We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Horrible beds”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Although the setting was fantastic, the hotel is not consistent. We had 2 rooms, one had ok mattresses on the bed, one had terrible mattresses. I went to the front desk to ask for another room and the manager got nasty with me telling me that someone had been staying in the room and had not complained about the bed. Finally the desk clerk checked my beds and agreed they were not sufficient and I was moved to another room. If the owner would just spend some modest money and buy real mattresses, this place would be much better. Also sheets without stains and some new towels would be a wise investment. It is really a shame because the location and property are beautiful. Definitely there is better in tiling for the money.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JStewartFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    196
    103
    56
    60
See reviews for
128
276
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our stay at Los Lirios was a shot in the dark. Our accommodation elsewhere in Tulum fell through, so I started to research a replacement. The toughest part for us was trying to determine how close we would be to other properties, and even the beach, for sake af attending a wedding and the surrounding events. Most online maps show a huge spread between properties, and most show quite a distance from the beach. The truth is that you are ON the beach, and just an easy stroll along the wonderful beach from property to property, and restaurants as well. In a short comfortable 10 minute walk you can cover great distance along the beach; so don't be dissuaded by how it looks on a map, or even when you see kilometer markers, or call hotel staff for that matter.

Now to the property itself. Reading reviews online can really make you worry about weather or not you are choosing the right property. After staying here, my wife and I cannot understand the complaints....I guess it just goes to show that some people love to complain. As frequent Mexico travelers, we can gauge this from tent camping, all the way to "5 star" resort. We don't care for resorts at all...so this place was great. All of Tulum is expensive compared to most of Mexico, but this place seems to be a great value. We visited and spoke with many friends staying at different properties nearby, and we could not be more pleased with our choice...and spent the same or less than all of them.

This property is clean, quiet, attentive, on the beach with beautiful palm for shade, and plenty of lounges, and has everything you need, and more. AC, and even round the clock electricity, and fresh water are not a given in Tulum, but this place had all. No need for mosquito nets over the beds, just close the screens, or even the doors and fire up the AC. We were in the back row, still had a lovely patio, nice sea view, great breeze, and it was 30 steps to the beach. Staff was wonderful, we spoke with Roberto in the restaurant daily. The sea in all of Tulum is slightly rough, lots of wind, but that keeps bugs down and a breeze on your body. But if you are looking for a place to stay in Tulum, this place is a solid 5 from us...after comparing to a number of properties within a comfortable walk along the beach, we would go again, and recommend to friends. Thanks Los Lirios

Room Tip: We had downstairs room. I liked the no stairs, still had a great view, and only heard noise upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caron2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here from February 11-17 2014. We chose this beach front hotel over the other eco-hotels in the area because it came with an air conditioner in the room. We had never heard of the town of Tulum before this trip and decided to come here because we wanted to see the Mayan ruins and Cenotes. Once we got into the beach portion of town, where all of the hotels are, we were very surprised. It is not like the Mexico I am familiar with. It is a very slow paced town with not really any vendors (which sometimes can be fun to experience in mexico) which we both agreed was relaxing. If you want to experience vendors and cheap tacos its a short 100 peso cab ride into the center of Tulum. Now on to the hotel itself, It located about 3 kilometers south of the center of the hotels on Tulum Beach, which is where the majority of the restaurants, shops, and excursion retailers are. We rented bicycles for the week which cost us $60 USD total! We were able to ride our bikes into town and it only took us about 10 minutes. The room was just what we were looking for, we didn't want all the extravagance of a major chain hotel, but we also wanted electricity and an air conditioner (The majority of hotels in Tulum beach don't offer electricity or AC's) , and this hotel provided just that. It was very comfortable, we didn't even have to use the AC all that much. The continental breakfast was great, its more than what is advertised on their website, they had a chef standing by to make omelette's or eggs any style, they had pancakes, french toast, cereal, bread, coffee, juice , and some other traditional mexican breakfast dishes. We ate breakfast here every day. Other than that, we didn't eat any other meals at their restaurant, so I can't comment on it's food. There is a bar next door called Ziggy's which had live music most of the week, but their food, just like EVERY other restaurant on Tulum Beach, is what they call "fusion". It was explained to us that most hotels are not mexican owned but european owned and they cater to the european tourist's. That said if you want traditional mexican food, its just a short ride into the center of Tulum city. Also with Tulum Beach catering to european tourists, expect to pay standard US prices for most items, with the exchange rate being 12.5 pesos to 1 us dollar, where its 19 pesos to 1 euro. I say this because we were a little surprised to be paying 4 dollars a beer when we expected to pay 2 dollars a beer, but this was not even an issue because the charm of Tulum Beach is out of this world. So all in all, if you want to check out a really cool little town where the majority of hotels dont have electricity, come check out this hotel, you will not regret it!!

A note for the manager,
Due to your location being further than walking distance to the center of Tulum Beach, It would have been nice if you provided bicycles for your guests. Other than that, the service was great, every single member of your staff from the front desk, to the restaurant, and down to the security guards were great. Give them our thanks!

Cole and Angie
D-4

Room Tip: We stayed in building D which was next to the restaurant, it could be a little loud, but that didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The position is excellent. Also the rooms with garden view have sea view which is very cool. Room very big, well furnished and clean. The quality of the food and service is poor. The breakfast is ok with a lot of choise but I suggest to go to another hotel for lunch or dinner.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank valeria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is really a picture postcard location structure. The hotel itself is very simple, so don’t expect super service, 5 star rooms or anything like that. But simple place to stay on the beach.
The rooms is big and simple with nice balcony. We were given the room next to the restaurant and the smell of food was very strong in the room during dinner time and breakfast hours.
The restaurant is simple, would eat there for lunch but go next door for dinner very nice! Could not complain about their breakfast as many have, well they don’t offer fresh juice or cheese but they make omelet’s and eggs on request for you, have pancake, bread, potatoes etc. Could set up the breakfast in a more easier manner, had containers for the food that were not easy to reach but part from that the breakfast was very good.
With structure like this one a really small effort and they could have very nice hotel.
Small details that could go better:

1.Beach towels had some stained
2.Beach chairs mattress all broken
3.They don’t use a proper laundry service but seems like they wash their own towels, that is not enough for a hotel and the bath towels smelled of washing liquid and were not perfectly clean.
4.During our 4 nights stay the bed was not changed! With all the sand that you bring into the room everyday it was a mess and with the stain on the bed linen as well they should have change it.
5.The room was clean when we arrived but during our stay nobody cleaned the floor so the sand was everywhere
6.After one night stay I received an e-mail from booking.com informing me that my reservation had been cancelled! I brought this matter up with the manager but he didn’t care that much

Maybe the worse thing was the shower, it had NO POWER at all, it did not even wash away the sand from your body.

The pool is just for kids it’s that small….but anyway who need pool on the beach!

Apart from some small thing like mentioned above the hotel worked out very well, easy to let them call you a taxi, and in a walking distance to many nice restaurants on the beach specially the one next door with live music.

If I would turn back to Tulum I would probably come back here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Half8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas.

Likes:
- Rooms are roomy, tiled, with bathtub, and good hot water/shower pressure.
- Service is very friendly
- Location is great
- Lot's of beach chairs
- Coffee at breakfast is good
- Internet free and works most of the time (in room as well)
- Restaurant food/drinks are good and service friendly
- Ziggy beach Club next door

So-so:
- Breakfast is pretty basic
- Beds not that comfortable
- Room safe is ancient model and very hard to use
- Pool is very small

Not good:
- Rooms booked where not available the first night
- Front desk staff is lackluster/not motivated to resolve issues
- Restaurant and hotel have little atmosphere/personality
- Cost is quite high for what you get (but in line with the rest of Tulum)
- Lumpy pillows
- The lobby looks depressing

All in all we had a good stay. We love Tulum and tend to eat at various restaurants so the not so good points weren't a real problem. I'd say Cabana Tulum next door is quite a bit nicer (but requires a one week stay in high season so didn't work for us). Ana y Jose (we have stayed) is a big step up but no longer worth the money.

If the owners put in some effort (the owners don't seem to reside at or manage the hotel) it could be much better. They seem to happy with what they have and not very motivated to do better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The room was clean and well decorated we a few steps from the beach with an unobstructed view.

We were there is early December and the occupancy was low so the front desk offered to upgrade us to a an ocean front room at no extra charge. Room are clean and well designed, I had read reviews before booking here about the food so I skipped breakfast and walked down the beach to a neighboring resort that has excellent food but would have cost substantially more if I had stayed there.

Ovderall, this hotel has a great beach front location and the front desk is friendly and helpful Another plus is the parking area in front of the hotel has 24 hour security so I felt it was safe to leave things in my car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
840 reviews
2.0 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 95 in Tulum
294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
0.9 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#38 of 95 in Tulum
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Las Estrellas
Villa Las Estrellas
#52 of 95 in Tulum
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas

Property: Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Address: | Carretera a Boca Paila Km. 7.5. Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 7 cabanas in its first construction stage, with 4 Junior suite type rooms each; we are located on the Tulum Coast, in the road to Boca Paila, right on the Punta Piedra zone, at only 7.5 kilometers from Tulum-Coba, 7 kilometers from Tulum Ruins and aproximately 1 kilometer from Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve. Surrounded by a relatively undisturbed tropical forest and set upon a beautiful beach, Los Lirios Cabañas Hotel is the perfect combination between forest conservation and sustainable eco-tourism, between the manglars, source of life for the sea reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lirios Tulum
Cabanas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing