We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piedra Escondita is still a great place”
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Piedra Escondida
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just spent 7 nights at Piedra Escondita on Tulum beach---I think our 4th stay in as many years, and it was wonderful. Some of the restaurants along the beach have changed in the past years, but there's still plenty of places to dine without having a car. We've been going to either Tulum or near Playa Del Carmen twice a year for several years now, and we plan to stay at Piedra Escondita again next fall. The only downside of the area now (not just this hotel)for me compared to years ago is the presence of more biting sand fleas and mosquitoes---take plenty of DEET bug juice and apply liberally, especially at night

Room Tip: If you look at the room pictures on their website, rooms 1,2,3 and 4 are upstairs rooms, smaller tha...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radioranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Piedra Escondida
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 591 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Piedra Escondida in the first week of November and had a really lovely experience. The location is great -- the private beach is beautiful. It was never busy and there were always chairs and umbrellas available -- we felt we had our own private bit of paradise. It's also one of the closer hotels in the zone to the pueblo, which made getting around relatively easy (we rented a car). The rooms are very clean -- yes, you will track sand in throughout the day, but the rooms are cleaned every day and it never gets gross. We found that it's nearly impossible to have a bad meal in Tulum, and the food at Piedra Escondida was no exception. The breakfast options were good, the food was fresh and well-prepared -- make sure you try the Mayan Margarita. The service was wonderful -- the waitstaff did everything they could to make us comfortable. We watched a few encounters between the staff and some more demanding guests ("do you have cheese?" "what kind of cheese would you like?" "I don't know, just some cheese.") and were always amazed by the patience and forbearance that they were treated with. Graciela, the manager, was helpful and welcoming. The hotel also attracts a diverse clientele -- we're in our mid-30s, and during our stay saw older couples, families with young children and with teenagers, and 20-somethings -- there was also a nice mix of Latin American, Europeans and Americans.

We made the rookie mistake of not confirming our reservations (made through the hotel's website) via email or a phone call. When we arrived at 4 pm, there was a little confusion about the room we would be staying in (the manager was gone for the day), which was quickly cleared up, but it probably could have been avoided if we had confirmed. We ended up staying the room above the kitchen, which we were a little leery of, but it ended up being completely fine. The noise form the kitchen and the dining room was pretty much non-existent, and there are no other rooms around you, so no noise from other guests. The room's one negative is that there's no balcony or porch, so you have trot down some stairs to be outside -- not a huge deal.

All in all, a great stay -- they consistently went beyond our expectations -- thank you Piedra Escondida!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We loved our 3 nights at Piedra Escondida! We had a second story room with a beautiful view. The setting was so amazing we couldn't tear ourselves from the beach or our ocean front balcony until well after the sun went down. Then we hopped in the shower and to Tulum pueblo for dinner each night. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with nice breezes and a floor fan to help. The bed had mosquito netting but we didn't need it. Nice little bathroom, and yes, the water has salinity but we never felt sticky or like we weren't getting clean. The beach is small with powdery white sand and has nice water access. It feels very private and the lounge chairs, umbrellas and towels included make it very comfortable. I had read complaints about the "included" breakfasts. You get to choose from 4 items and they all include juice and coffee. Yes, basic, but there are also other items on the menu to order and pay for. The hotel is on the quieter end of the beach strip, and closer to the pueblo. There is a little convenience store across the road and a couple of big markets 40 peso taxi ride. The hotel provides plenty of drinking water. Graciela in the front office was lovely and very helpful. The only negative comment I have is that we did not ever use the restaurant for lunch, dinner or drinks because the "restaurant manager" gentleman was aloof and we never really felt comfortable in that setting. My husband speaks fluent spanish which seemed to annoy him. Everywhere else we felt welcome, comfortable and very much at home. There was a mix of families and couples staying during our visit, and everyone co-existed quite harmoniously.

Room Tip: 2 of the four 2-story buildings with the premium second story rooms back up to the main road. If yo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaileaGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friend and I just returned from three days at Piedra Escondida and had an amazing time. We arrived around 10pm on a Wednesday night and even though the kitchen was closing they kindly insisted that it was not a problem at all and prepared us a beautiful meal and delicious margaritas. The quality of food and ingredients was again repeated the next morning at breakfast which is included in the price of the room. There were many delicious options like pancakes, yogurt and granola, and a lovely fruit platter with melons and ripe tropical treats such as mango and papaya. Much to my delight there were also savory options such as Huevos rancheros, enchiladas verdes and chiilaquiles (my fave). The coffee was phenomenal and refilled often and the juice was fresh squeezed. Can you tell I enjoyed the breakfast?

Our room was spacious, clean and fresh. The bed was comfortable and the blankets were changed daily (nice touch since hotel blankets usually gross me out). I really enjoyed the fact that the rooms were located right on the beach. I could walk from my bed to the ocean in less than a minute. The beach was clean, quiet and never crowded so there is always an available chaise or hammock.
Location of Piedra Escondida is pretty fabulous. Located right across from a little market (with the only ATM's on the beach I might add) stalls selling local goods and a bicycle rental shop which is very convenient. There is also a little restaurant across the way where the owners, ambiance and food was all top notch. Another nice advantage to the location is that it is super cheap to take a taxi to the Pueblo ($45 pesos).
Everybody that we encountered in Tulum treated us with such kindness and familiarity that I felt like I have been vacationing here since birth. It is a truly special place and the Piedra Escondida is sure to make it more so. Just tell Eduardo that Margarita sent you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nycchefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from an exceptional experience here - great ambiance and service from a fantastic staff, a beautiful space to stay all around. Without doubt we had the best room in the hotel (for a ridiculously reasonable off-season rate) so our home base for a week was off the charts. Samuel, Graciela and Eduardo were extremely accommodating and even jumped in to help us book a day trip through the nearby Sian Ka'an Biosphere. Their kitchen turns out reliably good food (just ask the iguanas who saunter in for breakfast), and we had the best margaritas of our trip from the bar! Location is convenient for walking to restaurants, scuba shops and the mini-super for that biodegradable sunscreen you didn't know you needed for the Ecoparks. The endless view of the Caribbean from our balcony exceeded our expectations, and after a long day it was a treat to return to our room to relax. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: #4 - only room with a second floor balcony. Open balcony door, lay down on bed and look out at the s...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited this hotel whilst traveling around the Tulum area one morning. Stopped off for a drink and to enjoy the fantastic location.

We had a look around one of the 1st floor king size rooms which looked very comfortable and the view was to die for. Facilities appear more rustic than the big impersonal hotels that tend to dominate the Riveria Maya area but a more personal service is evident with an exclusive beachfront location. Only 9 rooms so no noisy crowds

Would definitely like to go back for a stay next year

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bizzmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here with my aunt on my first trip to Mexico. It was a wonderful place. Our room was comfortable with large beds and always clean. The beach is sheltered by two big rocks on either side so it was nice and private. A lovely place to lie out and relax. It was a little hard to navigate around the rocks once in the water but once we got out deep enough to swim it was great! One of the best parts of this place is the location. Apart from the amazing beach it is at the beginning of the "resort road" along the coast. So there were a lot of cute touristy shops and great bars and restaurants just a few minutes away. The resorts further down the road didn't have as much great access to this many things. There was even a little general store that was perfect for snacks or items we forgot to bring. All of the employees were friendly and the concierge Eddie was a great host! We also discovered that there was a sun shade above the window that we rolled down to keep the sun out. It really helped keep our room cooler! It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dakota M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aministracion, Manager at Piedra Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#21 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 98 in Tulum
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#40 of 98 in Tulum
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 98 in Tulum
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Address: Carretera Tulum Ruinas-Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $152 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing