We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place on the planet!!”
Review of Ahau Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place on the planet!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The moment we drove down the street leading to Ahau, my wife and I knew we were in for something special. Our friends took over the entire hotel for their wedding. By far, the best wedding experience of our lives. We've been together 15 years so we've gone to many great weddings so this is saying A LOT!!!

The people, beach, food, water temp and views were all unbelievable. There seems to be something else here as well. Something spiritual that allows you to completely disconnect and heal all wounds. I felt a spiritual awakening that has given me so much energy for the past 2 weeks now that I'm back on the grid. The yoga room is something out of a movie. Best yoga of my life!!
I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay, wedding, or special event. Nisia Wasilewilz is an amazing wedding planner at the hotel and did an incredible job with the flow of all of the many events. Jill Engvaldson was amazing in welcoming guests in the hotel and always checked in to make sure we were having fun!! Had the pleasure of meeting the owners and not only were they BEAUTIIFUL on the outside, but were beautiful on the inside. I'm so grateful to this experience and can't wait to come back to my new home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello!

We love to know that our guests are willing to share their experiences in Ahau Tulum in this world wide tool because this can show in detail to a lot of our future guests to know where they are going to spend their vacations. We are also glad that Nisia and Jill surpassed your expectations as well as our staff, the beach, the food and the ambience of our hotel. We hope you can visit again to have a great experience here in Ahau Tulum. We are grateful to have guests that connect with our hotel in all different ways as you did!

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    92
    39
    10
    9
See reviews for
147
401
82
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've been home for two days from Ahau Tulum and am even more annoyed by television than ever!!! Tulum is the perfect place to be a real "being", and Ahau excels at enabling such an experience. Of course, we loved the stunning architecture and soft, fluffy white sand beach and welcoming, enveloping, textured sea waters. Additionally, the staff was always smiling, attentive, and striving to do their very best to make our time there memorable and enjoyable. We may be missing some names here, but we are thankful for the kindness of Marco, Martin, Isaul, Jill, Ari, Pamela, and Rafael in making our time at Ahau a very special experience.
The location on the Tulum road is very convenient. The Ahau restaurant is very good, and there are several other excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. Really easy! Some shops are close by. The yoga space is stunning!!! overlooking the Caribbean! Wow! Such a beautiful place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello!

When we read great comments and reviews about Ahau, we really feel that we are doing our job right, but when we read that Marco, Martin, Isaul, Jill, Ari, Pamela, and Rafael and the rest of our staff were always smiling, attentive and striving to do their best it makes us feel proud as this is always our goal. In addition, we are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant and Yoga studio as well as the beautiful Caribbean Sea from Tulum. We invite to come back and stay with us anytime soon! Thank you!

Warm Regards

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Where do I start? I cannot say enough about our wonderful stay at Ahau in Tulum. Everyone on the Ahau staff made us feel like we were with family from the moment we arrived to our last minute there. Special thanks to Jill and Pamela for all the special services and great recommendations during our stay. Also, thanks to Marco, Edgar and Paris you went above and beyond to make our stay special. Tulum is a special place and Ahau is THE place to stay for that one of a kind experience. The food... excellent, the Yoga...Amazing. The beach... perfect.... The Service... World Class! My words here really can't do this town and hotel justice ... You will have to come and experience it for yourself... And like us will want to return year after year.


Luis & Reine

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello!

It is really amazing to hear such nice reviews from our guests as this makes us feel proud and aware that we are doing the things needed to surpass our guest’s expectations. It is a pleasure to here that Jill and Pamela offered you great recommendations and service as well as to hear that Marco, Edgar and Paris went above and beyond to make your stay a special one. We would love to see you back here anytime soon. Thank you again for the great comments.

Warm Regards

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Oh Ahau. You hussy! I dream of this place always. I've stayed in each kind of room and experienced every kind of situation here, from birthdays and weddings and huge parties, to serene vacations and beautiful solitude. And I keep coming back. This place was built with love.
The food is great, the location perfect, within walking distance to the best of Tulum eating and shopping.
It's paradise.
Truly.

Room Tip: The upstairs master suites are more private. The downstairs Bali huts have easier access to the shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoë B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello!

Thanks for such a great review, we are glad to hear you had a good stay again as you tried all of our rooms! Tulum and it surroundings are amazing, lots of stuff to do, places to see and restaurants to visit and we are very close to all.
Please feel free to comeback at any time!! As you are part of the Ahau Family!

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

When you walk into your room you get the "wow" experience. There is an attention to detail that I really appreciated. Considering you are in Tulum everything runs off generators and I expected a pretty basic room and resort but was surprised with how nice everything was. It is truly a slice of paradise.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a great breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MojoPages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello!

It is very important for us to hear from our guest all their comments and makes us very happy to see that you noticed the attention to detail that we try to offer to our guests. We want to invite you to come back any time as we will be waiting for you with open arms. Thank you for all your great comments about Ahau.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our first time to Tulum and we were blown away. What a magical bohemian paradise! Our trip was only enhanced by the exceptional five-star treatment we received from the staff of Ahau. (Special thanks goes out to Nisia, Jill and Martin for making our stay extra special). The resort is gorgeous, a living garden of Eden. The grounds are meticulously cared for and we could tell that a lot of love goes into the upkeep of the property. We especially enjoyed the food! As other reviewers have mentioned... it blew us away. Delicious, fresh, consistent. Every single dish. Every single time (Delivered with a smile and attentive service). Travel tip: pack light. Ladies, leave your heels at home. Guys, my husband wore a shirt two times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreabM9328NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello!

It is great to hear that you experienced a five star treatment at Ahau in your first visit to Tulum. We are also glad to hear that Nisia, Jill and Martin made your stay extra special and because the food from our restaurant suited your needs and taste. Thank you for the tips posted as they are correct, Tulum and Ahau are a place to relax and enjoy!

Warm Regards

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I just spent 5 days at Ahau and the two words that resonate the strongest are Magical and Enchanting. The rooms were beautiful and the staff was courteous and attentive. Everyone was lovely. Overflowing cups of Serenity and Peace...loved it loved it loved it. Can't wait to visit again. Thank you so much Ahau Tulum!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were fantastic and our Ocean view room brought in a fantastic Ocean Breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spmahoney72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello!

We want to thank you for the excellent comments you recently posted about Ahau. It is very gratifying to hear that the magic and enchant of this place as well as the staff service accommodates our guests as we are always willing to exceed their expectations. Please visit us again soon, thank you again.

Warm Regards

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 95 in Tulum
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
399 reviews
2.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahau Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing