We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$372
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$477
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Piedra Escondida(Tulum)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Yum Kin(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$60
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$189
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveler rating
885
190
29
20
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
885
190
29
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalsa nightbalcony suitesalsa partyplunge poolsalsa dancingbeautiful beachbeach sidecevichebeach bedsbeach bagtulum beachsister hotelpalm treesamazing hotelthe entire staffbeach barlaid back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

La Zebra i can recomend for everyone. It is nice and quiet, and the rooms are nice and clean. The staff at the hotell were helpfull and they answered every question with a smile.

We went to Tulum for my brothers wedding, the wedding was absolutly fantastic. Nice ceremony at the beach, and the food and drinks were great.

The only complain i have at the hotell is the breakfast you get outside your room every morning. Some days we got one glass of orange juice and one roll, the other day we got 2 rull and no orange juice. So a tip for La Zebra, you should either drop the breakfast thing, or do it capably.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but the room 12 had a kitchen.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stianla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Stianla,

Thank you very much for your comments about La Zebra, we truly appreciate it. We are so glad you had a nice time with us and we enjoyed having you guys. The wedding and dinner turned out to be lovely.

Thank you for letting us know about your feeling towards the morning baskets. We apologise for the inconsistencies and we have already looked into it. Please note, that these baskets are not intended to be a breakfast rather a complimentary morning coffee service.

We hope all is well with you, your friends and family and we hope to see you again.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really enjoyed La Zebra and here's why:
We had room #9, closest to the street and barely even heard any noise from it. We felt like we were almost on the beach. Very good coffee and fresh fruit delivered to your door in the morning.
The beach furniture and palapas are definitely amongst the top 3 along the whole hotel strip of beach. Great tiered outdoor lounging and dining area. I love a couple of chairs and table set right in the sand to eat at in the shade.
Excellent drinks, with fresh-pressed sugar cane juice.
Food is generally very good.
There was a three-day music festival in Akumal which could be heard in Tulum all night; management sent for ear plugs the next night and delivered to all the rooms and apologized, although they didn't have to.
I feel like rooting for La Zebra; you can tell they are trying to make it a good experience, and they seemed to really care about making the hotel comfortable and a great experience with very friendly staff.
The size of the property is smallish and intimate. You see many of the same couples and families at meals which I liked, but large enough to warrant its own restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Room 9 closest to road, going down in numbers closer to the beach. No AC, but fans directly over beds as well as in living area. Check website for big party night if that is not your thing. We found accommodations at another hotel for this one night which was easy and kind of fun to check out another property (Playa Azul, also nice).
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Lizzy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your positive comments regarding food and drink to the staff who will truly appreciate it. We hope the earplugs helped as your nights rest is of the utmost importance to us.
We send our best wishes and we will see you next time,

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A bunch of us ladies took a trip to the beach for relaxation and fun. The staff are so friendly, the food is great, but the beach is the best thing about this hotel. It never feels crowded and it's paradise.

Room Tip: Any time you can get a cabana on the beach do it. The jungle side is too far away and too many bugs!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi,

We are very grateful for your posting and happy to hear your girls trip was relaxing and fun at La Zebra. We do have a wonderful beach here and we are glad to here you found it to be paradise. Hope all is well with you girls back in NYC and we await for next visit,

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I do the arrangements for our travels, from flights to hotels to restaurants, sights, tours. The goal of this trip was to provide my wife with downtime and a chance to shake-off the winter. La Zebra nailed it.

As we walked across the sand to our room, my wife said, "This is what I pictured when I was young and people told of 'going to Mexico'." Beautiful water, white sands, thatched cabanas, palm trees, hammocks....

When you walk up and down the beach you can see that La Zebra has a brand. The shaded restaurant/bar, the terrace, the well tended greenery, clean & simple. They care about the property, they care about their staff, they obviously care about their guests.

When you find a place that hits the mark, you can really look forward to going back. A Thank You to Grace and all her teammates.

Room Tip: We had a private cabana on the southside, the ocean breeze was a delight.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi Steven,

So glad to have allowed your wife's childhood dreams to come true and that your expectations were exceeded. We truly appreciated your comments and it is nice to know our that our guests get it! You get our concept and brand and for this we thank you. You now know your home away from home is here and you are more than welcome any time.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay at. Even before we arrived Grace and Chabley emailed me over and over to answer my many questions about the area and the hotel. Once we walked in we were warmly greeted and offered our "welcome Drink". La Zebra food and drinks are OUT OF THIS WORLD. You must try the sugar cane mojito. Every morning the staff would bring us hot coffee bread and fruit. What a fantastic way to wake up in paradise. On our last morning before we parted we had our coffee delivered in a to go cup. La Zebras friendly staff and beautiful accommodations really did make our trip that much more special. We had friends that stayed at area hotels and every one mentioned when they return to tulum they will be staying at La Zebra as well.

I cannot say enough about my experience I cant wait to return next year :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashaleelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi Ashley,

Welcome to the La Zebra family, we are so glad you chose to stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our famous sugar-cane mojitos and that you believe our food to be out of this world; I will let our Chef Eleazar know! You and all of friends are always welcome here and cannot wait to see you soon. We wish you all the best,

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews