nervous to do so as hadn't stayed in a backpackers since my early 20s (I'm 30) - I landed up staying for 3 nights and would have stayed longer (but had to move to next spot) and loved every minute. The place was a little far from the beach but bikes are provided for free (and plenty of them) and it's comfortable enough to chill in the grounds.

Room Tip: The3 bed on the landing in the girl's dorm is great
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed here for two nights. The room was simple, but spacious and comfortable. I thought it was slightly overpriced for the room, $63/night (including tax). That included breakfast (toast and coffee), A/C, and free bikes. I would have stayed in the hostel part if I was alone, it was a good price when you include the free bike. The location was a nice garden, and it was pretty ideally located I think, in between the town and the beach, so its easy to get anywhere. It was quiet at night. Definitely will remember this place if I come back to Tulum.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was a little nervous staying here after reading other reviews about being cheated, nickel and dimed, etc.
Facility: The property is a combination of hostel and hotel. The hostel part is upstairs in the main building - I did not see that part. The private rooms are all ground-floor, motel-type rooms. They are pretty dark, smell somewhat of mold, and have cracks or gaps in the walls or screens somewhere, because mosquitoes were in the room. The rooms did have AC, and nice beds. There is a kitchen for all to use, but it is outside and somewhat grubby. The outside common areas for lounging look appealing, but the mosquitoes drove me to my room. There are no inside, screened lounging areas. Wifi signal was possible in the room, if you stood by the window.
Good things: location! halfway between town and beach, with free bicycles included, it is a short ride to town and a longer (15-20 minute) ride to the nearest beach.
Staff: The one guy I saw, not Carlos, but the other one, was odd. Sometimes he would be very friendly, sometimes he would just stare at you weirdly. I did not feel completely comfortable there.
That said, on checkout the price was exactly as agreed. Pretty high, in my opinion, but maybe that is just what the market will bear in Tulum. I think $25-30 a night would be reasonable for a place like that in Mexico, but my price was $78 a night after all taxes were added!

I spent only a bit more than that for the best hotel in Valladolid a few days later. Go there instead. Tulum is more American than Mexican. Valladolid is a great Mexican small city. I was happy to escape there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've stayed in countless hostels in my life and usually very flexible when it comes to traveling and don't care too much of the comfort as long as I have a place to sleep and my peace. But obviously El Punto was a different scenario.

When I first arrived, the staff didn't know which bed is available so they let me pick the one they thought nobody was sleeping on. The beds are nice, have a netting for the moskitos which really comes handy cause LOTS of moskitos inside and outside on the terrace

Next day, I had an accident with one of their bikes, and wanted to wash the clothes.They wouldn't let me use the washing machine, so I hand washed it, and put it on a chair to dry it. And then the receptionist guy, I'm not sure if he's the owner or not (old argenitinan) starts SCREAMING my name from downstairs in the middle of the night, cause I put my clothes on a chair and it was dripping. He wanted me to put it outside (on the rain).Haha crazy

Next day I was ready to check out& leave , when suddenly I couldn't find my shoes I came there with!! Apparently the cleaning lady ''put'' them somewhere. The other receptionist guy was nice and actually felt bad and tried to reach her but then told me they are ''not responsible'' for personal belongings. Then when I came back to ask again if they reached the lady, or found my shoes, the older guy completely ignored me and didn't want to give me an answer.

The hostel/hotel has no atmosphere, is not a really good spot for socializing. People that stay there are up-tight hippies that sit around all day with their books and avoid eye contact.

The only good things about this hostel-Is cheap and there are free bikes.But honestly, you can get bikes for 6 dollars/day in any bike rental in Tulum. This hostel/hotel is so not worth it, if you wanna have your peace of mind, avoid it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lafayette87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Review-7, Director General at Hotel and Hostal El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014
Google Translation

El Hostal no da servicio de lavanderia! y no se puede colgar la ropa que uno lava en la recepción!!; el hotel y el hostal El Punto no es responsable de las perdidad de las pertenencias de los huespedes, las habitaciones privadas cuentan con cajas de seguridad y en el hostal hay Lockers individuales para cada huesped!!, el no hacer uso de este servicio implica riesgos del cual la gerencia no tiene ningún tipo de responsabilidad.
Lamentamos profundamente que su estancia no halla sido de su agrado.
Saludos cordiales
Carlos E Sastre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very nice hotel, big rooms, big beds, air conditioners in the room, friendly staff. The location is very convenient - close to the beach and to downtown area, but in a quite location, supermarket right across the road. Free bikes are very convenient for getting around. There is a common kitchen and small fridge in the room. This is not a luxury hotel but definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShPolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a great stop here for 2 nights. We loved Tulum and this was a good place to see it from as it is close to the town centre and near a big supermarket, but includes free cycle hire so the amazing beach is reachable in 10 minutes. It has a cool atmosphere and was a welcoming place to arrive to when travelling. The room was clean, nicely decorated and well equipped and there is a shared kitchen area and covered seating area. The breakfast was nice and the manager helpful. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hekado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Wish Tulum
Wish Tulum
#79 of 98 in Tulum
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elements Tulum Boutique Hotel
13.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#92 of 98 in Tulum
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#22 of 129 in Tulum
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#3 of 129 in Tulum
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#15 of 129 in Tulum
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Hostal El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Hostal El Punto

Address: Avenida Coba Sur y Avenida Mercurio, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $24 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel and Hostal El Punto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exelent Hotel and Hostel for exelent prices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel and Hostal El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing