We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahau Tulum Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahau Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hudsonville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ahau Tulum Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Ahau Tulum Resort in October for our son's wedding and reception which we had right on the beach. It was beautiful. The entire wedding party and family stayed at the resort. It has a variety of price ranges so everyone could afford what they wanted. Every morning getting up and just walking a few steps to the open air restaurant and enjoying the incredible food and view was awesome. The owners and staff were wonderful from the wait staff to the maids. They made this wedding amazing, and of course, the wedding planner Maju, too. She was incredible. They were always there and making sure everything was perfect for this fabulous day. We can't wait to go back. You guys ROCK!!!! Thanks so much for everything. We're still talking about it and it was 5 months ago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen Misak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    91
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
141
394
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our stay in Ahau Tulum was one of the most amazing stays we have had in our life in a hotel on the beach. We arrived and were greated by such nice people in the reception, they offered us a drink right away to unwind from the long trip. They were most accommodating and gave us the best treatment a human being could ask for. The first 2 nights we stayed in the master suite which was just mind blowing, with a view to die for and a natural breeze acting as the perfect air conditioning. We then moved to a Bali hut, which was a more jungly vibe, and also incredible. The shared shower and bathroom were extremely clean at all times, and containers full of soap and shampoo for our comfort.
We ate a lot in the restaurant which served the best food ever, and the staff was extremely friendly. We could eat on the beach, and watch the kite surfers do there thing, enjoying the beach vibe at all times. Our last dinner was brought to our room on a platter, and we ate on the patio looking out, it was like a dream. We would recommend Ahau Tulum to anyone who has a taste for the good life, and and a desire to relax in the most incredible conditions they have ever dreamed of.
You must see this place! Thanks Ahau staff! Thanks Jill! You were all amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amuniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I arrived Tulum over the Christmas holiday and were very unhappy with our originally booked room at Hotel Caracol (don't stay here it's a dump). So we ventured on a challenging adventure of finding places to stay for the remaining 10 days which was difficult given the high season. Three of the nights were luckily accommodated because of Jill. She was our savior for making this possible and she made us feel warmly welcomed. The hotel has 20 rooms and the vibe is magical. It feels like a shared community of strangers who come together with mutual appreciation for the tranquility of the Tulum beach in an artfully designed and honest space. We loved every moment at Ahau and didn't feel much need to venture far from the grounds. We spent those three days lounging on the beach (and we even came back from our other hotels) in the various settings: hammocks, lounge chairs, and cushioned and covered beds.

We stayed in the upstairs Bali-Hut #20. It's a tree house for grown ups with well purposed and modest offerings. There's a fan smartly fixed inside of the mosquito net which kept us cool during the nights and there are enough outlets for charging devices. You should definitely bring your own flashlight because venturing down the stairs at night to use the bathroom can be precarious. I'd go back here in a heart beat but the Bali Hut might not be for everyone. If you prefer and are comforted by amenities there are other beautiful rooms at Ahau. We'd like to stay in the Junior Suite next time-looks amazing!

The restaurant staff and Laura (the manager) are wonderful and they made sure that we felt attended to on the beach or in the dining areas. The eggs Ahau are delicious and not to be missed; the shrimp tostada with spicy pineapple salsa is simply divine! There's also lots of mouth watering smoothies and juices to choose from on the menu as well as cocktails.

Overall, David the owner has created something incredibly wonderful at Ahau Tulum. Ahau has a spiritual vibe without being anything but tasteful and sublime. I felt myself being present and not distracted; happy and content. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Bali Hut and worry about using stairs then try to stay on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in a Bali Hut- it was modest but had everything we needed! A fan plus open windows brought a breeze from the ocean which was a right in front of our hut! The restaurant, huts and other structures blend into nature and the beach in front has hammocks and cabanas to relax on. The food was great, everyone was super nice.. I can't wait to go back here. I literally had tears in my eyes as the taxi took us to the airport. A magical place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We met David the owner he was absolutely wonderful . We ate there quite often Our favorites were the best fish tacos We were staying at another place but often went there for yoga and just the warm inviting vibe. A must go place whilst in Tulum .

Room Tip: did not stay in rooms just experienced restaurant and yoga classes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallycatalan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is an overdue review; I spent a week at Ahau Tulum in March 2013. The service at the hotel was great, the location was stunning and the food at the restaurant was delicious. I stayed on the top floor of a Bali hut and had no complaints. I would only recommend the Bali hut to folks that don't mind a basic and rustic accommodation. I was perfectly comfortable on my own, but I think sharing the room with another person would be a tight squeeze.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UWS_NYC10069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Ahau has improved greatly since my first visit immediately after they opened. I've talked to many travelers that know the area quite well and they all say that this is the "best property in Tulum". I could not agree more. It is nothing short of magical, go there now, go there often.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JCZar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#24 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tulum
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahau Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing