We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise”
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piedra Escondida
Ranked #21 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I'm an illustrator and designer and I'm pretty picky about esthetics and sensory experiences. I usually find something to complain about. But I only have raves for the Piedra Escondida. The room, the service, the location—all of it, was pure pleasure, pure paradise.

(Okay, one thing—the dove on our thatched roof DID get up kind of early and started with the COOOING.)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 628 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived to Piedra Escondida late at night, hungry and tired. We could not have felt more welcomed! We were showed to our beautiful room and headed us in the direction of food.Very close to food and activities. We woke to the most beautiful sunrise and waves crashing outside our window! WOW! Breakfast was substantial and delicious and served with a smile. The staff was always friendly and very helpful.
Our room was comfortable and very clean as was the bathroom. Fresh water supplied everyday.
Each room has it's own outdoor area that overlooks the private beach. The beach is small but a real treat to have outside your room. Great for relaxing in the sun or under a palapa with a pina colada. Star gazing at night is a must, we even saw a shooting star!!! We feel so lucky to have found such a special place! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We discovered Piedra Escondida last year during a walk down Tulum Beach. After seeing the private beach and secluded cove, we vowed to come back and stay. The palapas on the beach did not disappoint. The staff was very
friendly and the food was fresh & tasty. On some parts of Tulum, there is no electricity after dark. Here we got free wifi & electricity all night. There was also excellent live music in the restaurant at night. We enjoyed our stay @ will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SrCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We come here quite often, and every time I immediately feel so relaxed and welcome. The water is the color that swimming pools are designed after, and the sand is so soft and fine, like baby powder. The hotel is quaint, charming and quiet, with only 8 or so rooms, all situated on a private beach cove. This is the place dreams are made of and screen savers flash photos of...but no one knows where it is...now you do. It's Pedra Escodida. We will be back...it's our "Happy Place"! Thank you Peidra Escondita for such happy memories! We will be back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank offthewallbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aministracion, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Piedra Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear offthe wallbelize
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again, that means we are able to maintain the quality during the years and it is not easy. We hope to welcome you back to our beach next time you visit Tulum!
And now a statistical curiosity: when we receive a bad or very bad reviews, very few fortunately, these always come from people on their first or second review, the senior reviewer or senior contributor rewards us with excellent reviews.

An argument for statisticians.!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely setting. Experience not the best. Maybe a one or two night stay is ok. We were there for nine nights and did not see the welcoming atmosphere others are citing. The night manager was exceedingly rude. We did not have hot water and air conditioning. The staff with the exception of just two women, was arrogant and dismissive. This little hotel could be an amazing gem with a few upgrades to customer service. If you love to party, the live music from across the street will be a benefit for you...

Room Tip: choose a room on the lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aministracion, Propietario at Piedra Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Mia W, we are very disappointed your holiday was not as expected, we wish to apologize and, in the meantime, advise all the customers that if they notice something wrong please speak out and let us know what is wrong, the owners are present every day and ready to help whenever they can.
Concerning the hot water may be it could have been absent a couple of hours, sometimes in winter time after several consecutive showers the water cools down and need a couple of hours to warm up again, as regards A/C all clients are informed through our web site that it is available at night and precisely from 7 pm till 01am in this period of the year.
Please again: Don’t wait, let us know what’s happening, we are always there to resolve eventual problems to help you enjoy your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have stayed now twice at Piedra Escondida for a week during Thanksgiving and have loved it both times. The staff is lovely, the food is great, the setting beautiful with a million stars in the night sky. We missed only by a few days the baby turtle invasion noted here in the reviews, as baby turtles mistook the restaurant lights for the full moon on the hotel's secluded cove. The location is ideal - right on the beach, close to renting bikes and a mini supermarket, near several other good restaurants, if, like us, you are staying more than a night or two and want some variety. We don't find the road noisy at all, especially at night, but then again, we are New Yorkers. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms along the road. We could hear the generator across the street now and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryRobert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aministracion, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Piedra Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Mary Robert 007
Thank you for your kind review. You described perfectly well the location of Piedra that allows you to easily take advantage of other services in our neighborhood; but most of all we are happy that soundproof windows almost completely nullify any noise from the road. Thanks for your suggestion, based on which, we have modified the time of A/C supply changing it from 7 pm until 01 am because in the depths of the night, with no sun or wind, sometimes the generator can be heard.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We (2 adults & 1 11-year old) stayed at Piedra Escondida for 7 nights over Christmas 2013. We had never been to Mexico prior to this trip. We wanted a relaxing, beach-type holiday with minimal crowds away from the bustling resorts. Another deciding factor was that the location had to be close to recreational scuba diving areas. After deciding upon Tulum as the ideal place we selected the Piedra Escondida hotel based upon the TripAdvisor reviews, that it only had 10 rooms, and that it had a private beach.

Not having been to Mexico before we were not sure what to expect in terms of the hotel. We were not disappointed! We were warmly greeted and even though we arrived well before the check-in time the staff got our room ready within 30 minutes of our arrival and we were able to go into our room. That was really nice considering we were exhausted from the travel we had gone through to get there.

We had a room on the ground floor with two double beds that was exceptionally clean and was maintained that way throughout our stay. Rebecca (one of the cleaning staff) would create amazing animal art out of our daily fresh towels (elephants, dogs, swans, a family of three). That was a nice touch. The room had a small sink area, toilet, and standup shower. We had to get used to the fact that toilet paper was not to be flushed and rather placed in the garbage can. Each room had a small porch with a couple of patio chairs and a hammock. Stepping outside the room you were directly on the soft sand with the beach literally steps away from your door. The beach sand was brushed every morning and cleared of any debris or litter. Beach lounge chairs were available and you could get beach towels from the reception desk. The Caribbean water was warm and shallow enough to get out quite a ways from the shore. My son and I thoroughly enjoyed riding the waves there.

Breakfast was included with our room and it was very good. Coffee or tea, orange juice, and your selection of pancakes, fresh fruit with yogurt & granola, eggs any style, or continental selection of toast and croissants. We did have the opportunity to dine at the restaurant for lunch and dinner and again the food was good. However we found a better selection of meals in town and that is where we mostly dined. A few nights while we were there a live jazz band was playing in the restaurant/bar. They were pretty good and it made for a nice backdrop while sitting on the porch drinking cold beers.

What made Piedra Escondida a place that we would return to is the staff. All of them were very friendly and extremely helpful - whether it was getting directions, learning phrases in Spanish, sites to visit, or finding places in town for specific items we wanted to purchase.

Thank you for making this a great first (and definitely not last) visit to Mexico!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Amyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aministracion, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Piedra Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Amyn and Family ,
Thank you very much for your comments.
“Piedra Escondida” staff, welcomes your compliments.
We are happy to have been part of your first vacation to Mexico.
We hope it has been possible for you to find the Mexican soccer team jersey.
From this moment you can now find on our website , rates for the next Christmas.
Waiting to see you back here with your family , we send you our greetings .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
923 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
#8 of 101 in Tulum
838 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#32 of 101 in Tulum
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 101 in Tulum
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Address: Carretera Tulum Ruinas-Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $174 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing