We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Piedra Escondida
Nearby Hotels
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$550
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Del Sol(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$250
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$609
$340
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Yum Kin(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$107
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacha Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$65
$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Luna del Sur(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Uolis Nah(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$184
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveler rating
410
178
33
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
178
33
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbreakfast was includedother hotelssalt watermain buildingtulum ruinsitalian foodsea breezesmall hotelconvenience storeperfect place to stayeach morninghotel guestssound of the waveslot of seaweedhotel restaurantlounge chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 643 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The view from my room alone was worth the trip. Being that close to the ocean on a quiet private beach - it was hard to leave. After reading about a number of options near Tulum, I chose Piedra Escondida as a base to explore the Mayan Ruins and to visit the Eco Reserve. Tulum Pueblo is an easy bike ride from the hotel. Coming home to relax at the end of the evening was as much a highlight of my days as visiting the sites. I can't say enough about the the staff (Katerina, especially, was really helpful) and the restaurant is a pleasant option.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at Piedra Escondida for a whole week in June, at the end of our 3-week road trip through Mexico. We were very lucky to find it... perfect for relaxing by the beach (a small bay, only for hotel guests) and a good starting point for trips in the area. Rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated. Try to get the one room with a balcony overlooking the sea!
Breakfast (included) is really nice, you can choose between 4 different options. It's a great way to start the day...outside on the terrace overlooking the sea! They also offer nice dinners there (cooking whole fish) but we never tried it out. (By the way - there are also many food options across the street.)
Everbody of the staff is extremely friendly...the waiters, the cleaning ladies, the nice (orignal German) lady at the reception. She helped us with tips and was always available for questions. It really felt like an individual stay, not like at these big faceless hotels.
We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah13Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 for part of our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect! They staff are amazing, we especially enjoyed having breakfast here every morning that was always delicious. Rene was also a tremendous help in assisting us in planning our trip and just an overall awesome person. He was a big help especially when we were unprepared to deal with the rainy days. Very nice, helpful guy.The rooms were super clean, roomy and adorable. We stayed on the 2nd floor closest to the water, it had an amazing view and the perfect breeze.

We found the best values and tastiest authentic food in downtown Tulum. We ate at one of the restaurants a few business down from here and were not pleased when we were automatically charged an $8 dollar tip for service that was definitely not worth that much of a tip. Money was much better spent supporting the business owned by Tulum locals/families.

Tulum is a very peaceful, calm and relaxing little town that was located in perfectly for our vacation. It was right between Chichenitza, Valladolid, Xcaret and Playa Del Carmen. Perfect if your looking for an alternative location that is not overcrowded and over priced like much of Cancun is.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTrujillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

After staying at Piedra Escondida last year for an all too brief night/day, we returned this year to get married here! Our two families and best friends booked all nine rooms for four days (some of us had arrived earlier and stayed for a whole week), and from start to finish the trip, and especially our wedding day, was nothing short of perfect. The staff at Piedra are amazing - Katrin doubled up as wedding coordinator and made sure that everything went smoothly, from arranging our beautiful Mayan ceremony with Charlie and Maria, the musicians, flowers, cake and, last but not least, the most delicious wedding fare (we opted for a casual BBQ, which was an absolute hit with everyone). Eduardo was an absolute star, not only doing a stellar job on the bar and in the restaurant, but entertaining the ladies with his charm while ensuring that everything was going to plan. On the day of the wedding, we were amazed and grateful to see that every single member of staff at Piedra pitched in to help make our special day unforgettable. The maintenance men helped put up lights and garlands, cleaned the beach of seaweed right before the ceremony and even built a contraption for us to hang a pinata (a last minute addition). The housekeepers stayed long after the end of their shift to help put together paper bags with candles that were later strewn all over the beach and made an extra effort to decorate our room. I could go on and on about what an amazing day and week we had, but to summarize: we can't imagine having had a more perfect wedding day and it's in large part due to the brilliant staff at Piedra and the hotel's stunning and intimate setting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJHogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I recently returned from a fantastic first time trip to Tulum having stayed at Piedra Escondida. The hotel itself is really great, from the moment we checked in at the desk and were greeted by friendly staff I knew we'd made the right choice staying here.

The beach in front of the hotel is secluded and lovely. However, for 3 of the 4 days we were there it had a lot of seaweed in the water which entailed wading out beyond, not ideal for everyone, but we didn't mind.

The room was very nice, I think we had room #8, the room nearest the beach on the ground floor. Our window looked out on the ocean and our patio had a great hammock for lounging. Room cleaning each day were fantastic and always had the room looking like new after our sandy feet. The shower is a salt water shower, again, I didn't mind, but I know some people do.

The location of the hotel I found to be great, there is a small convenience store across the road, some great little bars and restaurants close by, a supermarket a small drive away and the town of Tulum is a $3 cab ride with cabs driving by the hotel all day and night.

Breakfast that is included in the room was probably the most disappointing part of the stay. You have a choice of 4 items from whats included in your room price, but none really were fantastic....but more than enough to keep you going through the day.

The staff here really were great, they couldn't do enough for you, and always wore a smile on their faces. There is parking for your car right across the street, the Mayan ruins are right up the road, and down the road you have access to the full stretch of beach adorned by many other small, boutique type hotels that are great to explore too.

I stayed here from May 18-22 and our weather was very mixed, always warm.....but very overcast most days, with quite a bit of rain, but when the sun did shine, it was glorious!

Mateo's restaurant across the street had some nice food and was good for a drink in the evening, plus the little bar literally beside it. In town I would recommend El Asadero, fantastic owner, great meats and tacos....and all for a fantastic price. El Camelo too is wonderful, as is Los Aguichilles (spelling!?).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GerMcManus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews