We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beach Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ahau Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beach Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Ahau is the most genuine, most relaxed and definitely one of the most beautiful resorts in all of Tulum.
Staff and management are genuinely nice, helpful and interested in the well being of their guest. It has the perfect size - personal yet offers a lot of privacy. The architecture and interiors blend in beautifully with the nature and surroundings, are tasteful, comfortable and not overdone. Its stripped of the things you dont need in such a beautiful place and does those you do need really well. So no TV but high quality bedding for example.
The location is perfect, on one of the nicest stretches of this already altogether very perfect beach. Great Restaurants, Cafes and shops near by but
with enough distance to the more busy part of the beach.
When we were there the place was still partly under construction but left already very little to desire.
It is obvious that Ahau is a labour of love and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkdeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    73
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
112
311
67
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This ecological resort is a paradise like no other. Ahau Tulum is an entirely unique and enlightening Caribbean destination complete with private, tranquil villas and bali huts designed with incredible detail and bali thatched roofs. This tropical haven is both peaceful and inviting with a focus on daily yoga classes, stunning views of Tulum’s pristine beaches and tropical jungles. The food is delicious and fresh. The staff is incredibly gracious and helpful. I recommend Ahau Tulum to anyone looking for a truly relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting and welcoming environment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

If you are looking for pristine sand, wonderfull clean beaches, nice palapa room with balcony rigth over the beach, healthy and high energy food, yoga place, nice people, quiet...this is the place. Right on the fantastiq beache of Tuum. Waves are a litte bit strong.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We arrived in the late afternoon, and they were still "building" our room. But we were taken care of every well, with welcoming drinks flowing our way! We got to try one on the Junior huts and then the master one... All of them decorated nice, with recycled wood and linen from local suppliers. I took yoga in the mornings with a great instructor, and he manage to give all the participants a great session, even tough there was a large level difference, every thing from beginners to advanced. The staff are very polite and always eager to aid in any way they can. It was a great stay, and I would recommend Ahau to couples who want a nice 4-5 day get away, or friends who wants to have a nice detoxing weekend...

Room Tip: The Junior Hut all the way in the end gives the perfect privacy for a romantic weekend, the master h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResandeAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have just returned from the very best travel experience I have had in quite a while. Ahau is brilliant - the rooms are spectacular: interesting, natural, breezy, luxurious, and the beds are magnificent. The beach is a dream: hammocks and ease, (white sand that never gets hot!!), private and quiet, with attentive staff ready to bring a fresh fruit juice when it gets hot. Spa services are luxurious: I had 2 massages, both outside in the ocean breeze, got incredible energy work and felt very cared for. The staff is so fantastic, I am sure that I will return. Pepe, Couron, Ines, Ola, Emer, David and the rest of the caring and fun Ahau Tulum community made me feel whole again after the rat race of New York. The yoga was athletic and centering, and the yoga space - overlooking the ocean and in the spectacular breeze, was truly a magical experience.

This place is the real deal. Just promise me this..........don't tell everyone about this jewel, I want to come back and I don't want it to be booked out.

Thank you Ahau! You reminded me that lifestyle is a choice - what a good reminder of the other choices available. I feel incredibly centered and at peace. You are so special!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Loved my magical room right on the ocean. Most comfortable bed ever! Slept like a dream every night with the sea breezing blowing through the room every night. Twinkling star viewing from the bed. Dreams of sea mermaids and song. waking to the colorful morning sunrise sending hues of red,pink, orange, and yellow. Ocean sounds soothing the soul. Swinging in the hammocks in the afternoon, reading and wondering how i can just move in forever!!!
The staff is amazing, kind, informative and helped us with ALL our needs daily. Yoga all throughout the day. Massage under the sky or in your room. If you could think of anything more perfect, let me know.
Ahau Tulum is heaven ~*~ mahalo nui loa ~*~

Room Tip: i viewed all the rooms so i could have an idea. ALL are perfect clean and exactly what you want in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Ahau is a beautifully crafted boutique hotel right on the ocean in Tulum. It is situated on the best stretch of beach, nestled amongst palm trees and the finest white sand anywhere.
The pagotas are superb and combine just the right amount of traditional design with modern comfort. Built in December 2011, this is a little treasure on the Mexican riviera. Bed sheets are silky soft, and beds are excellent quality. If you are looking to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean, feel the warm ocean breeze gently caress the large coconut palms right in front of your room, and wake up from running into the ocean fifty feet from your front door, this is the one for you. Whether you choose an energizing fresh juices combination or a coconut felled on the property while swaying on the hammocks or the large beach beds, you will not regret traveling to this heavenly retreat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeabassC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.8 mi away
Mi Amor
Mi Amor
#3 of 85 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Pez
El Pez
#4 of 85 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 85 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 85 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#7 of 85 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 85 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#2 Green Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ahau Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Ahau Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing