We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All we hoped for and more, simply amazing...”
Review of Ahau Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All we hoped for and more, simply amazing...”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I saw Ahau when it was under construction and I was drawn to it then. When I came back this year for a wedding I made time to go to Tulum of course and hoped to spend a night at a place I saw online, it was the same hotel I'd visited a year before! Meant to be and it was honestly the highlight of our trip! There was a Junior Suite available, second floor, ocean view and stunning.

The creative detail in this beautiful, rustic yet luxurious cabana was amazing, right down to the light fixture in the shower. The bed was pillowy soft, doors opened up to allow a great ocean breeze. You have your own hammock perfect for napping. They've thought of every detail including sleep masks and even a small stone water basin to wash the sand off of your feet. Is it silly if I tell you that I was in love with the floors? Such a gorgeous wood and so smooth that they were soft. Honestly the work that went into building Ahau is seen in everywhere you look.

The room was so amazing we hated to leave it but the grounds are equally beautiful (perhaps they could add a little light you could flip for room service :) so you can stay in bed!) Many beachfront chairs, beds and hammocks with an attentive staff. The restaurant/bar area is open air like everything else and you cannot stop looking around at the beautiful wood and palms used to build this gorgeous "great room". THE FOOD...not sure where to start. Right from breakfast, creative and delicious. I highly suggest the pesto eggs, eggs Ahau, the confidence fruit smoothie. Dinner was also 5 star and if you're lucky enough and they have it, get the chocolate cheesecake. We sat under the stars and ate by candlelight for hours. You really do not need to leave, it is all you could ask for.

The staff is friendly and full of smiles. Edgar at the front desk was incredibly kind and helpful. He made it clear that we could come to him for anything at all that we might need. They offer yoga with an ocean view above the restaurant area and although I didn't try it, many others did.

Overall this was a true 5 star experience, we're still talking about it and trying to find a way to come back again as soon as possible. Time really does stand still and you feel what true relaxation is.

Thanks so much Ahau, we miss you already.

Alicia and Daniel

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong but we went for the Juinor suite and it was amazing to have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaMae333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    91
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
144
398
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netley Abbey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had an amazing time at Ahua, the location was perfect, beach one of the best in the world, the restaurant unbeatable. Well worth loosing track of time. I have no more to say, just go to find out more! We'll be back I'm sure.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsey_wanting_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This review is a long time coming. My wife and I stayed at Ahau for our anniversary last September. We're not necessarily Jet Setters but we do get around and have stayed in many well revered places throughout the globe. I can honestly say that Ahau Tulum is the best place we've ever been. The hotel is beautiful and the owners have done an amazing job of nestling the resort into its natural surroundings. This is an eco boutique resort which means it's "off the grid" in some respects but we always felt like we were completely immersed in luxury. Yes there is an amazing beach where people will serve you and yes the rooms and beds are amazing and yes there is plenty to do but what makes Ahau stand above the rest, in my opinion are its people. I'd like to thank Pepe, Melena, David, Mauricio, Inez, Aiesha, Edgar and everyone who made our stay there a truly life changing experience. You've created a magical and soulful place. We love you guys and we can't wait to come back.
My suggestion to anyone considering Ahau Tulum is to stop considering and just go. Open your mind-let if fill you- and it will change you. You will leave Ahau (with tears in our case) a better person then when you arrived.

Room Tip: Stay in what ever you can afford. Every room is wonderful and there is a price point for anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Even though we couldn't stay here because it was sold out we went for breakfast and also walked by at night by the beach and the place is amazing! The cabanas are huge and stylish right on the beach with balconies with chairs, they don't have beach chairs but beds and hamacas all around hanging by the shades of the wood huts. The vibe of this place is amazing and the service and food is great! I would definitely stay here next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamiMasdeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahau T, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Hola,

Gracias por su excelente opinion sobre nuestra propiedad, desafortunadamente en ese momento no habia habitaciones disponibles, esperamos que para su proxima visita se pueda alojar con nostros y disfrutar de Tulum al estilo Ahau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Warning, if you stay here, you will never want to leave. Unreal setup, such close attention to detail on everything, perfect spot on the beach, great yoga classes and a fantastic restaurant and menu, attentive staff - summed up in one word, "PARADISE". Great selection of places to eat and drink nearby if you actually feel like leaving Ahau at any point - plus the cenotes and Sian Kaan reserve on your doorstep!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahau T, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hola!

Thanks for such a great review, we are glad to hear had a good stay, Tulum and it sourrandings are amazing, lots of stuff to do, places to see and restaurants to visit.
Please feel free to comeback at any time!!

Regards

Pepe Escalante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Ahau for a week in April. It captures that elusive balance between rustic and comfort. The high ceilings, comfortable bed, clean linens, delicious food and helpful staff were all 5 star. They had some of the best fish tacos I've ever had and the fresh squeezed juice were divine. If you don't mind the price, you won't be disappointed.
David

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have high ceilings and are roomy but they get a lot more wind which can be lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidi284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahau T, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hola!

We try to give that balance to our property of by using local tropical wood and materials from the region to build and the comfort of excellent beding, we do the same with the food we buy from local fisherman and cook with love from our staff.
Please come back soon to beatiful Tulum.

Best Regards
Pepe Escalante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

On arriving at 1.30am we were greeted by security and swiftly helped with our bags to our room. No fuss, and went straight to sleep. On waking in the morning we thought we had died and gone to heaven! The Bali hut had everything you needed- a bed and a mosquito net. A long drop toilet and and outdoor shower. It was immaculate and just the experience we were after...
We headed up to the common area for breakfast where we spent many hours chatting to the wonderful staff and making friends with other guests, playing cards and working our way through the gorgeous menu.
The staff were attentive without being intrusive and nothing too much trouble.
We are not hippie types or yoga fanatics however the easygoing vibe was great, whoever you are.
EDGAR, you superstar, greeted us and wished us well on our honeymoon and informed us that he was upgrading us for the rest of our stay. My husband was slightly saddened by this as he loved the hut, but as he showed us the Jr suite, that soon faded... Incredible! A huge bed, flushing loo (yay!), lovely shower and a balcony with uninterrupted views of the sea, from the private hammock.
Its hard to say which is 'better' the Bali hut is great and so well priced, for a change of pace and a real experience. But flippin heck... I could have moved in to the Jr Suite and lived there happily ever after.
Value for money, food, staff, cleanliness and pristine beaches will make this a very popular spot, so book now before it changes, if it does, it is a magical place and I will break my rule of only visiting an area once a lifetime. We will return.
Amazing place.
(I have been a travel consultant for 7 years, and this knocks the socks off many 5*+ hotels I have stayed in!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickij84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahau T, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hola!

We are very happy to hear your excellent review, it is our pleasure to serve our guest, tulum has a very special vibe, for years has been a yoga paradise but is not only that, there are a lot of poeple on long trips, or just taking some time off to get away from big cities.
the fact that is a slow town does not mean you can not provide good service and quiality on food and accomodations.
Come back any time to live the magic of Tulum.

Regards

Pepe Escalante
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahau Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing