We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but excellent spot in the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I really liked this hotel. It is located in an excellent spot in the beach, where there are no rocks and the sea is good for swimming and chilling out. It is also a great spot for walking on the beach, there is a large area of sand on both sides where one can track in the end of the afternoon. There are also enough palapas for all guests. On Saturday, they accepted a lot of people who were not guests on the palapas and when I got to the beach there was none for me, but then I asked the manager and he got me one. I think they shouldn't accept non guests in the palapas, I found it uncomfortable to be supposed to ask the manager for one when I was paying a lot for it. The hotel is pricey, but all hotels by the beach in the Tulum area are. My beach side cabana was comfortable and there was good water pressure in the shower, which I really appreciate. Staff was friendly and helpful. There were bikes to rent which was a bonus, I loved it. I didn't find the restaurant as good as others have said, I had mostly better meals in other places (including hotels) in Mexico. Considering the price of the night, breakfast should be included (it is in some other hotels in the area, also with cabanas on the beach). They only provide complimentary coffee and fresh orange juice (which was tasty). Unfortunately, I was not there on Sunday to enjoy the famous Salsa party. I went to their sister hotel Mezanine salsa party on Wednesday night which was ok, but apparently not as fun as the La Zebra Sunday party. All in all, despite some little stuff, I liked the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Beach side cabanas are worth it, very close to the beach and restaurant, nice light and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerSPBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

thank you for giving us your feed back, which we will take into consideration. Regarding the beach umbrellas , we will try to have a better control so that our hotel guests have priority over them. We are sorry for the incovenience that this situation might have caused and hope to have you back with us again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

La Zebra really had everything we were looking for during our trip to Tulum. Not a resort. Private cabanas. Great restaurant on site. Beautiful beach. We stayed in one of the jungle side cabanas and found it to be wonderfully quiet and clean. Every morning we were greeted by hot coffee waiting for us outside our door, which we enjoyed before heading over to the restaurant (on the beach) and having another cup of even better coffee and one of the delicious smoothies. The cocktails at the bar were phenomenal. Margaritas, mojitos, pina coladas... we loved them all. You can see them pressing fresh sugar cane every day, so you know everything is as fresh as possible. It doesn't get much better than beach side service and margaritas.

It's located right on the main beach strip, making it convenient to all of the incredible restaurants.

Also, the price was great! We weren't looking for anything all-inclusive, and we just had them put all of our food and drinks on our tab until we left. After nervously waiting for our total, we nearly laughed at how affordable it was (and, again, this was including a "few" cocktails).

By the end of our stay, we were on a first-name basis with most of the staff. Absolutely lovely people. They helped us arrange transportation to and from the airports and for sightseeing ruins and cenotes. We felt very taken care of, but in a non-invasive way. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We cant wait to have you back with us! thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers ,we are glad to hear your stay with us was enjoyable. It really was a pleasure to have you in our hotel and restaurant and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently returned from a six-night stay at La Zebra. We stayed at another property prior to going there. The first was a great choice, but more basic, so when we got to La Zebra we felt like we had so much luxury. We had room #1 (one of the largest in front), which is basically a two-room cabana, which was great with two kids. You could save a considerable amount going with the smaller one if you are a couple or only have one child. The furnishings and bathroom were all really tastefully done and comfortable. Our outdoor tub and shower in addition to the indoor restroom was really convenient for getting the kids rinsed off. We were about thirty feet from the ocean, which was very fun as we heard the ocean waves crashing through the night. The sea was not as tranquil as it usually is, so it was probably a bit more active (and loud) than other times of year. There are eight or nine other smaller cabanas all in a row, but you never hear anyone or feel their presence. The staff was very friendly and non-invasive. Cabely, the concierge, was our initial contact and she is very good at hospitality. It was really nice having someone we could relate to and trust and go to with any questions feeling like she genuinely cared. The house cleaning was excellent. Fernando and Fili were two of our favorite staff in the restaurant. Santiago is always smiling and Fili is very hospitable as well. We enjoyed the food and drinks and especially the homemade tortillas by Andrea who cooks them in the middle of the restaurant. The drinks aren't inexpensive (here or anywhere else) so you might want to stash a cooler with ice and a few beverages in your room. You can sit outdoors or inside with an amazing view of the caribbean. There are lounge chairs and palapas in front. The sea was not hospitable for snorkeling while we were there, so we body surfed instead. My seven year old son had a great time in the warm, gentle sea. It's really nice that coffee and tea are included in the morning, but we felt that service could be improved upon. The hot water was in kind of old canisters that still had coffee in them and with the prices for food in Tulum you want every amenity you can possibly get without a charge. I ended up just ordering tea in the restaurant. Everyone is so relaxed in Tulum that we never felt like the kids were bothering anyone, they just got to be themselves and enjoy our vacation. One day a week they have salsa dance lessons and the most amazing dancers go to La Zebra. It was mesmerizing really. The whole trip was just dreamy.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank rklace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

It was nice to hear from you,ank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. For us it was a pleasure to have you here, thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope we get to see you some time soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent a wonder 10 days in La Zebra, Tulum, last year in August (2012) and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised about the cabanas!

We had a beach side (not beach front) cabanas still on the beach/sand, but not directly in front of the ocean to have an ocean view. However, the cabana was beautifully decorated with 2 double beds, netting on both, the living space was quite large for a cabana on the beach and the bathroom (although a bit on the small side) had a great flow and very, very clean!

We would not hesitate to go back to La Zebra, although it can get a little pricey with children (we traveled with 2 ages 10 and 13). They do not offer any breakfast specials included in the price of the room, so everything you want to purchase is extra and that can add up pretty quickly.

We tried their restaurant on the premises for both breakfast and dinner and although the food was really good on both occasions, the prices can get up there.

But it is on a great stretch of beach and you would not regret staying there!

Room Tip: They have jungle cabanas, which are located across the road, there is definitely no view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripag04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

we loved having you with us at our hotel and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments , they mean a lot to us. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have been coming to La Zebra for years and will never return. The rates have continued to increase and the quality has continued to decrease. Our most recent stay did not include breakfast as it had in every past visit. Our room did not have a beach bag or complimentary bottle of tequila as it always had. We were offered a beverage to be delivered in the morning and asked for juice, each day we received coffee, not juice. The pool our room had had a broken filter and was filthy and unusable (we were told it was because of the rain). You now have to track your towel during your stay and we were constantly bringing our towel around to avoid a $30 per towel fee. La Zebra was alway about creating an atmosphere of calm and relaxation, it now seems to be about making a profit. It is either under new management or the management has made a shift in priorities. We will certainly try a new hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 20sTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are sorry to hear your experience with us this time was not as expected. At times we offer different promotions , like breakfast or a discount on our rates, if possible we also offer free up grades. These promotions are subject to change and are announced in our website so that at the time of your booking you are notified. On your room you received a discount which is why breakfast was not included. We are still including tequila as well as bottled water and amenities. A welcome drink is also offered at check in time, If for some reason we did not provide you with that we have a concierge available to assit in these cases. Coffee is available every morning for all our guests, and when requested orange juice is also provided. We are not adding juice like before, many people did not drink it so now we provide it by request. Regarding the beach towel cards, this is just to keep a better control so that we can provide towels for all our guests at all times. This is a normal procedure that many hotels use, sorry if you found it uncomfortable. Unfortunately at times things break down sowe are sorry for the pool issue. We do want to be a profitable business but also care about our guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity and will be back some other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a wonderful stay! La Zebra offers high-end amenities and an exceptional stay in the paradise of Tulum. The staff is helpful, generous, and incredibly kind. The rooms are gorgeous, eco-friendly, and well-ventilated. In short, the perfect destination in an unbelievable paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at our hotel, it was really nice to have you with us and hope to see you on your next trip to our beautiful tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. The beach is beautiful and right there. The restaurant serves delicious (but relatively expensive) food. Staff are very friendly. Rooms are very comfortable. Wifi is strong throughout. Only criticism is the fan situation in the room - I don't think there was much point having them as they failed to cool me down and failed to repel the Mosquitos.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, it was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope you will be back with us on your next holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
430 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 98 in Tulum
876 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $437 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing