We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach chill out on the planet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

La Zebra is a paradise!!!! Amazing food and tasty drinks. The beach is perfect and has no rocks or debris that I could feel as I ran out in to the surf. Free WiFi. Santiago is a brilliant waiter and made the place very fun. Hernan is an amazing concierge. They arranged great trips for me and my friends to Chitzen Itza and the local cenotes...Can't say enough about Tulum and La Zebra...right up there with Thai beaches, Langkawi, and anyplace in the Caribbean! The best!!! C

Sleeping to the sounds of the surf and the breezes! Cool people hanging around all of the time!

Check it out!

Room Tip: Get one on the beach...but the jungle rooms are close enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

great to hear from you! thanks for your great comments....greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

I celebrated my wedding at La Zebra Hotel in October and it was everything my wife and I could have ever wanted.

We rented out the entire hotel for the weekend and felt like we had our own private island.

The staff are incredibly sweet and attentive to all needs. We had multiple people in charge of making sure every last detail of our big day was taken care of. They understand what an important day your wedding is (even though they do them all the time), and make sure you're happy at every step.

The food at Lina's Kitchen is amazing, the drinks at the bar are spectacular. So many different types of margaritas, mojitos and specialty cocktails to choose from.

The cabanas look quaint from the outside but are large and posh inside. The suites are spectacular.

Our ceremony was right on the beach, we had dinner in the restaurant and then dancing on the spacious raised beach dance floor. Just when I thought the highlights of the evening were over, in the middle of our reception, baby turtles hatched under the dance floor and we helped them get to the sea (FYI: they don't offer this option as part of the wedding package!)

Every single one of our guests went home glowing about their experience.

If I could do it all over, with the knowledge I have now having planned a wedding, I wouldn't change a thing.

It's scary picking a place to get married without having visited first, but we made the right choice with La Zebra. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longshot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

we were very honored to have you with us , thank you for making La Zebra Tulum your wedding destinationa, we loved being part of such a special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We found La Zebra on Trip Advisor and booked it for our upcoming trip to Tulum. We were looking to visiting a new country but at the same time wanted to be sure that we could still have a fair amount of time on a lovely beach. Initally we weren't sure about Mexico because reviews on the internet said that if you're used to Thailand beaches then Mexico's do not compare. After out visit to La Zebra I can 100% guarantee to you that it is not true. I've never seen beach like the one in La Zebra in my life. It was the whitest of sand and bluest ocean which was never too crowded.

La Zebra really made our holiday the best ever, the staff was incredible, the rooms were comfortable and the food/drink was amazing. We moved our cabanas while we there because we wanted experience both Jungle and Beach cabana and were very happy with both. Jungle is a not on the beach but is bigger than the Beach one and has a pool right in front of it. It is really comfortable. Beach cabana is literally on the beach, we stayed in no 3 and could see the sun set and sun rise from our bed. Every morning they deliver coffee on the doorstep so its a lovely start to a day :)

As I mentioned the staff is amazing and really make you feel super welcome there. Special compliments go to Roberto and Santiago who really went out of their way to make our stay special.
Every Sunday night La Zebra has a Salsa night which I highly recommed. It is a chance to really exeperince a fun party on the beach and mix with locals. Its popular event in the area with a live band and generous amount of tequila.

Food again was amazing in La Zebra and very reasonably priced and generous portions. We tested out a few restaurants on the strip but La Zebra's Mexican kitchen is by far one of the best ones. One tip would be to ask for double measures for spirits for your cocktails!
Another restaurant worth mentioning is Casa Violeta which is further south from La Zebra (only 5 min walk) and does European food rather than Mexcan and is definitely worth trying. Casa Violeta also does massage and yoga!! both highly recommended!

If the weather is cloudy (happened to us couple of times) there is loads of different things to do. We went on couple of trips with Mexican Kan Tours which was money very well spent. Their guides are amazing and really knowledgable. You can book them through La Zebra reception or go straight to their website or they have a little office in the Tulum downtown.
We also rented scooters and went to see the Old Town (great for buying souvenirs), Sian Kaan which is a nature reserve (with Lagoon) further south from La Zebra and Tulum Ruins. La Zebra rents also bicycles if you dont feel brave enough for a scooter :)
One thing i would definitely recommed would be to go towards the Sian Kaan its about 5KM furhter from La Zebra, there is a bar on the ocean side of the road. They have a lovely rooftop where you can see ocean on one side and lagoon on the other. Watching a sun set in there is definitely a view to remember.

We had such an amazing time in Tulum and can't wait to be back. Its a perfect mix of tourist and local culture and everywhere we went people were super friendly. Its perfect for couples and small families.

We would again like to thank all the staff in La Zebra for making our stay so memorable! We look forward to seeing you all again

Alex & Doris

p.s. if you are reading this and considering staying at La Zebra, you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

thank you so much for telling us about your stay at our hotel, we are so happy that you enjoyed your time here with us. it was a pleasure to have you , thank you for such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at La Zebra for 10 days in late November.

It is our 7th time to this area, 4th time to La Zebra but first time staying at La Zebra. In the past we would spend the day at the beach and return to our resort up the coast. It was wonderful to stay at the beach and not travel. Sleeping to the sound of waves and waking to coffee on the balcony overlooking the ocean was awesome. The food at La Zebra is outstanding, both in quality and safety. Food preparation is taken seriously here. We never had any stomach issues and we never ate anywhere else (a shame perhaps since there are many great restaurants nearby, but we went for rest and relaxation and everything we needed was here – food too.) The beach is spectacular – if you have been you know what I mean. If you haven’t been, it’s one of the best beaches you will ever visit. Waviness depends on conditions, some days the waves are choppy, some days they are rollers and some days it’s calm. Depending on the day, we boogie boarded and snorkeled right in front of the resort. You can walk down the beach forever, it’s beautiful sand in both directions.

Our room was the balcony suite. Separate bedroom with living area, bathroom with shower and kitchen area. Kitchen had fridge only, no way to cook anything. Water in the shower was hot, plentiful and clean. Lighting was dim, but it’s solar, what do you expect? Bring a flashlight. There is a whirling noise as a previous guest mentioned. I believe it is either the compressor pump from the refrigerators in the kitchen below or a water pump. The sound of the ocean was louder, so it didn’t bother us. There is a safe in the room in which my small laptop fit. Room was very clean. We had a couple of bugs and tiny lizards, but hey you are on the edge of a jungle under a thatched roof, so you can’t expect it to be devoid of life. I have had roaches visit in the all inclusives – only saw one here and it was dead. Had an iguana visit us on the balcony, that was cool! There is mosquito netting over the beds.

Wifi is available in the restaurant. It’s not fast like at home, but it works and it’s free.

The highlight of our stay was getting to know the staff. They are outstanding. I can’t mention all the names because I might forget someone, and everyone was great to us. We felt like royalty. We will be back – dos margaritas classica por favor. Be sure to tip them, generously if you can afford to – they are wonderful people working very hard for very little.

Don’t miss Sunday salsa night; It’s the event of the week in the area. One suggestion, Mario, get some local musicians in weeknights to entertain during dinner.

If you are a pampered city dweller requiring all the modern amenities, this place (Tulum in general) is not for you and you shouldn’t be on this beach anyway, so go up to the all inclusives to the north. The rest of you will love it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vball_canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at La Zebra with us, we loved the pictures, and enoyed reading your comments.We hope you will be comming back soon, we would really love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was our fourth trip to the region and our second to La Zebra. The hotel is perfect for those looking for a beautiful spot that is one with nature, with great food, great fresh fruit drinks, and an incredible, friendly staff. The manager Roberto makes you feel welcomed and strives to make sure you are having a great time. The cabanas are small, but ours was on the beach less than 100 yards from the ocean. Hard to beat walking out of your room onto the sand. They deliver the most amazing coffee to your room each morning that you can sip as you enjoy the view from your bed. If you like to vacation in high rise buildings with tons of amenities and tons of people, Tulum is not for you. But if you like to avoid the crowds in a pristine spot on a great beach, you will love La Zebra.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We loved your comments, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This reasonably priced hotel is absolutely lovely. We stayed in a lovely jungle cabana which was well-appointed and very comfortable. Be sure to bring a flashlight since the road is very dark.The hotel does not stint on staff or service. Everyone there was extremely helpful and very friendly. The concierge arranged some day trips for us while we lounged on the beach. He even came down to our palapa to let us know how the arrangements were coming.

The food was not exceptional and was a bit over-priced except for the pork pibil (that was excellent) but it sure was convenient and, again, the service was great.

La Zebra is located at the south end of the beach which offers a long stretch of white sand for strolling and finding nearby restaurants/bars for a lovely snack or drink. We would definitely go back to La Zebra.

Room Tip: We wanted nothing but rest and relaxation so chose a jungle room which allows you to be removed from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dru C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, it brings a lot of satisfaction to the staff and management to receive these kind of comments... we hope you will visit us some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed next door at Nueva Vida di Ramiro, their restaurant case banana is awesome but not on the beach. We loved we could walk next door in the evening for beer, monitor, pre dinner snack and just relax!!! Everything on tulum beach is wonderful!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooka711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

thank you for taking the time to write about us, and for visiting our place. It was great to have your comments, we hope you can make it back to beautiful tulum some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#26 of 98 in Tulum
887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
297 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $462 - $916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing