We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Azulik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azulik
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I had so much fun here! We stayed in a "romance cabana" that is set on the cliff overlooking the ocean. Absolutely stunning. That view does not get old. We stayed 4 nights in August and despite high temperatures and no AC, the cabana was very comfortable with the sea breeze. Watching the pelicans dive for fish directly in front of our deck was amazing.
It is an eco-resort so read carefully what they provide and don't provide in terms of amenities.
I really can't think of anything negative to say about our experience. I would love to return again sometime!
PS Clothing optional beach. Per usual, do your reading ahead of time so you know what the deal is where you are staying. Everything about this place was true to the information on the website.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoeiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Hi!

..."That view does not get old" SO true! Thank you for that fantastic quote!
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed once again your expectations.

Blessings,
Luciana Leguizamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    232
    117
    91
    55
See reviews for
18
893
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Veneto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Azulik and we loved it! The fact that there is no electricity during night did not bother us at all. The reception gave as candles and we had a torch to find our way in the dark. We loved the hanging beds both inside the hut and putside on the terrace. Since there was no electricity, there was no fan, so during night it was quite warm. Therefore, we left the doors towards the terrace wide open, listening to the sea below us. Now someone might be disturbed by the swoosh of the sea but we loved the relaxing and smoniferous atmosphere created by the sound. Having a shower insinde the stump decorated with tiles was a nice experience and we loved the bath tube on the terrace after a swim in the sea. The breakfast was unfortunately quite poor, a point that Azulik should definitely improve considering the rate of the rooms. Azulik offers beach cruisers for rent which are a good alternative to explore the neighborhood. Down the road there are plenty of nice restaurants, some of them with view on the sea. We stayed the entire day on the terrace to enjoy the sun, the sea and our hut. Despite the simplicity of the rooms and the missing comfort, we would always chose the Azulik over any luxurious resort at Tulum. We would recommend the Azulik to couples and singles who are looking for some quitness and something special.

Room Tip: We stayes in the honeymoon suite which had a "private" access to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear guest,

A sincere comment deserves a sincere reply...
Thank you for such amazing words! You choose traveling simple... and we can promise you to keep Azulik this way.
Regarding our breakfast offer we are actually working on the construction of a unique restaurant so I can promise this would be solved when you return =)

We will always be here for you both,
Best wishes,
Luciana Leguizamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Wonderfull cabanas in tulum! Really romantic stay! The cabana is very nice, and the terrace with its tub worth a stay!
The best way to start a day in Azulik is to have a bath in your private tub on your terrace and enjoy the sunrise! My personal suggestion is to bathe in the nude to feel the nature and to get in touch with the contest! the guys at the reception are really nice and helpful. One of them the first day helped me to tie up my hammock! I never forget this wonderful experience, If I'll be back in Tulum Azulik will be my first choice!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaSandrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Virginia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review for our upcoming guests.
Your feedback was shared with our team in order to keep inspiring them.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed once again your expectations,

Luciana Leguizamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in Tulum for 3 days on the weekend of August 1. Compared to our "modern" lodging in Cancun, Azulik was the far more comfortable of the 2 places. For my wife and I, who can only stand so much of nature, 3 nights was the perfect length of time for our stay.

First, the staff. The hotel staff were probably the most courteous and professional staff I have ever encountered. They sincerely cared about whether you were enjoying your stay or not. They were bi-lingual to varying degrees and could fill in the gaps from where my Spanish was lacking. They do not have food (other than fruit and some cookies) on-site, but they gave excellent suggestions of where to go eat. They have free WIFI in the lobby. There was no real "tip-driven" culture to speak of at Azulik (completely opposite of Cancun) and any help we needed was given as quickly as possible. We felt like human beings at Azulik - unlike at other hotels where people think of you as a walking ATM - this should be something that potential guests appreciate the most. We had to push back our arrival and departure days from the hotel (realized we had an obligation on the original date of our hotel reservation). The staff changed it for us (maybe a day or so after booking), no hassle, no problem. There was water and tea in the lobby as well. I also witnessed the staff respond appropriately, graciously, and IMMEDIATELY to a not so happy customer (I can't really say the disagreement was Azulik's fault.They have bicycle rental for 24 hours - which allowed my spouse and I to trek to the Tulum ruins and return the bikes at our leisure.

Second, the rooms. They're big and spacious. The furniture is well constructed. The bed is a little stiff. The ocean view is stunning. The breeze is great - although not-so-much through the critter netting. Housekeeping is very unobtrusive, but they didn't re-stock us with soap once (all we had to do was ask and we were re-supplied immediately). Our room had a hammock overlooking the beach and sea. No electricity, as noted - although there is a port that charges your personal electronics for most of the day. I'm glad I brought a flashlight - if you get back later than dusk, good luck lighting your candles. The sound of the waves is very relaxing - but some nights the waves crash in loud. I caught the ending of sea turtles going out to sea.

This place is doing a lot of things right. I'd recommend it to anyone - just keep in mind that you have to adjust your length of stay based on your preferece to unabated nature.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Derrick,

It's amazing to know that we have guests like you that enjoys nature and simplicity, that's probably the reason why you found our Azulik more conformable than your all inclusive Cancun's hotel.

Thanks to your review we’ll recognize any employees that were working with us those days... so thank you in name of all of them, we hope to have you back soon,

Blessings,
Luciana Leguizamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent the last three nights of our Mexican honeymoon at Azulik and we were very disappointed. The entire time we were there, there was construction going on daily from 8am-8pm. They did not inform us prior to our visit that that would be the case. If so, we would have found a different cabina to stay at. More so, they were unable to
accommodate us in any way until we finally spoke to the manager on our third day there. The only thing they were willing to do was offer a slight discount on our stay, which was far from what you would expect.

It is an amazing location with great rooms, however their customer service was seriously lacking. Not what I expected for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulalegui, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Azulik, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We are deeply sorry to hear that you left our hotel with that impression. I am apologizing on behalf of our entire team for not been able to tell you about these reparations at the time of booking, but they were absolutely extemporise.
Our staff try to accomodate you without any charges at a mayan villa, but since it was not the type of cabana you booked you were not willing to do so.

We realise, since you came to celebrate your honeymoon, that this was a very specially moment and you were looking for a total privacy and relaxing atmosphere.
We will try to make the most from our mistake for all our upcoming visitors.

Thank you for taking the time of writing a review of us,

Luciana Leguizamón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

After arriving in Tulum and scoping out a few of the top hotels in person the Azuluk was the best of the bunch. Definitely worth going for the larger suites with their fantastic ocean views. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we landed up staying in Tulum longer and extending our stay because we were so comfortable at the hotel. I liked it for the rustic appeal - the candles and outdoor little bath. Very romantic

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Loved your chosen title for the review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the community!
Your words made us feel that Azulik's big remodeling was totally worth it.

Luciana Leguizamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were a bit leery of some of the reviews of this place, but we are so glad that we trusted our gut and stayed for 7 nights in the Romance Villa (#3). The setting is breathtakingly beautiful, and the rustic luxury of Azulik was the perfect compliment. The bath products were lovely, the linens were very high quality, the daily cleaning service was efficient and unobtrusive, reception was so welcoming and helpful (especially Angel), and the room service (brought in from a very reasonably priced place in town) was excellent. We did not miss electric lights or a fan at all, the sea breeze kept us cool and comfortable at night, even under the mosquito net. The bath tubs were divine, and I loved having a warm soak outside at night while gazing at the moonlight over the sea. The slightly salty bathwater was not an issue for me, I felt clean and my hair was soft if I shampooed and conditioned it. There is a shower head on inside to help with hair washing or whatever. Plenty of candles and hurricane lamps were provided, the candle light definitely adds to the romance. We could have stayed another 2 weeks, we were so comfortable there. 10/10 would go back...Thanks Azulik for helping us have such a perfect honeymoon!

Room Tip: The Romance Villa was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evinhazinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
You are our dreamed couple-guests... just because you know who we are and which is our mission with all of you.
You both embrace nature as much as we do.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed once again your expectations!

Luciana Leguizamón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 95 in Tulum
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#22 of 95 in Tulum
854 reviews
2.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
400 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azulik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azulik

Property: Azulik
Address: Tulum Ruinas Road Km. 5.5 | Tulum Hotel Zone, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azulik 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azulik – Adult Eco-Resort and Maya Spa is an extremely private and enchanting, adults only nature retreat and Mayan Wellness Center located by the sea in Tulum, Mexico, just 3 km south of the Tulum Archaeological Zone and 4 km from the center of Tulum town. This one-of-a-kind “off-the grid” Eco-resort (no electricity, no TV, no phones, etc.) features 39 hand-crafted luxury Tree House suites, an organic cafe serving breakfast and lunch and dinner, a beach bar serving fresh Sushi and cool tropical drinks, and Tulum’s premier holistic Maya Spa and Healing Center. At Azulik, the pollution, noise and other distractions of the modern world completely disappear allowing adult couples to reconnect with nature and each other in a loving, romantic and meaningful way. Each of the resort’s majestic wooden Tree Houses, made from Mexican Royal Ebony (Khatalosh), stand high above the jungle floor with spacious interiors, floor to ceiling windows offering plenty of natural daylight, super king size beds with mosquito nets, and custom made in-door baths, creating sensuous sanctuaries for couples seeking the ultimate tropical hideaway. All accommodations have private decks with outdoor day beds and sitting areas allowing for uninterrupted views of the lush green jungle and the azure blue Caribbean Sea day or night. A secluded, guest only “clothing optional” beach is accessed at the south end of the property and is perfect for sunbathing or swimming. Accommodations range from intimate Jungle Tree Houses with partial ocean views to deluxe Ocean Front Tree Houses suspended high above sea with spectacular 180 degree vistas of the Caribbean and the verdant Maya Riviera coastline. Another one of Azulik’s main attractions is our rejuvenating seafront Spa featuring traditional Mayan healing therapies, massages, medicinal herbal baths, Yoga and Tulum’s first Temezcal (Mayan Sweat Lodge). At Maya Spa we draw upon the natural energy of the sea and jungle of Tulum, focusing on the ancient Mayan tradition to transmit sensations and experiences full of love and serenity. We use cardinal points, chants, prayers, the sacred sounds of the Maya Conch Shell Trumpet and the healing power of plants, flowers, aromatherapies and enriched mud to restore the natural state of peace, joy, harmony and health. Azulik is an adult concept for couples over the age of 21. To maintain our atmosphere of romance and serenity, the maximum capacity per Tree House Villa is 2 people. The resort is gay-friendly and our beach is clothing optional. We do not accept children. For ecological preservation of the beaches and jungle, we are unable to accept pets in the hotel. Azulik Adult Eco-Resort & Maya Spa awaits you with open arms to share unique experiences and amazing adventures, creating memories that will last a lifetime. Come and be natural! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azulik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azulik Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing