We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feeling”
Review of Ahau Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 12, 2012

First at all the hotel is placed at a nice location. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The restaurant serves very good food and the service is super. We stay only one night, we went back twice to eat.
We got a junior suite on top level, spacious, great balcony with sea view. No wardrobe, just a wall-bar with few coat-hanger. The room is filled with light due to the big front window and the rear to window.....and yes is going to be hot. The small (noisy) ventilator over the bed will not help very much. We managed to let the front windows door open, despite it was quite windy. On the top of that we got a problem with the wc, which needed to be replaced the day after.
Ok, ok not so terrible, but for $200 at night definitly not ok. By check out we were asked at the reception for a review, which we gave with the same points above. The points were written down, so I hope a few improvement will be done.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank moreno65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Hola Amigos!

We really appreciate your review, and for us is very important each one of them to make our property the best one in Tulum Beach, we really want to offer an special experience to all of our guest.
We want to inform you that now we have place Air Condition to all the Master and Junior suites on the beach level, and that was planned since the begining but when you stay with us we tought it was still a little cool to do it.
The way our A/C runs is only during the night when we are charging our battery bank with the generator so that way there is no waste of energy.
Also the fans are being replace, our hotel has been open only for 6 months and due to the fact of being so close to the ocean everything gets damage really fast and we are learning which devices work better for Tulum
Please come back to visit us any time you like.
Sincerely
Pepe Escalante
General Manager

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

the feeling at Ahau is that of a quality stay! perfectly located right on the beach, we immediately felt connected to the place and to its peaceful vibe. The food is excellent and the owners and staff were all very friendly, discreet and yet available to help at all times. We had a lot of fun and a lot of rest!
The range of prices per night were very interesting, we stayed in a Bali hut, a bit small but suitable for its main purpose, that is sleeping.. The Guest house was fine too.. but what really made the stay so pleasant was the beach, the social areas, the sunset tower, the massages, etc.. Hopefully someday we'll try the suites! they look amazing, hard to find better!
A reference in Tulum indeed :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CometaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, General Manager at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Hola,
We really apreciate your excellent review, we try to acomodate to diferent travelers and serve all, please you are welcome to come back any time To Ahau Tulum.

Sincerely
Pepe Escalante
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

See the sunrise from your king size bed / cabana on the beach. Eco-friendly, impeccable design, trendy, laid back and a well-traveled / friendly social scene. Service is personalized and along with management, will satisfy your all of your needs without trashing the pristine environnent in which they live and offer us.

One of the best location on Tulum beaches...

A very classy act, and that's for its.opening year! No doubt it will become a reference for Tulum soon.

Room Tip: Go for it...cabana 1 - its worth it Also, for more budgeted travel...ask for guesthouse... 30 $ a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FabriceBichSao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Tulum Mexico at it's finest! Just returned from a 4 day trip to AHAU where they make it impossible to not enjoy your time there. The staff is beyond friendly and accomodating to all of your needs. The rooms are extremely comfortable and very large. We stayed in one of the suites , # 4, and it is situated close to the ocean, the restaurant, and the yoga studio. The design of the rooms is perfect with the ability to leave the doors closed and open the shutters so that the ocean breeze comes through the room all night long.

The food at the restaurant was perfect , we only ate one meal outside of the hotel , which the owners insisted that we try , so they took us and a few other guest there for lunch one day. The owners on site David, Milana and Pepe are willing to do anything for you that you ask to make your stay better.

This is a hotel that I will be returning to for certain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VET75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

After reading all of the rave reviews on tripadvisor about Ahau, I registered for two nights in a upper-level bungalow, site unseen.

Pros: Price, nice beach, good coffee, great front desk staff, bed was decently comfortable, although small (but on the website they said it was a double bed, so this was not a surprise)

Cons: Everything else. The room was tiny. It had windows (good idea) but they didn't stay open (bad follow-though). They are still doing construction (good idea) but they start at 7am (hammering, saws, etc). Composting toilets (good idea) but they were not properly cared for, so there were bugs hovering. Outdoor shower (good idea) but the second floor of the bungalow can see right down into it, so who's ever on the second floor gets a peep show.

But the worst...At 7:30 one morning, my partner and I hear a man outside of our room and he says "hello! Need to fix the electricity" and proceeds to walk into our room (the room is like 10x10, with the bed no farther than 2' from the door...) and we're like "NO!" and so he stops walking in, but then climbs up the balcony railing and grabs onto the roof (in an effort to fix the electricity from the outside? who knows). My bf then goes outside and chases him away. We were both totally pissed and partially terrified. I mean, WTF? The front desk apologized, but did not offer anything for our inconvenience. Fortunately, we had only prepaid for those two nights and so we immediately left. So, both mornings, we were awoken by the construction at 7am...not conducive to a relaxing vacation.

Bottom line, if your a single yogi type who gets up with the sun anyway and needs a cheap place to stay, go here. If you want a relaxing vacation on the beach, avoid this place. There are other places in the hotel zone that have comparable rooms for the same price.

And, FYI, at the hotel next door, Uno, people/families regularly go totally nude on the beach. Nothing strange, just naked families.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, Propietario at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you Chelsea for your review. We learn from all our guest and care deeply about your experience at Ahau and in Tulum. I do apologize for the incidents you and your partner experienced. We have a mandatory daily synopsis of all incidents, this synopsis report is sent out from the front desk each night. I also looked at the checkout report for you and there are no comments or I would have come to you the very moment I' reviewed the report. I am not sure if this was human error or where the communication broke down btw front desk and management. The fact that your concerns were not dealt with adequately I can assure were an isolated and rare event.

The hotel is absolutely not in construction, however it is normal for maintenance items to be worked on from time to time. We have had over 30 guest stay in the very same Bali hut since its completion and have had no issues with noise or maintenance. The only daily maintenance staff on the property before 8am are landscaping personnel. For what ever reason there was any work from maintenance being done before 9am other than raking the grounds, baffles me and brings me discomfort.

The Bali Huts are small hence the name Hut. There is a focus on the outside environment , with hammocks and a beautiful outdoor bathroom. The Bali Huts have direct ocean views and this positioning allows for a great sea breeze, which is quite rare in Tulum for the price the Bali Huts rent fore. On the front window there is actually a small stick on a hinge the holds the window open, it's possible you might of overlooked it. We now have painted it, helping make it more obvious. You comments on the shower have left us thinking about creating a roof option. The beauty of an out door shower is to look up and see that you are outside. Thanks to your comments we are now designing a small canopy system that allows the guest to have an option for keeping the sky in view or having a small roof.

I do wish i could have met you personally during your stay, again i apologize for this. I am sure I could have taken care of your concerns promptly. Most of items were things that needed very little time to address.

We are an owner management hotel and I live on the property. If you shall ever choose to visit Tulum again, the family at Ahua hope that you will give us a second chance.

Thank you,
David Graziano
Founder
Ahau Tulum

Have the Best Day ever !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

All i have to say about this place is WOW... My Husband and I just came back from a long weekend and words cannot fully describe the experience we had.
We have been travelling a lot and visited some amazing places but nothing even compares to Ahau. The rooms, the food, the beach and view are all amazing. This place is stunning and no amount of pictures can really give you an idea of this place until you see it with your own eyes.
Thank you David, Pepe and all the wonderful staff for making this vacation unforgettable, you have built a paradise hidden in Tulum.
What more can I say other than if you are reading this and want to find the most peaceful and beautiful place to stay in Tulum this is the place to be!

XO Romi & Shimon.

Room Tip: The master suite upper level is so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I've been to Tulum before for our Honeymoon. But this time, we stayed at Ahau Tulum where my wife booked the Master suite top level (recommended). Although it is the most expensive choice, but it was totally worth it. The view is breathtaking since you are right on the beach. And you can sleep with the slide doors open all night without worrying about security since you are the second level. The chef just got started there, and the food was delicious and very healthy (fusion cuisine). The service was excellent. The staff was very friendly, even though we spoke Spanish, but the staff speaks English very well. Also, they have espresso machine (Nobody else has a decent coffee on any other spot on the beach, believe me I checked.). The bed was very comfortable, and they have speaker/docking station for the iPhone. The room has a wifi signal but it wasn't great. But the bar/restaurant area has a strong signal. I know I'm not suppose to check emails during a vacation, but it's nice to know they have it, just in case. Totally recommend the place.

Room Tip: Book the master suite top level (beach front)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almuaddib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#27 of 98 in Tulum
881 reviews
2.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 98 in Tulum
876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
290 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $59 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahau Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing