We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting”
Review of Zamas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zamas
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
Reviewed November 21, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at Zamas in March 2005 and I've been meaning to write a review to share our wonderful experience with other independent travelers. Zamas is quiet, the rooms are comfortable and well-kept, and the food is delicious (fresh fish, homemade salsa, fresh fruit). We ate at Que Fresco, the restaurant on site, for nearly every meal because it was so good. It is located right on the beach and you dine by candlelight with the sound of the ocean nearby. A couple of nights a week they have a Mexican band and people dance on the beach. The staff is friendly and fellow travelers are laid back and respectful of the tranquil place that is Zamas. If you need a true escape with no modern distractions, Zamas is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajera725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    171
    48
    37
    25
See reviews for
97
221
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2005

We stayed at Zamas in Oct 2005 and enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, the price was affordable (compared to the other options on the beach), and the food at the restaurant was as good as you are going to find in Tulum. The small beach in front of the hotel is excellent. It is important to note that the roofs at the beach cabanas are made of hay, so it was not suitable for one of us who has allergies. That is why we opted for a room across the road from the beach. We found it to be just as nice as the cabanas (and the room was huge!) Also, Zamas is somewhat down the road from the town and we found that the travellers with cars were probably at an advantage (we had to pay $3 one way for every time we went to town by taxi.)

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

We recently stayed at Zamas from October 12th to the 14th. After having stayed at Cabanas Copal a few months ago, Zamas was quite different! The cabanas were colorfully decorated and clean! Even the towels were brightly colored. The showers were gorgeous, with their multi-colored tiles. Our porch had two hammocks, and a big friendly cat visited us! The restaurant food was great, especially the pizza. Having come from Merida, where I can´t seem to find a decent meal, this was great. In fact, we ate at the restaurant both nights. The service was friendly, as well. The room had electricity and a fan. There was a huge jug of purified water in the bathroom. What more could you ask for? On that note, here are a few places for improvement. I understand that Zamas is an eco-friendly hotel, but after two days, our towels were not replinished. Normally, this would be OK, but they were quite damp. Also, the soap was not replaced. We seemed to go through the little bars quickly, but I had an extra one with me. The shower did not exactly provide hot water. By the end of our stay, there was no hot water at all, but perhaps this is due to the solar power. Most likely, you will have dry towels (and I realize I could have asked for some) and warm water, and if you are going to stay in the Tulum area, stay at Zamas.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank DeobrahX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2005

Our room at Zamas was lovely with a great roof terrace with hammocks and views. The cabanas did seem to vary quite a lot but we have no complaints except that it was warm and we couldn't quite get the mosquito net sorted out.

Restaurant service could be slow at times but it was a lovely place to be and unless you were in a rush very relaxing. Food was excellent. There were rocks on the beach but it was quite easy to find a way into the water without any need for beach shoes. Plenty of chairs etc on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fred bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2005

As an very well seasoned traveller I have to say that Zamas is one of the best places that I have rested my head in. It is not uber luxurious, nor does it have the best beach- but the atmosphere, charming staff, great food and funky decor more than make up for this.

Our room was situated across the road (20 metres) from the beach, although you can stay in cabanas directly on the beach, and was huge and beautifully decorated in traditional Mexican style. Ditto for the bathroom which had a great salt water shower, very eco friendly. We also had a vast veranda with 2 hammocks, plenty of geckos and the odd iguana.

The beach is nestled in a small cove, and although it is quite rocky there are plenty of sandy sections where I spent many a happy hour paddling. For snorkelling fans there is a shipwreck 50 metres off shore which is rich in marine-life. The gorgeous staff will bring drinks and food to your sunlounger, or you can eat in the restaurant over-looking the beach. It is especially lovely to watch the pink sunsets in this spot, sitting on one of the multi-coloured chairs and sipping a beer. Otherwise the food ranges from burritos to woodfired pizza which is so good.

Zamas is the place to go to really chill out, no tv's, radios, internet but there is a little library from which guests are welcome to borrow books/ boardgames, a shop from which to by local handicrafts, and the staff are happy to sit down and chat about local events (or just about anything).

All in all, this place comes highly recommended, I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank elisheva100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 14, 2005

We were in Tulum for seven days and made it a point to have meals in some of the more notable restaurants. Zamas had great reviews and was high on our list. No one can take away the beauty of the location. The candle light and view of the ocean is capturing. The food and service on the other hand is just ok. The food is by far unique. There is nothing that is memorable. The service, while prompt is indifferent. But judge for yourself. I would rather eat in town much more variety and affordable.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

We've traveled extensively to beaches in Mexico, Provence, and Spain, and Zamas is the best experience we've ever had. We've returned several times since our original stay in April '03, and it's consistently the warmest, most magical, and best vacation value we've found. We had our wedding reception on the beach there, catered from the restaurant, in Dec 03, and our 35 guests were uniformly awed & enchanted. The food is simply the best on the Mexican Caribbean (as routinely said in many reviews). The service has always been attentive & warm (without being cloying), even when the place is hopping. We don't require (or expect) service on the beach --- and don't mind signalling the waiters when in the restaurant, who come as quickly as is reasonable and are always friendly and responsive in our experience (try speaking to them about something other than your order & asking their names...). The beach is rocky, but regulars quickly locate the smooth sandy part a few yards down from the restaurant --- and water shoes make it completely swimmable. We've stayed in both Rm 10 & Rm 20 --- 10 is perfect, 2nd floor vus of the sea, wraparound veranda, fabulous huge circular tiled shower w/both ocean & jungle vus, if you leave the bathroom door open (no one's going to see you other than your mate). Rm 20 is simply paradise... huge, set in a private garden w/multiple verandas. The road is no problem.

I'm not shilling for Zamas... I came onto this site looking for some post-hurricane Emily info about our favorite place, saw some older negative postings, and had to respond. If you want air conditioning, bright in-room lighting (literally), TV/in-room phones/internet, & hordes of obsequiously attentive (but secretly contemptuous --- speak Spanish to them at other resorts & you'll find out) staff, then no, Zamas isn't for you. But if you want authentic & artful (literally), rustic luxury & care, you can't do better than Zamas.

I just hope they rode out the storm reasonably well.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank crsNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 96 in Tulum
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#15 of 96 in Tulum
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#72 of 96 in Tulum
216 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
500 reviews
2.4 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 96 in Tulum
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamas

Property: Zamas
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 5 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zamas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZAMAS is a boutique beach hotel situated on a strip of the Caribbean coast in Tulum. Inviting accommodations reflect a locally-inspired, organic architecture. Thatch roofs, stucco walls in beach-worn hues, and vibrant decor exude tropical warmth. Since it opened in December 1993 ZAMAS, with its hip beachfront style, has enjoyed an eclectic and international clientele of honeymooners, fashion professionals, artists, families, techies, and everyone in between. It is a quintessential hangout, mixing colorful urban roots with laid back local vibes and jungle ambience. Come experience the Tulum we know- delightfully laid back and naturally beautiful. Welcome to ZAMAS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Zamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamas Hotel Tulum
Zamas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing