We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Ranked #58 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Ideally located, clean, very large rooms, cozy atmosphere. These cabanas are so lovely. We can't understand the negative feedback if other travellers. Our recommendation - this place is great!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joa_stickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los lirios t, Gerente at Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello Dear Guest

We thank you for your honest comment, and we tell you that we really put our efforts to satisfied all our different clients, we have change points that people recomend, but we arent going to put nothing relevant with urbanization to this relaxing spot on earth, we want our clients to conect with nature and value what we had.

Best Regards and Wishes for you.

Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    197
    106
    57
    61
See reviews for
130
281
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Underhill, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Honestly, I don't know how opinions can vary so widely. This is our 4th trip to Los Lirios and I know we'll come back. It is simple, clean and on a perfect piece of the beautiful ocean front in Mexico. We had an upper level room, ocean front (Choose 3 or 4) huge king bed with white curtaining, clean sheets, simple furniture, large bathroom, warm water and a quite good breakfast. We never used air conditioning as the sea breeze was sufficient. The staff is helpful. No, there are no fridges, no TV, no safes (one in office) but internet in the dining room. For variety, a short walk up the nearly deserted beach one can find places for lunch, happy hour and dinner. We recommend Anna y Jose and a car makes other dining like Mezzanini reasonable. All-in-all it is our simple getaway place.

Room Tip: Buildings A or B upstairs and 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los lirios t, Gerente at Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello Dear Guest

We are glad to listen, that there are people like you that understand the point of a relaxation place, getting away from urbanization, to clean your mind, think, value the nature, and most enjoy vacations, we are pleased to receive comments like yours and we will be glad to receive you as we always do.

Best Regards and wishes for you.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were a little apprehensive about staying at the Cabanas Los Liros due to some of the reviews that we had read but didn’t have much choice due to price and availability. We should not have been concerned. The rooms were huge and beautifully decorated. We had 2 very comfortable double beds, bedside cabinets, chest of drawers, a small living room area with table and seats, plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space. Outside our room was a hammock and 2 chairs and a table. The bathroom was ample sized complete with bath, shower, toilet sink, toiletries and hairdryer. There was mosquito netting on the windows and on the door to the patio. The doors must have fitted quite snugly as we did not find any ants etc in our rooms as we did in out other hotels.

Contrary to other reviews the rooms were immaculate with no musty smells. We only stayed 2 nights but the cleaner came to change towels etc on our second day.

We stayed in room D1 on the ground floor. Although we had paid for a sea view room you couldn’t really see the sea due to coconut palms in the bit of garden in front of us. We didn’t actually mind this as it was still a nice view and afforded some privacy. I think that this would be similar for most of the ground floor rooms. The beach is only a minute or 2 walk so this was not an issue. Even though we were near the dining area it was quiet.

We ate at the restaurant both evenings and the food was fantastic. Mum is Maltese and pasta is a staple dish for the Maltese and she apprehensively had the spag bol one night and it was fantastic. The meals were also fairly reasonably priced for a beach hotel. The breakfast included in the morning had an enormous selection of food, it was such a shame that both my mum and myself are not big breakfast eaters. There were all sorts of fruits, pancakes, toast, croissants, eggs and beans and many other things. The only shame is that there was no fresh orange juice, just a concentrate and that their coffee really wasn’t that pleasant.

The woman on reception was professionally polite but the bar and waiting staff were genuinely very friendly and were an absolute asset to the hotel. One guest had drunk a few beers, fallen asleep on the beach and lost his shoes. On asking at the bar if anyone had found them he was presented with not only his shoes, but the money he had left in them and his one remaining beer.

The beach was quite lovely, a long stretch of lovely white sand but while we were there the sea was not very turquoise, it was quite black with sea weed. This was not a problem only for this hotel but also for those as far as we could see to the left and right of us. There were men at various times throughout the day tirelessly trying to clean up the seaweed but I think they were fighting a loosing battle! There were plenty of sunbeds and shade was provided by coconut trees. Although these were just at the top end of the sand they have planted another strip of them in the middle of the sand. It would have been perfect if there were hammocks between the palms. The day before we had gone for a drink at La Dolce Vita (I think that was the name) and it was quite tiring with a waiter coming over every few minutes to see if you wanted anything. Here was a much more relaxed atmosphere, with someone passing only every 10 – 15 minutes and not disturbing you every few seconds.

I cannot comment on how easy it was to get to places from here as our whole intention was to do nothing at all on our last few days of our holiday. My top tip would be to use a taxi driver called Ausensio, taxi badge no 478 on tel no 9848069410. He spoke great English and his prices were very fair. He only charged 700 pesos from Tulum to Cancun airport if you booked the cab the day before, whereas others quoted 1000.

Would I say here again – definitely if I was in the area but I might try the top room this time.

Room Tip: If you want to be more guaranteed to have a sea view then get the top floor but we didnt and still l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los lirios t, Propietario at Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello Dear Guest

We are really glad to had satisfied your expectations, we also has work on the sea view of our rooms, and work a lot to keep satisfied our customers, we will be glad to have you back, on your next holliday to Mexico.

Best Regards and Good Luck

Los Lirios Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Honestly, i don't understand all The Good Ratings !!! Get a tent, Camp at The Beach and you have a better Time than in that Hotel! The Rooms are horrible for those prices, and we "only" paid 155€ per Night! Faaaaar to much for that s***hole. The Rooms Stink, have no safe ( isn't that Standard in 3* hotels ?!), no fridge,  no tv, no wifi in rooms, the breakfast is a joke, The Interieur is worse than in a normal hospital room, The beds are incommodious and partially Dirty, at our seaview room all you can See are The leaves of a palmtree, but no Sea and when you Turn on The light you feel like you're sitting on The dentist's chair ready for surgeries: The energy saving lamps here are so bright and disgusting, i only use my flashlight at Night. 
The Beach is Really awesome but thats all ! 
Dont come here if you want Nice holidays. 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los lirios t, Director Comercial at Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We appreciate the comments of all guests, whether favorable or not, because all views are important to us, but we ask you to please tell us which room you were staying and the dates, to replace the bulbs, as most of the rooms and is arranged, perhaps by an error in that room had not been replaced. As for breakfast depending on the agency and the price, it offers guests the corresponding continental breakfast or breakfast, self-service can be served, depending on the occupation {on the hotel (not buffet). For if the agency had not previously informed all along the coast of Tulum there is no electrical service or water, no telephone, so the hotel is a best effort based power plants, water treatment, etc. so that guests feel comfortable, that is why we can not have TV or minibar in the rooms. As for the telephone and internet is not offered to the public, since we only have the service through an antenna, often by wind in the area have problems with signal and is only used for internal services of the hotel, but for an emergency we may contact you with any medical service.

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Hannover, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Los Lirios in September 2011. The beach was beautiful, not crowded at all. The little restaurant offers good (local) food for very reasonable prices. The rooms were spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. We would higly recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for a peaceful, secluded place. The National Park (Sian Kaan) is close, they offer day-trips which we would also highly recommend.
Aircondition worked very well. Watch out for mosquitos!! There were tons of them in the whole Tulum area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaHannover84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at Los Lirios for 8 days. We stayed in one of the nicer suites. It was ocean front king sized bed with sitting area. We arrived at 2:30 and our room was not ready. We waited a half hour to check in. I choose the upgrade suite for a couple of reasons. 1. King sized bed 2. Ocean front 3. A safe in the room. Upon check in we were told none of the rooms have a safe and that they have a safe in the office. I was upset because I was told on the website that I booked through that I would have a safe in the room. We let it go. I felt safe and if I really wanted to I could give the front desk my valuables.

Our room was nice. I was scared because of the other reviews on trip advisor. The room was spacious and clean. The only complaint that we had was the bed was as hard as a rock. We went to the front desk and got 3 more pillows which helped. Everything else about the room was nice. It had a very big tub and nice shower with very hot water. The air conditioning was very cold. The breakfast that was included was a buffet. It included something for everyone. The staff was very courteous. The beach in front of the hotel was nice and very clean.

Overall the stay was good. It was not my favorite place to stay but for the right price it was good. I would recommend it if you are on a budget and are not too picky. It is not a 5 star place but if you are willing to overlook some things I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Oceanfront suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmorto001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed at 4E for 8 nights. Little beach view, private terrace with hammock. Friendly staff, and amazing breakfast every day. Total deal for the money. Perfect location. The grounds are kept immaculate and there is someone near by if you need ANY thing.. if that is what you are looking for, he he. No TV, no clock, no radio; bring your own because you can plug your own in!

Would recommend renting bikes near this place called Matea's for $8 a day and getting water, tequila around there. Things like that add up if you are staying near by- accidently learned that the first night we were there. two appetizers, four beers and four don julio shots came out to over 850 pesos with tip. You can also bike to Tulum town and the ruins from the hotel. Splurge on a meal at La bistro next door and walk down to Hotel Om for a bite. Matea's and the restaurant next door is also very good and cheaper than the places on the beach.

Just fyi, not much night life in Tulum, would come back to this place with a couple of friends though. It was exactly what we were looking for..

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a little beach view- but i would ask for the second row of cabanas. 4E i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
2.0 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 96 in Tulum
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#22 of 96 in Tulum
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#18 of 96 in Tulum
588 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
1.7 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#73 of 96 in Tulum
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas

Property: Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km. 7.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 7 cabanas in its first construction stage, with 4 Junior suite type rooms each; we are located on the Tulum Coast, in the road to Boca Paila, right on the Punta Piedra zone, at only 7.5 kilometers from Tulum-Coba, 7 kilometers from Tulum Ruins and aproximately 1 kilometer from Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve. Surrounded by a relatively undisturbed tropical forest and set upon a beautiful beach, Los Lirios Cabañas Hotel is the perfect combination between forest conservation and sustainable eco-tourism, between the manglars, source of life for the sea reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lirios Tulum
Cabanas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing