We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good affordable choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel and Hostal El Punto
Ranked #34 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A good affordable choice”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Tulum has turned into some expensive hippy hangout.... Staying in a hotel is likely to cost more here than in playa del carmen now, but its worth it for the beaches, ruins and easy trips to coba and chichen.

El up to is a good choice, but don't expect anything spectacular. The owner is very chilled out but does not offer the kind of quality Mexican service, you may be used to in other cities. The hotel has ok rooms, clean and big enough. Lots of hot water as well. The kitchen is brilliant, and saves money in an otherwise expensive town.

If you are looking for a good affordable choice, then this is for you. But it's no honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamski122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    53
    16
    17
    23
See reviews for
22
58
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights last february. After that we stayed in a Resort right in the beach, and I can say that El punto is the smarter choice at Tulum. The hotel and the rooms are nice and very comfortable, and you have free bikes to go wherever you want very easily. That includes the beach 10 min, some cenotes 15 min, Tulum ruins 20 min, and downtown 5 min. Carlos and Fernanda, its owners, are very friendly and are always ready to help you. If all this isn't enough consider that the rates are a half of the hotels at the beach...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was absolutely wonderful.... We stayed 7 days and had a very easy peaceful time.
Very nice communal kitchen, breakfast included with room rates. We stayed in a room with extra large king size bed and private bathroom/shower. Met many single travelers who stayed in the dormitories which were clean and roomy. Maid service was excellent. Owner is friendly & easy going... free bike use for hotel guests, bike paths to beach and Tulum ruin site. Easy bike ride to beach. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: All rooms were great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

El Punto is located next to a large road with lots of traffic. Next to the reception, they have placed some kind of compressor that goes on and off all the time making a lot of noise; this is the kind of place you just want to get away from unless you like the sound on engines.

The rooms are dark and the WiFi did not reach our room (tried with multiple devices) so if you want WiFi, you pay with blood (to the mosquitos in the open reception). The rooms are relatively quiet because they are located behind the reception building.

They did not give use the remote for the Air Conditioning until we asked for it (hoping to save on electricity I suppose).

The rooms are very dark and there was no coffee maker as advertised (one was available in the open-air kitchen). There was, however, a refrigerator which was nice.

The Water was cold two mornings and you had to let it run for a while for the smell of sewer to go away. My girlfriend simply choose not to shower at all (we went swimming on day-trips).
When we checked out, we had to pay extra taxes. Paying with credit card would be 6% extra, so our only option was to pay with pesetas. When calculating the price, they used an exchange rate that we later found was way off. They used some website to make it seem legit. So they managed to rip us off anyway making the value of this hotel even worse. I usually do not write negative reviews, but this time I really just had to get it off my chest.

Oh yes, and the breakfast was two pieces of toast and lemonade served as juice, but that is normal for Mexico so I guess that is ok.

They did have free bycycles, but please rent them somewhere else (they are available everywhere) and get a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tausick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Review-7, Propietario at Hotel and Hostal El Punto, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Google Translation
Siento mucho que su estancia no fué de lo mejor, quiero comunicarle que no tenemos ningún tipo de motor en lan inmediaciones de las habitaciones, las habitaciones tienen cama king size refrigerador, baño con agua fria y caliente, algunas de las habitaciones tienen television por cable, aire acondicionado y ventilador, mesas de luz con veladoras, luz de techo y ventanas en el baño y dos en el dormitorio!!, con respecto al cargo extra del 6 % !!!, me parece que esto es totalmente imposible ya que en esas fechas no recibiamos tarjetas de credito!, esto me hace pensar que tal vez estén equivocados de hotel!!, con respecto al desayuno, el es hecho a mano y en casa por mi mujer y la mermelada igual y con frutas organicas!
Mas de 120 comentarios y mas de 60 fotos hacen que a los huespedes les permita tomar decisiones acertadas de lo que están reservando.
Nuestros huespedes son nuestra pasión y hacer de vuestras vacaciones una estancia agradable y placentera es nuestro objetivo.
Carlos Sastre
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Rio de Janeiro
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a good time here. If you're staying in town, the location is great -- at the beginning of the bike path to the beach, so you just jump on their free bikes and go without weaving through town traffic. You can walk into town for dinner in 10 minutes and there's a big supermarket across the street. The rooms are fine though small and uneven, some have safes, some don't, some have fans, some don't, some have TVs, some don't. Beds, sheets and pillows are good. There's also a communal kitchen. Breakfast is simple -- just toast, juice and coffee, but it's great toast. The owner is very friendly and that makes it nice and all his restaurant and sightseeing tips were excellent. We decided to stay longer in Tulum and had to move onto another place which was much nicer -- bigger rooms, a pool, etc -- but didn't have the nice vibe that this place did -- something that's hard to rate.

Room Tip: If you want a fan or a TV make sure you ask for a room that has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is ok but basic, probably a good option for a cheap hostel bed but not for the $215 (after tax) nightly rate paid for a room over New Year.
Service was friendly and the room clean, colorful and comfortable. It was great to have bikes to ride to the beach, town and ruins. But...
-the booking process was stressful. The full amount was due by wire transfer in advance and in the time it took for that to get through daily emails started arriving saying the funds had still not arrived, threatening to cancel the booking.
-We had reserved a rooms with three beds, as offered on booking.com. But we were told on arrival that rooms have only two beds, a king and a double, so that is what we got.
-breakfast was meager, our worst in Mexico: just white toast, jam, coffee, juice from a carton.
-the flipside of being "conveniently" located between the beach and the town is that you are actually in neither but on the outskirts of town on a busy highway, a long dark walk at night from most restaurants. (The bikes don't have lights.)
-why stay in/around Tulum town anyway unless you are on a tight budget and in a cheap place? The town has expanded and the food and shopping have improved. But it remains unlovely. If you can find a room on that amazing beach (a challenge at Christmas / New Year) pay the extra and take it. Or at least do not pay beach prices to stay at El Punto, 3 km away. We moved after two nights to a cabana at Playa Mambo, which was bliss. Incomparable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were unsure whether to choose a hotel by the beach (expensive, away from the best restaurants) or the town (further from the beach). We settled on El Punto - also referred to online as "hotel/hostel dive center" - as it was ideally positioned on the edge of the town and on the road to the beach, providing a satisfactory compromise between both options. Our experience here was excellent.

Key advantages:
- Excellent location - 5-10 minutes bike ride to the best beaches / 2 minutes ride to the town / 1 minutes ride to the supermarket
- Attractive surroundings
- FREE BIKES! (VERY useful if you don't have a car - Tulum is very cycle friendly)
- Great room - superb bed, quiet air-con, great shower, lovely decor
- Beautiful surroundings - the whole place looks great
- Wonderful owner who was exceptionally helpful and kind

A great experience all over, great value for money - and a place I would certainly recommend to friends staying in Tulum

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tominwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Wish Tulum
Wish Tulum
#72 of 96 in Tulum
19 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#89 of 96 in Tulum
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elements Tulum Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#21 of 121 in Tulum
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Hal-Ha Tulum
Posada Hal-Ha Tulum
#46 of 121 in Tulum
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prana Boutique Hotel
Prana Boutique Hotel
#8 of 88 in Tulum
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Hostal El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Hostal El Punto

Property: Hotel and Hostal El Punto
Address: Avenida Coba Sur y Avenida Mercurio, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel and Hostal El Punto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exelent Hotel and Hostel for exelent prices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel and Hostal El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing