We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and very friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing and very friendly Hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved staying at a Jungle Cabana at La Zebra Hotel in March 2014.
The accommodation was clean and spacious. The Jungle Cabana is only a few meters away from the restaurant and beach. You have to cross a small road to get there but this is absolutely ok, less then a minute walk.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful - a million thanks to Grace who helped wherever she could and made our stay perfect!!
The restaurant is amazing (food and friendliness of the staff).
We really enjoyed our stay in Tulum as we prefer a small hotel and a clean beach. Great day trips from here also, Diving, visiting Maya Ruins, a Tequila Distillery, etc.
Sure there are a lot of lovely hotels in Tulum but we can really recommend La Zebra.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Linda,

So glad you enjoyed our jungle side, as it is one of our hidden jewels at La Zebra. We are thrilled you enjoyed our food and service. Grace sends her love and a million thanks to you for writing this lovely review. We wish you all the best and can't wait for your return.

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    181
    27
    18
    14
See reviews for
243
455
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a two week stay in Tulum and were lucky enough to stay at La Zebra in a beach front cabana. The staff was amazing(Grace, Chablis, and Miriam), everyone smiles and are always so helpful and willing to please. We loved our welcome margarita. The cabana was romantic, private, peaceful, and yet just steps from the reception and the beautiful white powder beach. The food was delicious and for variety there are many wonderful restaurants up and down the beach that are easy to walk to or take a taxi. Amazing stay in paradise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol-Winter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Carol,

Happy to hear you found paradise here at La Zebra. It was a pleasure to get to know you over the couple weeks you spent in Tulum. So glad to hear you loved our food as much as we do, we will let our chef Eleazar know.

It is a beautiful day day here in Tulum and the the only this missing is you. We look forward to your return and we will have your margaritas waiting.

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have just returned from an amazing stay in Tulum- LOVED everything! We stayed at La Zebra for 4 nights in one of their beach cabanas and had an amazing time. Before even checking in they handed us a welcome margarita, Grace was very helpful and accommodating in making sure we were settled in. The beach was amazing and we had several great meals at the restaurant (the pork dishes were our fav's) It was nice to be able to totally relax and not have to leave the property for anything. I particularly loved the basket with coffee and sweet rolls they dropped on our stoop every morning and my husband was partial to the complimentary bottle of tequila in our room. The only thing to be aware of is, they do host a disco party on Thursday and Sala on Sunday during high season, which seemed to be a huge hit with guests but is a teensy bit loud if you turn in early and are in the beach cabanas but it looked like everyone was having a great time and they shut everything down around 11:00pm. I would highly recommend staying here you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hi Jennifer,

Thank you very much for you feedback and for recommending our hotel. We understand that not all of our guests are in the mood for our parties and we are therefore sorry if the music was a teeny bit too loud. However, we are very glad that you had a nice stay and enjoyed our food, beach and other amenities. We hope you had safe travels home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We got married and stayed at La Zebra. You cant find a better place and service in Tulum!
The beach is perfect, the restaurang is very nice and on the beach. And the staff is very very nice.
Ted and Sofia

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Ted & Sofia

It was a pleasure to have you here at La Zebra and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time. Once again we congratulate you guys on the wedding and we wish you all the best. Until next time,

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Upon arrival, nick, greeted us with a warm smile and a cool margarita. After check in he walked us to the ocean front cabana. Cabana was small but very adiquite for the two of us. Bed was comfortable and the the bathroom was clean. If you plan on doing some reading at night, bring a portable light. Restaurant was very good and the service was great. Sunday is salsa night. Do partake in the lessons, they are fun.So don't expect to sleep before 11. Wednesday is boogy night. Disco and soul music till about 11. The other nights were quite and relaxing. The beach was lovely and there was plenty of shaded seats.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are much cooler at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpercz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for choosing La Zebra and we are so happy to hear your stay was just lovely. I will pass your comments onto the rest of the team. Hope you had safe travels home, and can't wait to see you again!

Hotel La Zebra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

my wife and i ended our honeymoon at la zebra for four days. this was the most pristine beach we have ever been to and the ambiance generally was perfect for a relaxing finish to our getaway. only complaint was the sometimes loud music that plays in the restaurant. otherwise, go here for an escape from everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Tyler,

Thanks a lot for you feedback and happy to hear you ended your honeymoon well with us! We wish you all the best and until next time,

La Zebra team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was all we could dream of! Friendly, great staff, absolutely amazing food, rooms too were amazing. Hotel is located right on the beach. Restaurant area/common area was so nice, cool, relaxing and inviting. We got to have two different rooms, jungle canopy which was very quiet, huge, clean and just perfect. We didnt mind at all that it wasnt on the beach. Last night we got the balcony suite. Huge, really nice. The only thing was that if there is a party you might hear the music at night, as the balcony faces the ocean and the area where the tables are. We didnt hear anything and had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseSMoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Elise,

Thank you for your lovely comments. Happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We send you our best wishes. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing