We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem at the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piedra Escondida
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Hidden gem at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

My wife and I ended our honeymoon at this hotel. Although it's a sober hotel (no airco or TV), we were very happy to have stayed there. All rooms are located on the beach and have a wonderful view on at the sea! It is magical when you wake up and the first thing you hear and see is the sea!!
For we visited Mexico for its nature and culture and wanted to stay in typically Mexican hotels, we were not looking for 5*-hotels. The (bath)room was clean, the environment fantastic, the staff was polite and friendly and the kitchen was excellent (food prepared by an Italian chef). That was all we hoped for.

Conclusion: I really do recommend this hotel, but be sure the facilities offered meet your minimum requirements!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belt1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    158
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
114
308
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southwest England
Level Contributor
252 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed in a beachfront room...worth the extra to hear the waves and to walk from the room into the sea. While rooms are not luxurious, they have everything you need and are very clean. The beach is small, but there were chairs and shade for everyone and the swimming was good. Breakfast was included and was excellent. Que Fresco Restaurant next door was a fantastic find, especially for us as vegetarians. It was an easy taxi to the Tulum ruins and getting into town was also easy by taxi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pensioner090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed at Piedra Escondida for 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer! We had the best time! :)

Pros: The staff were super friendly and kept the beach, rooms & restaurant miraculously clean. They were up before dawn preparing for the day. Their private beach with cabana's made relaxing pure bliss. Their food was absolutely delicious and reasonably priced compared to some other restaurants in the area.
Our room (Room 1) had screens on the windows, a fan (which we were thankful for) and was a perfect size with a bathroom of course, bed, 2 balcony's, a closet and a couch. Why do you need a big room when you only need it to sleep and shower?! Although it wasn't really an issue for us, there was no hot/warm water for showering in our room but it was so hot outside that we probably wouldn't have used it anyway. We didn't seem to have any problems with mosquito's because it was so windy (but warm) at night. Super San Francisco market is only a couple miles from the hotel where you can get bottled water and other misc. items you might need.
The best part of our trip was experiencing baby greens sea turtles hatch and helping them into the ocean. AMAZING once in a lifetime experience we will never forget.

Cons: Because of poor plumbing in the area, they want you to throw all toilet paper in a trash bin instead of down the toilet. That can get annoying. Also, some guests from the hotels next door come over to use the cabana's even though there are signs that say the use of them are strictly for Piedra Escondida guests only. On our last night, we had to stay in Room 9 which is the room above the restaurant because at the time of booking it was the only room available on that day. That room was cozy but it had no screens on the windows, it was hot and stuffy (it did have a fan) and we had to get to our room from a staircase through the restaurant. The bathroom walls were not floor to ceiling either.

Overall our experience was a great one and we are definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idkmybffeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a week at Piedra Escondida. We chose this hotel based on very favorable reviews on Tripadvisor. There was nothing really bad about this place; however as we explored the area we found that everything about it fell short of our expectations.
The good thing about Piedra is that everything is kept scrupulously clean; the rooms, bathrooms, beach, restaurant. Where we feel it couldn't compete with most other establishments was on the ambience. Service was polite; but aloof... a far cry from the friendly toneswe found everywhere else. Although they serve a very nice breakfast which is included in the price; the restaurant and the atmosphere there are grossly lacking. We ate dinner there on the night of our arrival as we were too tired to start exploring other places and venues. Our meal was a complete disaster. The dining area is lit so brightly in the evening it seems more like a diner. The two dishes we ordered were so tasteless that we couldn't even finish them. Another big negative is that when you have to eat indoors, the heat is claustrophobic as there are no ceiling fans in the entire area.
We stayed in the room with the balcony overlookiing the sea, for which we paid a premium. The room itself is clean, with a balcony overlooking the sea and a clean bathroom. The beds were okay, and there were screens on the windows so that the mosquitos are kept out. But again, no ceiling fan in the room so that the heat became so stifling it was difficult to remain in there for any length of time. The best thing about the room was the cleaning service and the really creative "towel art" provided by the smiling and friendly housekeeper.
The beach is very clean but the adjoining hotels are very closeby. I initially thought that the privacy afforded by the rock formations on either side of the beach would be desirable. However, when we went to the beach area a bit further south; it was so much nicer and you could walk for miles.
We immensely enjoyed our holiday in Tulum and it was easy for us to dine in the many fine establishments in the area and partake of the many activities the area has to offer. However, when we return we will definitely make it a point to stay on the longer strip of beach. There is huge variety in types of accomodations and dining. The beach is one of the nicest we have experienced anywhere in the world with soft, powdery white sand that is never hot under your feet.
If you go to Tulum, we highly recommend Mateo's bar & grill. It is almost directly across the street from Piedra (not beachfront). We had snacks or lunch there many days. The food was heavenly, prices cheap, and service friendly and efficient; great atmosphere and check out all of the funky handmade furniture.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckcottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Just came back from Tulum/Piedra Escondida.We (my husband,our 6month old baby and I)stayed 5 nights, it was the perfect secluded beach vacation.If you just want to relax, stay away from the crowd & vital night life and just enjoy the beauty of an untouched nature, this is the place for you.Piedra is the best hotel in that area,we walked down the beach looking at other hotels and we knew we made an excellent choice.Piedra is very well maintained,the beach is very private and the staff very friendly.We stayed at the upstairs room with the balcony overlooking the ocean.It is breath taking to wake up to the sun rise and stand on that balcony....we loved it, just unforgettable!The staff even put a crib in our room with an extra mosquito net over it and a fan,they were very thoughtful.We did use the fan at night, because it was hot under the mosquito net and yes, we did need the mosquito net, lots of mosquitos at night....but we didn't mind, that is a fair trade off for such a paradise setting.
The restaurant was good,breakfast is included and you have the choice of 4different breakfast-kind.Dinner is also good, everything very fresh.
The location of the hotel is also perfect, the beach area goes for miles and miles, not all hotels are right next to each other.Piedra is around the beginning of the hotel zone, which makes it easier to catch a cab to go to Tulum village and to other places.
We'll difinitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izzybitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

I spent three wonderful days and nights with friends at Piedra Escondida. I had never been to the Yucatan before and I think this will be the beginning of a special relationship with a beautiful place. The location is stunning, the rooms are right on a small but very nice beach of white sand. To come out in the morning to the view over the ocean was just amazing. The staff were very friendly and looked after our every need, the food was very good, there was free broadband in the main lobby, breakfast was included. They could probably do with some extra lounge chairs and because there is no air conditioning it can be hard to sleep - they provide fans though. I only hope that over time this area manages to old on to its charm; perhaps its relative isolation will work to ensure this. I will definintely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreezyBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

Go experience the real Riviera Maya. Away from the golden cage of the all inclusive. Not subject to timetables or dependent of an animation team for entertainment.
If you want to disconnect, drive south off Cancun, far from the were the crowds stay, and find what a real vacation in Mexico is like.
Breakfast in the hotel is great, and restaurants in Tulum offer a good variety for your dining needs (hotel has restaurant service as well).
Service is second to none. Friendly and cozy. Made us feel at home since the beginning.
The hotel is secluded, right on the beach. Waves can be heard from inside the rooms. Just amazing.
No TV in the rooms (yeah!) or A/C. Seems like the whole hotel runs on wind power with a generator backup, so they don't allow high drain devices.
Highly recommended.
One suggestion: drop the credit card surcharge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pukinano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#23 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Property: Piedra Escondida
Address: Km 3.5 Carretera Tulum Ruinas a Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing