We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small charming hotel on private beach cove, a place we return to every year”
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Piedra Escondida
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“small charming hotel on private beach cove, a place we return to every year”
Reviewed March 18, 2009

This small hotel with about 10 rooms and is situated on the Mexican Riviera in Tulum. It has charming rooms that are peaceful, and romantic with candle lights, Mexican tiles, verandas with hammocks and an incredible view of ocean just a few feet away. The beds and linens are comfortable and fresh and there are mosquito nets available, which we didn't need. The private beach cove has fine white sand, and the weather is warm without being hot and a nice cool breeze blowing every time we visit in January. They use wind generated power, have internet access, excellent food, friendly staff and is conveniently located. They had live piano music one night under the stars, very romantic. Great place for kids too, great place for kite boarding, bike rentals near by, close to Tulum Ruins, and make sure you do a cenote dive. We make this trip every year and have stayed at different hotels every time, but we always come back to Piedra Escondida.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offthewallbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    164
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
118
318
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2009

After several weeks of research I decided to stay at Piedra Escondida. It was very very nice! Room was big, very very clean and cozy. Bed was great and breakfast included was good, not big but very good choices. The owner & staff were very kind and helpfull. They have wireless internet and 24hs electricity. Beach is clean and almost for the hotel guests only!. It was a very good choice. I really recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alemoize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjs35
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Stayed here as soon as we arrived in Mexico. Just got bus from airport. Amazing to wake in morning and look at perfect white sandy beach. Rooms are basic but perfect. A small hotel so very friendly and very relaxed and is on the beach so you feel you have your own private beach to enjoy. Food was good but would say restaurant lacks atmosphere in evening. Next door is the restuarant that everyone raves about (sorry forgotten name).

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Went here to eat in the restaurant two weeks ago as the place looked nice. Food was completely uninspiring but worst part was when I asked if I could pay by credit card. They said, no not really because there's a risk of your card being ripped. But they agreed on taking the card (the place looked nice and organised so I didn't expect the guys to be thives). Now they've ripped my card twice (I ended up by paying cash because they came back after a long time and said the machine had no more paper.
Don't go here.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
6 Thank IB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aministracion, Manager at Piedra Escondida, responded to this review, February 14, 2009
We are totally surprised and saddened to read such a commentary which is probably due to a big misunderstanding. Sometimes trying to be over zealous is not worth the while; though the customer knew that the restaurant does not accept credit card (as the review states), he kept on insisting and we tried to help him trough the hotel reception office, closed at that time, but with no luck, because the paper was finished (as the review states). Piedra Escondida is proud of honesty of its staff and of its excellent customer service as demonstrated constantly from our customers' reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Italian attention to detail, Mexican style, great food, wonderful views, great location... we loved this place and can't wait to come back!
We stayed in 6 different hotels and visited at least 12 others over the 12 nights of our honeymoon and Piedra Escondida was by far the best! With your own private patio, hammock and beach beds... lovely continental breakfast and a very friendly staff, even when we weren't staying at Piedra Escondida we kept finding ourselves going back for breakfast or wishing we could be there. Very romantic, simple and quaint.

  • Liked — Great private beach and nice room layouts! Beautiful sunrises over the ocean.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alitravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

First of all, we really enjoyed the location which is out on a peninsula near the town of Tulum. There are no utilities in the area so all the hotels have either generators, wind turbines, solar cells or no power at all. PE uses wind and gas generators. We had power all the time except when blew fuses from our hair dryer.

The hotel has a beautiful "private" beach bordered with a natural rock pile on each edge. There are other hotels on each side that face PE's beach and the patrons tend to share the beach but it was never crowded. November is a great time to go because of the nice weather and small crowds. Room number 4 is best because it is right on the beach and is pointed so that the sea breeze flows through the room so that AC was not necessary. You can always hear the surf outside too. The beach is soft white sand but a lot of seaweed washed up at times. They cleaned the beach each morning. For snorkeling, there is a reef about 300 yards off shore and lots of rocks close by that have a few fish. Lots of snorkel and dive trips to the reefs leave from the area every day. The water seemed to be 78 to 80 deg F.

The showers and tap water is salty but they supply bottled water each day for drinking.

The restaurant was fair but there are better ones near by. The best was Buenos Aries which is in town. We also liked Mezzanine (Thai) about a mile north on the beach road. Go Margaritas are very hard to find around there, again Buenos Aries had the best ones. Everywhere else they tended to be very sour and lacking in sufficient Tequila.

This is a laid back place with only a few shops and lots of very small Cabana hotels. Nothing more than 2 stories. We were there for 4 days and kind of ran out of things to do but that was OK. A wonderful place to just hang out and do nothing or go down to Ocho (another hotel) where you can take long walks on the beach without encountering rock outcrops.

  • Liked — Location, view, laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — Hard bed. Salt water shower and sink.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank electroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronzolo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We did our honeymoon in Mexico. We visited many locations and had 9 different Hotels, but Piedra Escondida was so far the best.

The Cabanas-structure is placed in a wonderful little beach, and the chambers are really lovley. We had a room in the upper side of a Cabana, with a nice little bathroom, two wonderful wooden balconys with hammock, and a handmade straw roof.
Around the Piedra Escondida Cabanas there where a few other cabana structures, so we had the possibility to try other restaurants for dinner, but we ate the best food at the Piedra Escondida Restaurant. The staff is really disponsable, they speak english and italian and help you to organize your staying. For example, they booked us a tour to the wonderful Biosfera de Shian kan.

Tulum is only a few kilometers far from Piedra Escondida, and offers many possibilities of entertainment, excursions and lots of wonderful beaches and cenotes.

If I return to Mexico, I will surely return to Piedra Escondida for some days of relax.

  • Liked — lovely and absolutly peaceful location/restaurant
  • Disliked — the sea. there where high waves and it was dangerous to went in the water.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marcobronzolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#26 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Property: Piedra Escondida
Address: Carretera Tulum Ruinas-Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing