We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahau Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Parker, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a lovely place on a nice part of the beach. It is a bit unusual to include both boutique as well as hostel style accommodations,but they do it well . The staff were friendly and accommodating. The restaurant is open and spacious, with a nice menu. We had one of the upper end rooms, which was comfortable and had a nice view of the beach. We liked the high palapa ceilings, and appreciated the eco conscious efforts made. The water is gravity fed, which when it works is fine. One night the toilet wouldn't flush. It so happened that one of the tanks didn't fill that led to the bathroom. Fortunately, the owner was in the restaurant and had it taken care of in short order! There was a lot of focus on yoga and African dance, and we're sure if that is what you are there for then you will not be disappointed, We, however, are not the yoga type and did not participate in this aspect of the resort. It is truly a beautiful place. We were taken very good care of even though we were not quite like the rest of the clientele that were there at the time of our stay - just an older couple on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcmfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahau T, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hola!

Thanks for you nice review, we try to please all of our clients that come and stay with us, the Yoga aspect as you said is just one part of our Hotel, we focus on giving a relax and freindly atmospher, being in Tulum beach is a wonderfull expirience sine we are in one of the most beautiful beaches of the world, we add to that a variaty of rooms from Mater Suites to a guest house which allows everyone to enjoy Tulum.

Please come back soon.

Regards

Pepe Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    91
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
142
395
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved Ahau Tulum -- the rooms, the people, the beach, the food, the aura .... etc. Couldn't have asked for a better getaway.
Jamie at the front desk is incredible.
Come see us in Atlanta, Jamie. We love you!

Room Tip: They have a variety of rooms from super inexpensive with a shared bath to top of the line Master Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahau T, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hola!

We are glad to hear you have loved our place, we all try hard to please each one of our guest and take care of all their needs while they are here with us, Tulum is a beautiful place it self and we add nice rooms which makes a perfect place to relax, enjoy and have fun.
Please come back any time.

Best Regards

Pepe Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wow. This place is gorgeous. I had one of the $300/night bali huts on the water and it was so well appointed and lovely. There were ocean breezes, perfect views, towels folded like elephants (or was it Ganesha!) and even henna-like wall art. The food and the people were great too. I am a 42 year old gal who has traveled just about everywhere and I bet that I have attended close to 50 weddings. I was here to attend a BFF's wedding on the beach and this was one of the best weddings that I have ever been to. The location, the people, the food -- it was all perfect. Keep doin' what you are doing Ahau Tulum!

Room Tip: I had the hut closest to the bar/lounge and while I was not bothered by this (I never heard any musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been to Tulum before and stayed just a short way away from Ahau so we already knew to expect the amazing beach.
We saw Ahau being built on a previous trip and decided we would stay December 2012.

We stayed (for 13 nights) in a Junior Suite on the beach (lower level) as we were with our 3 year old. The room was, I have to say, probably the best bit for me. Clean, bright, close to the sea, really beautiful (though could have done with more storage space).
There is a good sized veranda which worked well for us as our son can play whilst we relax.
The rooms are at the upper end of what you might expect to pay at a good place in Tulum so your expectations are set quite high.
In terms of the room, I'd give 10 out of 10. Issues that niggled a little were:
- Plates being left for 24 hours after room service and the dogs/cats/wasps being attracted to it!
- No kids menu; one day we were charged US$ 31 for a childs fish and chips
- Not a great choice of wines :-( - you'd expect in a place like this, they would have a couple of nice ones (as Villa Estrellas does)
However, the staff were great and they did adjust the price of the kids meals when we drew their attention to it.
They seem to really want to please and make your trip the best so they have to be commended on that.
Special mention to Jack and Edgar - they were very nice and welcoming.
Overall, the food is pretty pricey and compared to some of the other restaurants in Tulum, this is not always completely justifiable. It was though, on the whole, good quality and pretty tasty.

There was some amount of repairs during our stay (ie. to water pipes) but this was done very quickly and didn't really affect us.

To conclude, I'd recommend Ahau though there might be some slightly better options in Tulum if you are with small (ish) children...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holsdols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Its as in your dreams: Blue Sky, Green Ocean, Palms and white Sand. And this Hotel fits into this dream! Design following nature. Luxury if you want and can affordable it( 250 bucks and higher) but also Bali huts tiny and romantic( for around 80 bucks) very friendly staff and good for breakfast and dinner. They offer Yoga Lessons and paddle tours on Surf boards.
After a week its difficult to leave that wonderful place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahau T, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hola,

Thanks for your kind review, the idea of having a bigger variety of choices on the rooms is to have everybody to be able to enjoy Tulum, you can be traveling alone with your back pack or want a big master suite to enjoy with frends and family in front of the ocean we offer that, Tulum is a magical place and is only fare if we can share it to everyone who wants to enjoy it.

Please come back any time to enjoy paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at Ahau Tulum from 12/17-12/19/12, and next time plan on staying for much longer! It is a really beautiful, serene way to change things up. We live in a large city, and to be able to go somewhere so conscious of its gorgeous environmental surroundings and just slow down for a little while was fantastic. Prior to Ahau we stayed at a smaller all-inclusive, and this also was a great change of pace. Can't overstate how cool Ahau's construction and layout is.

We reserved one of the little Bali huts, which comes with a very comfortable bed and access to the garden shower and little eco-toilet (not a big deal at all if this causes you unease - vastly better than a latrine or port-a-john). Only minor issue with the Bali huts is that they do not offer much privacy. You share the hut and shower/toilet with another couple (we had a mother and daughter in the room below us). We had no problems with our neighbors, but just expect a communal atmosphere with the Bali huts. I don't think this is the case with the other two arrangements you can purchase.

We spent most of our time while at the hotel in the common room (which is awesome, beautifully built), in their restaurant (YUM, healthy and delicious) and on their gorgeous beach.

The staff is extremely helpful and very nice. We didn't want for anything. Only thing we'll do differently next time is splurge on one of the Master Suites - once you see them you'll understand.

Ahau is a great value, nestled in a cute community full of ex-pats and some hippies, with great access to the Sian Ka'an Biosphere. Only slight warning is if that new-agey vibe is a real turnoff for you, Tulum in general may not be your place to stay. It is not overwhelming but if that's a negative for you, it's definitely there. We enjoyed the earthy, chill atmosphere, the delicious food, and the tremendous beauty of the place. We'll be back! Thanks Ahau!

Room Tip: Splurge on the master suites. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolores2175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Okay, our stay here was interesting to say the least. We opted to rent two of the backpacker style rooms which are very cheap giving that you are beachfront like all the other expensive places but only paying one quarter of the price. We paid $29 USD per night for our place which was value for money given that we were right on the beach, it felt safe, the mattress was high quality and the amenities nice. Could I nitpick? Yes, of course. The walls are very thin plyboard with branches fixed to them for a more rustic look. They also don't go to the ceiling so sound between the backpacker rooms travels very, very easily. We had respectful people next to us so it wasn't an issue but it could be a world of hurt with the wrong neighbor. Other minor issue is the bathroom, which despite their best efforts of cleaning it twice a day, was generally filthy. Two of the three drains in the showers were slow to drain, resulting in the inevitable standing in shower water, which then became a waterfall out of the shower, onto the floor. They did have people in their working on this during our stay, so hopefully by the time you are there, this is resolved.

This leads me to a larger point. This place is definitely a work in progress, as there were repairs happening, efficiency experts assessing everything and super attentive staff asking about how they could improve. Honestly, I was blown away by the efforts they were making and would LOVE to visit this place again in a year or so to see the progress. The place was already damn near perfect so if they continue to tweak, this could be a real gem.

While there, we had a few issues with drinks or food but both times, we weren't charged and given apologies. As vegetarians, we found the menu a bit limiting but I believe it was also being tweaked. Prices are expensive for Mexico but that's all of Tulum and not really an issue for us given that we live in Australia where food costs are outrageous.

Lastly, the power went out on our last night, resulting in them having to use a generator to supply power. Bit noisy and certainly kicking up a bit of fumes so the owner comped our rooms for the whole time!!! Seriously, who does this? Man, what good karma. Staff were kind enough to point owner out for me, whom I profusely thanked. He said something along the lines of "We want you to have the best experience here and when you don't, we take it personally."

Honestly, this place has a few faults but I think the owner and staff are fully aware of these, correcting them all 110% and then making efforts to prevent them from happening again. It all starts at the top, so with an owner like the one at Ahau, you can't help but love this place and get excited about its near future. Being on perfect, turquoise water doesn't hurt either!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Juanbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tulum
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahau Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing