We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabanas”
Review of Azulik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azulik
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely cabanas”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent the second part of our holiday in Tulum at Azulik.
The set up is very romantic and the view from our cabana (we stayed in the sea front cabana) was wonderful. I personally enjoyed the fact there there was no electricity, but my boyfriend struggled with candle light at night. Also he was slightly annoyed that he couldn't power up his gadgets..

The location is perfect - right in front of the beach and only a few minutes walk from great restaurants on the strip (Casa Banana being our absolute favourite).

The only negative comment is that we found it overpriced for what it offers compared to other options in Tulum. But other than that we had a lovely time in Azulik.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    236
    119
    91
    57
See reviews for
18
913
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

To give you the perspective of my review, let me primarily state that I am not very high maintenance (I grew up on a sugar cane farm). For those people that consider themselves even a little bit "high maintenance," take that into serious consideration before booking here. I personally really, really enjoyed my stay at the Azulik with my boyfriend. The location was amazing. The rooms were very special, the hanging bed, the outdoor swing, and the outdoor tub were so amazing. It was very romantic and so peaceful going from NYC to Azulik. Since there's no electricity, it was even more romantic because of the candles provided (even though we had to purchase more candles bc it gets very dark). Some downsides: it's very buggy (everywhere in Tulum I think). This was actually the only thing that really got to me, it just gets kind of hard to relax outdoors at nighttime if you're constantly swatting bugs away. It was kind of hard to sleep at night because it was so so so hot and there was no AC, so all in all we didn't actually end up feeling very rested. Also, the beach area really wasn't very great. There are a lot of rocks in the water here so it's not too comfortable to get in the water. In addition to that, the beach area provided for the Azulik is pretty small and there aren't any little cabanas to hide from the sun in. If you're looking for a romantic, quiet, outdoorsy vacation, then I think that Azulik would be perfect for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillvry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have a real mixed review about Azulik!

Let's start with the positives:

The staff - Dora, Angelica, and Julio could not possibly be friendlier and more accommodating :-)
The location - spectacular and breathtaking. Sunrises are simply awesome.
Cleanliness of the grounds - great 'slightly manicured' jungle look!
The cabana terraces - hanging beds, swings, plunge pools, amazing views!
The little semi-private beach - clean and more or less private
No kids - nice and quiet :-)

Then the negatives:
After sunset - it simply becomes too much of a survival mission against the HUGE number of insects and reptiles (tarantula on our bed on our first night!). We understand it's 'in the jungle' but still at ~$150 per night there is zero excuse for not having mosquito-net screens on all doors and windows and sealing gaps between roofs and walls and windows and walls. This would be so cheap and easy to do!
Heat and lack of air circulation - the cabanas have no electricity and therefore no means to power a simple fan at night. The option of leaving a door/window open is zero given the insects/reptiles so instead sleeping is very difficult due to heat and lack of air flow.
Breakfast - again, given the relatively high price of staying here, breakfast is way too basic (small bowl of fruit, tea or coffee, and some usually stale pastries) - this ought to be improved considerably (and would be SO easy to do!)
Cleanliness of rooms - Azulik sadly seems to cover for it's lack of cleanliness by saying it's 'eco-friendly'... all the sheets on our bed were stained (we think with insect blood?!), the towels had all seen better days, and the general freshness of the rooms was lacking (again it would be so easy and so cheap for them to fix all of this!)

Before you visit this place make sure you read and are completely ok with their FAQs on their website!

Oh and if you're a light sleeper, the waves are REALLY loud at night!

Overall we're glad we went - we had a great time but would want to know that the above points have been addressed before we would visit again.

Room Tip: Insist on Cabanas 1, 2, 3, 12, or 28. The others have not been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingCoupleX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

BEWARE- the following experience has left me very distrustful of ever giving my credit card information to anyone. The reservation staff was not available for correspondence either by phone or by email. My reservation was never confirmed and when I called to say that I had to make other arrangements due to their lack of timely correspondence they immediately and against my permission charged me for 5 nights. What ensued can only be described as out right fraudulent and criminal business practices. The manager when approached in person was extremely evasive, as in, making me wait 40 minutes in the hopes that I would just "go away". when I was finally able to talk to someone who could actually exercise some authority she promised that the $ would be refunded, that was 4 months ago and they have no intention of returning the $ I got a curt email 2 weeks ago saying it was my fault. WOW eco hospitality more like TOURIST-TRAP, buyer please beware!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worldwideshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulalegui, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Azulik, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our staff indicated that you and your friend arrived to the hotel 2 days later than your original reservation.
We understand that you did not get your confirmation by email, but we have a copy of it that we already re-sent to your mail with the cancellation policies.
We are also sorry you couldn't get in contact with the hotel before your trip, our reservations attendance by email or phone is from Monday to Friday, from 9 till 6pm.

We are able to offer you the same spent credit for a future accommodation and Maya Spa services,
To redem this just email us.

Regards,
Azulik's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room, view, and staff were amazing! Super romantic spot, you feel like you are in another world.

Julio gave us great recommendations on where to eat and go out. The hotel is located on the beach, but fairly close to a bike path into town. Everything you need is within walking distance though - bike, scuba, etc rentals. Restaurants, etc.

I would definitely go back & recommend for anyone on a romantic vacation in Tulum.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtruesdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent three wonderful nights in Azulik Hotel enjoying the impressive view of the cliff, sea turtles on the beach laying eggs at night and staff's friendliness.
The bungalows are completely surrounded by the jungle and you can really see wild animals such as scorpions, hermit crabs and snakes through the plants and on the trees.
Breakfast is a buffet and drinks and some food are provided all day long.

What they should improve is the attention to details. For example, they could replace existing towels and bed linen with new ones or bleach them carefully..

Room Tip: Rooms on the cliff, sea view though more expensive, otherwise, the row just behind them. They are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daphelia_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Azulik since 2007. We spent our honeymoon here in 2008. We returned last in 2010. I had been reading the reviews prior to our visit last week and I was a little concerned that perhaps things were a little tired there as I noticed on our last visit in 2010 which was disappointing.

The cabanas have all been refurbed, so the issues recently raised by previous guests appear to have been addressed.

We stayed in The Romantic Villa, which is were first stayed in 2007 - it was cleaner and fresher than ever. The internal 'closet' and toilet had been painted a bright tropical green and the color was picked up throughout. The original wooden bath (amazing at it was, it leaked) has been lined with mosaic talavera tiles. Delightful!

The bedding and towels were spotless, another concern of previous reviewers, and the wooden floors recently re varnished.

I notice that the other cabanas have also had this splash of bright color used to refresh, but from what I could see the Romantic Villa was the most soft choice of colors.

Inside the cabana is a swinging day bed for lounging, as well as a queen with new mosquito net, table and chairs and plenty of fresh towels, including beach towels and PLENTY of water. This is so important here as this is a quiet hotel, not near any stores and not having a bar or restaurant, so the fact you have a 20 litre garafon of drinking water in your room as well as daily bottles of drinking water to take to the beach is essential (refill from your garafon and cut down on the plastic waste!)

Outside the decking path takes you to the edge of the cliff, secluded in greenery each side creating a private area and clothing is optional! On the decking are two Adirondack chairs, a wooden swing and the "pièce de résistance" at the end of the decking a double swinging bed and another talavera mosaic tiled tub over looking the brilliant turquoise ocean.

The manager Roberto is a totally charming gentleman who greeted us with genuine enthusiasm and care. He was a delight to deal with and speaks perfect English. He was aware that it was my husbands birthday and when we arrived back from dinner to soak in our tub under the stars, we found a bottle of wine and a little cake, with a personal note from him. So thoughtful and kind! Which was very much the impression I got of Roberto during our stay.

I believe coffee and juice is available at the reception, should you require it and Roberto can recommend restaurants and two menus are included in your cabana that deliver. We ALWAYS eat at Mezzanine, the Thai restaurant about four minute taxi ride from Azulik. Their breakfasts are also awesome and location can't be beaten.

Tulum has been one of my favorite places since my very first pack packing tour in 1997, it may have changed plenty since then, but still retains it's amazingly chilled ambience and magic. Truly one of my favorite places on earth.

I highly recommend Azulik if you really want to getaway and disappear. There is no electric, so bring a torch. Candles and matches are supplied in your room, moonlight normally suffices as there is no light pollution here. If you are expecting air con, mini bars and whatnot, then this place is not for you, these are luxurious, but rustic cabanas and less is definitely more. Do take mosquito repellent, unfortunately they can be quite aggressive at times, but best to remember to close doors and put down your mozzie net at dusk. After dark they calm down a little and the beautiful onshore Tulum breeze also helps. I usually have a few bites, but nothing worse than anywhere else in this area.

There is also a supermarket on the road in to the beach these days, so we did stop in for a few supplies, nibbles for our lazy afternoons on the beach or reading on the swing beds.

This place is truly heaven and one of my all time favorite places to stay. Roberto and his team have certainly put in a LOT of love and care into getting this place back up, and beyond, scratch.

We can't wait to go back, hopefully November and see what else is new at the old Azulik.

Room Tip: The Romantic Villa is a favourite and the colors subdued, also very private, probably the most seclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mevesysufres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#26 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
851 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azulik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azulik

Property: Azulik
Address: Tulum Ruinas Road Km. 5.5 | Tulum Hotel Zone, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azulik 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azulik – Adult Eco-Resort and Maya Spa is an extremely private and enchanting, adults only nature retreat and Mayan Wellness Center located by the sea in Tulum, Mexico, just 3 km south of the Tulum Archaeological Zone and 4 km from the center of Tulum town. This one-of-a-kind “off-the grid” Eco-resort (no electricity, no TV, no phones, etc.) features 39 hand-crafted luxury Tree House suites, an organic cafe serving breakfast and lunch and dinner, a beach bar serving fresh Sushi and cool tropical drinks, and Tulum’s premier holistic Maya Spa and Healing Center. At Azulik, the pollution, noise and other distractions of the modern world completely disappear allowing adult couples to reconnect with nature and each other in a loving, romantic and meaningful way. Each of the resort’s majestic wooden Tree Houses, made from Mexican Royal Ebony (Khatalosh), stand high above the jungle floor with spacious interiors, floor to ceiling windows offering plenty of natural daylight, super king size beds with mosquito nets, and custom made in-door baths, creating sensuous sanctuaries for couples seeking the ultimate tropical hideaway. All accommodations have private decks with outdoor day beds and sitting areas allowing for uninterrupted views of the lush green jungle and the azure blue Caribbean Sea day or night. A secluded, guest only “clothing optional” beach is accessed at the south end of the property and is perfect for sunbathing or swimming. Accommodations range from intimate Jungle Tree Houses with partial ocean views to deluxe Ocean Front Tree Houses suspended high above sea with spectacular 180 degree vistas of the Caribbean and the verdant Maya Riviera coastline. Another one of Azulik’s main attractions is our rejuvenating seafront Spa featuring traditional Mayan healing therapies, massages, medicinal herbal baths, Yoga and Tulum’s first Temezcal (Mayan Sweat Lodge). At Maya Spa we draw upon the natural energy of the sea and jungle of Tulum, focusing on the ancient Mayan tradition to transmit sensations and experiences full of love and serenity. We use cardinal points, chants, prayers, the sacred sounds of the Maya Conch Shell Trumpet and the healing power of plants, flowers, aromatherapies and enriched mud to restore the natural state of peace, joy, harmony and health. Azulik is an adult concept for couples over the age of 21. To maintain our atmosphere of romance and serenity, the maximum capacity per Tree House Villa is 2 people. The resort is gay-friendly and our beach is clothing optional. We do not accept children. For ecological preservation of the beaches and jungle, we are unable to accept pets in the hotel. Azulik Adult Eco-Resort & Maya Spa awaits you with open arms to share unique experiences and amazing adventures, creating memories that will last a lifetime. Come and be natural! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Azulik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azulik Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing