We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance and Beauty”
Review of Azulik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Azulik
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Azulik for a week in mid-June for our honeymoon. We found the property to be beautiful--stunning--and the lodgings clean and unique. Our wait staff (Roberto-Manager, Antonio-morning desk clerk, Julio-night desk clerk) was informative, kind, generous, and extremely helpful. Roberto even offered to talk with me at length about eco-tourism (Azulik has limited power supply only available for a few hours every day; the cabanas don't have any AC or power and all the cabanas were built with local product), Antonio spent mornings with me discussing local legend and lore, and Julio helped us with everything we might need in the evenings, including bug repellent.

We stayed in one of the nicer suites situated on the top of a 20 ft cliff above the crashing waves. Every night we'd sleep with the doors open and take in the incredibly romantic sounds and smells afforded by the Gulf of Mexico. The decor, though minimal, was memorable: thatched roof, swinging day bed, incredible tree trunk bathtub, and a lockbox. The hotel is in Tulum's Zona Hotelera, about 4 miles east of the city of Tulum. There were days we traveled on foot to the other hotels and restaurants. It is easy to visit the other beaches on foot, and a jauntier walk to the Tulum ruins. We found it best to rent a car rather than paying $70 (pesos) for taxi trips into town and back.

Tulum in itself was a wonderful honeymoon destination. I'd recommend it to any couple who enjoys the outdoors. A lot of hiking, sight-seeing, ruins, and cenotes (swimmable/diveable sinkhole caves). We hope to return again soon. And we hope to once again visit with Roberto, Antonio, and Julio when we do!

Room Tip: We did hear from other guests that the cabanas exposed to the beach (on the south side) didn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luuuuuu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Azulik, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Jdf2013,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to have served you.
We hope to see you again in Tulum very soon,

Best regards,
Luciana Leguizamón - PR Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ok this is a review I have always wanted to write from my stay in 2012 in this hotel. Since I joined tripadvisor recently this review is a must.

I have probably spent in this hotel one of the most memorable travelling experiences in my life. The hotel villas situation are breathtaking and you really feel like Robinson Crusoe in a wild beach. Is such a pity that this superb hotel is so poorly managed, maintained and been taken care of.

What you pay for in this hotel is the situation but don't expect much apart in terms of service. Which it would be fine if you pay lets say maximum 80$ per night. Hotel management just profits this and I am sure they make a huge amount of money out of this without caring about giving a good service to guests.

So at the end of our stay It felt sweet and sour.

I formally complained to hotel management and i just hope things have changed... but I doubt it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was the worst place we stayed in Mexico. Worth $50 a night - not $230!

- service is non-existent. Be prepared to carry your heavy bags quite a way and walk a little for a friendly face or a coffee
- the cabana was very run down - rusty/crusty plumbing and old furniture
- the only water to get washed in was sea water (a dribble at that!)
- there was bird poop everywhere in the room (!?)
- the bed sheets and towels we're stained
- if you ask the staff for anything they are very unhelpful and unfriendly

- on the last day we went out for breakfast at 8.30am. When we arrived back at the room an hour later (check out was midday), we found the room completely stripped of its bed linen and towels. Plus a parting gift! A poor little mammal was left for us half dead in the middle of our table on top of the hotel's menu - see the photo! When we complained, we were unsurprisingly met with a shrug. We were not due to check out for 2.5 hours and had a night flight that evening!

In summary, this is ECO LAZY, not eco chic. Here, the term Eco is an excuse not to have any standards or try in any way.

We feel extremely short changed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy_travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wow... this place is amazing.

Firstly, don't expect 5 star amenities and comforts, just expect paradise and the sounds of the ocean. The rooms are pretty big and had everything we needed. The hot water worked for us but the shower head was the biggest downfall as it just dribbled water which was odd given the room had fairly decent pressure. The outdoor bath and swing beds/seats were a nice touch.

We'd read books and laze about in between visiting Mayan temples and nearby beach front restaurants. The in room breakfast was ok but you'd probably want to eat out too. We went for sneaky nude swims in the morning and night too which seemed accepted.

The staff are very laid back and naturally on island time. The internet only works in the lobby hut and is fairly slow but got the job done.

We booked a romance room and were originally placed in room 1 which is more tucked away from the ocean or room 12 which is at the south of the resort looking over the more 'family' beach... but we wanted to be right up against the ocean so the staff kindly allowed us to move to room 3 which was fantastic.

Oh, we also had mystery critters who would come in and eat stuff outside our over bed mosquito net at night... they were into M&M's, Skin Cream and Chewing Gum even eating through all the plastic! Poor critters.

Just turn up, switch off and get back to nature by the sea because this place is truly paradise.

Room Tip: Room 2, 3 or 4 are great... they're at the north end looking over the quieter beach. The beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aust-Travel-Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've been heading to Tulum for many years for our anniversary and have stayed at Azulik many times. We've found a declining state of quality in the accommodations over the years, but we still love the location perched over the ocean and the adult nature of the location. That plus the nostalgia factor keeps us coming back. A few years ago we had an issue with them repairing rooms next to us our entire stay, which really infringed on our experience and our privacy. They dealt with it professionally from a customer satisfaction standpoint but it didn't change the experience. This past year we again booked well in advance for our annual trip. We always request and stay in the same room for a number of reasons and made sure this time around we did the same. So everything was fine until we got to the hotel to check in. We showed up to check in but were told the room wasn't cleaned yet. After coming back an hour later as we were told, we were then told the current guests hadn't checked out yet and they were looking to find them. After coming back another hour later we were then told the current guests wouldn't check out and weren't interested in checking out. After a number of hours passing now sitting and waiting to check in, shower and relax having just come in off of a red-eye flight from LA plus the drive, etc. (we were tired and now getting very frustrated), it turns out a large group had walked in and the hotel gave our room away without explaining to the guests they would have to leave that room on our date. The challenge here was that there were no other rooms left besides the beach cottage, which if you've been there is not perched on the water nor does it have the same level of privacy. Instead of admitting their mistake and telling the previous guests they had to leave, the hotel staff tried to tell us we would have to take another room even though our room had been reserved months in advance and this other group had just walked in. With my wife at her wits end and no ability via phone or internet to even check other options, we ended up having to take a cab up and down the strip to find a suitable room. The hotel didn't even offer to pay for our cab to help us.

We ended up having to spend a considerable amount of money to find another last minute room that was suitable. I realize that sometimes things happen and everyone has a exceptional or a terrible experience that can sometimes be an anomaly. I would have thought having stayed here many years in a row, having reserved many months in advance, and with the hotel having undeniably made a huge mistake, that they would have done something other than simply send us an "I'm sorry" response to our issue with a 2 day voucher that could only be used during certain seasons.
In a wonderful town full of really unique accommodations and experiences, I can't say that we will ever again head to Azulik nor recommend it similar to what we've done in the past to our many friends and family that have travelled there.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

this is the great place to stay there three nights.. longer weekend maybe.

I really loved the atmosphere, touch of the nature, silent and peaceful ambient.. just right on the beach, clean and beautiful beach, one of the greatest I ever seen ..perfect place to stay there with beloved partner.

no kids allowed! this is really hotel for the adults, and you´re gonna enjoy it.

after third night you´re gonna start to miss the lighting equipment, sweet water to wash your face or hair ..but anyway, you still feel like in paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinaKasubova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is our fourth trip to this rough jewel on the sea. In the last year, they have redone the cabanas and the staff, in particular Oscar, are friendly and kind. It is the perfect place to be deeply quiet at the sea. The only thing missing is the hanging beds on the decks, which were one of the best parts of the cabanas. We miss the hanging beds! Bring them back!

Room Tip: Request the hanging beds to return to the decks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulumMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 98 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#26 of 98 in Tulum
887 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azulik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azulik

Address: Tulum Ruinas Road Km. 5.5 | Tulum Hotel Zone, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $504 - $3,912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azulik 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azulik – Adult Eco-Resort and Maya Spa is an extremely private and enchanting, adults only nature retreat and Mayan Wellness Center located by the sea in Tulum, Mexico, just 3 km south of the Tulum Archaeological Zone and 4 km from the center of Tulum town. This one-of-a-kind “off-the grid” Eco-resort (no electricity, no TV, no phones, etc.) features 39 hand-crafted luxury Tree House suites, an organic cafe serving breakfast and lunch and dinner, a beach bar serving fresh Sushi and cool tropical drinks, and Tulum’s premier holistic Maya Spa and Healing Center. At Azulik, the pollution, noise and other distractions of the modern world completely disappear allowing adult couples to reconnect with nature and each other in a loving, romantic and meaningful way. Each of the resort’s majestic wooden Tree Houses, made from Mexican Royal Ebony (Khatalosh), stand high above the jungle floor with spacious interiors, floor to ceiling windows offering plenty of natural daylight, super king size beds with mosquito nets, and custom made in-door baths, creating sensuous sanctuaries for couples seeking the ultimate tropical hideaway. All accommodations have private decks with outdoor day beds and sitting areas allowing for uninterrupted views of the lush green jungle and the azure blue Caribbean Sea day or night. A secluded, guest only “clothing optional” beach is accessed at the south end of the property and is perfect for sunbathing or swimming. Accommodations range from intimate Jungle Tree Houses with partial ocean views to deluxe Ocean Front Tree Houses suspended high above sea with spectacular 180 degree vistas of the Caribbean and the verdant Maya Riviera coastline. Another one of Azulik’s main attractions is our rejuvenating seafront Spa featuring traditional Mayan healing therapies, massages, medicinal herbal baths, Yoga and Tulum’s first Temezcal (Mayan Sweat Lodge). At Maya Spa we draw upon the natural energy of the sea and jungle of Tulum, focusing on the ancient Mayan tradition to transmit sensations and experiences full of love and serenity. We use cardinal points, chants, prayers, the sacred sounds of the Maya Conch Shell Trumpet and the healing power of plants, flowers, aromatherapies and enriched mud to restore the natural state of peace, joy, harmony and health. Azulik is an adult concept for couples over the age of 21. To maintain our atmosphere of romance and serenity, the maximum capacity per Tree House Villa is 2 people. The resort is gay-friendly and our beach is clothing optional. We do not accept children. For ecological preservation of the beaches and jungle, we are unable to accept pets in the hotel. Azulik Adult Eco-Resort & Maya Spa awaits you with open arms to share unique experiences and amazing adventures, creating memories that will last a lifetime. Come and be natural! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azulik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azulik Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing