We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Peaceful!”
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Piedra Escondida
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Lovely and Peaceful!”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here briefly from June 12-14 (in room #3), but I wish it could have been longer! We had just been at an all inclusive resort in Playacar with 70 other people for a wedding, and this was the perfect way to wind down our vacation.

Piedra Escondida has its own private beach and the setting is both very beautiful and peaceful. The one down fall was it seemed like all hotel guests had the annoying habit of reserving a lounger with their towel for the entire day, whether they were using it or not.

The staff at the hotel were very hospitable, particularly Geronimo, who served us breakfast in the morning.

The room was lovely... exactly what I was expecting. There is no air conditioning (and we were there during the hottest/muggiest month) so the room was quite hot. But they did provide us with an oscilating floor fan, which helped quite a bit.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, particulary couples looking for a little R & R!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stripes027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    169
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
121
325
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kingston,ma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I spent a week here in February and enjoyed the hotel and the Tulum area in general. Unlike many of the area beachfront lodging options this place is kept in excellent condition. It is well staffed and the staff is wonderful (which is important in a place like this that has a B&B feel to it). All of our interactions with Marco (restaurant mgr.)and Katherine (hotel mgr.) were very pleasant. Breakfast was delicious and also plentiful to the point where we skipped lunch most days. We dined at the hotel restaurant several times and on the occasions when we didn’t we never found a restaurant that matched the food /value/atmosphere of Piedra Escondida. We did have the occasional brief power/water/bug issues, but, ironically, I would have to say that they added to the charm of the place more than anything else. Well, except maybe the bugs (mostly mosquitoes). When we had a brief power outage one evening the restaurant manger came up and put a half dozen candles in our room and said looks like you are going to have a "muy romantico" evening). We loved the private feel of the beach and spent a lot of time enjoying the shade from the palapas. We stayed in two different rooms - a few nights in the building closer to the road (a bit noisy in the am but great breeze) and a few nights in the second floor room closest to the ocean (all you hear here is the crashing surf!). Couple small negatives - the beds are very firm (I wish they offered a pillow top cover....even for a fee would be ok) and the safe is too small for a standard size laptop (not that we ever had an issue but it would nice if they were a bit larger).
I would return to Piedra Escondida without a second thought (Although judging by the infrastructure improvements in the Tulum area I hope I get back there more sooner than later - the area is poised for massive growth).
One last thing - we had an excellent transportation experience to and form the hotel with entertainment-plus (I think it was 150 USD plus tip round trip for a private vehicle - they employ uniformed professional drivers and use nice late model vans. You have to pay for both ways on your trip down to the hotel (which felt a little odd) - but it worked out great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmsoshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nijmegen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Great place to relax!. Private beach is the best! Great breakfast and lunch.
Cozy room, little bit cold because of the open character of the roof.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We pulled in here around sunset not having booked a hotel in Tulum for the night. We were offered a room on the beach for US$120 for 3 of us. The water in the shower smelt so bad 2 of our party refused to wash. The dinner at the restaurant was not great and pricey. We would recommend you find another place that is more invested in getting it right for those staying at their hotel. The whole experience left a bad feeling and we could not wait to find another place that had all we needed and much more for a smaller price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlayaVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely location on a private beach. The rooms were comfortable (although the bed was a little hard for our liking). Restaurants and bars nearby and very close to the ruins at Tulum. A super place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatecraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

If you're looking for a beach paradise, you've found it.

Quiet location, great service, impeccable view. There was nothing i enjoyed more than relaxing the hours away in their hammocks on beach. The check-in staff were very accommodating and nothing was a problem. Also the restaurant staff were super friendly especially Samuel and Eric.

We stayed in two of their rooms, number 4 (apparently the best room as it overlooks the ocean and is on the second level) and number 9 - above the bar/restaurant. We were concerned about the possible noise being above the bar as there was a flamenco night on but this was not an issue at all. In fact the room is HUGE and very comfortable. The number 4 room is just beautiful. The ocean breeze prevents it from being hot and there were no mosquitoes either (thankfully as i HATE mosquitoes) and the balcony is a perfect place to watch the sunrise if you happen to be awake for it!

Things to note:
-There's an in room safe
-Salt water in the taps and showers
-Parking available
-Wi-fi access in the hotel lobby only
-Printer and computer available in the lobby too
-There's an ATM across the road, but better to go to the bank in town
-There's a number or restaurants near the hotel (up and down the road) however prices are again better in town. Also we found ourselves walking quite a distance in the pitch dark on this main road, better to take a taxi to the restaurants and they're quite frequent too.

The photos simply don't do to justice at all it really is a piece of paradise. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Number 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherwoodbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldoboro, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My daughter and her fiance chose Piedra Escondida for their wedding, reception and vacation spot for all of their friends and family. They made a superb choice! We were there for 10 days and felt relaxed, safe and comfortable every minute. Our room included breakfast, which we always enjoyed on the deck overlooking the beautiful beach and rolling surf, though there is indoor seating. The other meals that we had there were also wonderful! The staff, from management to housekeeping and groundskeeping, did everything they could to make everyone's stay, as well as the wedding day, as special as it should have been.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 96 in Tulum
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Property: Piedra Escondida
Address: Carretera Tulum Ruinas-Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing