We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zamas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zamas
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been coming to Zamas for over 15 years. It is better than ever. The small changes have added to the rustic elegance. There are many small hotels on the Tulum beach, but none have the special vibe of Zamas. There is nothing better than waking up and going to sleep to the sounds of the waves crashing on the rocks, and then listening to the sounds of the great live music in evening. We ate most of our meals in the restaurant, because Zamas has the best restaurant in the area. We are still dreaming of the fresh fish and margaritas...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    162
    48
    37
    24
See reviews for
88
211
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a week in Tulum and were very pleased with our stay at Zamas. We have no complaints. Cute and clean cabana (comfy beds), great food, music, amazing beach and the staff were so nice. The location is great too. Easy to walk or bike around the area. Zamas exceeded our expectations and we will stay there again when we go back.
I miss it already!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The charming cabanas with mosquito netting over the beds, the aquamarine Caribbean, waves crashing, sun shining, private beach--a most delightful off-the-beaten-path find. I found the food a bit expensive, but delicious and fresh. Live music Thursday through Sunday evenings is a special treat. The nights I was there featured various combinations of a drummer from Spain, a singer from Brazil, a violinist from Serbia, and a classical guitarist from Mexico City. First rate. Roger, the concierge, always smiling, always helpful. Deep relaxation. I will return, at least in my dreams. --Linda Hunter, Des Moines, Iowa

Room Tip: Cabanas behind the restaurant are quiet. Jungle rooms in the treetops are great for large groups. At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We've spent great time on our engagement trip at Zamas, cabana was very private and very clean. We had a great view. I can recomend this romantic place to people in love. Service was very helpfull and they gave us good tips regarding sightseeing.
Best regards
Witek
For people from Poland, if you have any questions don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WitekNowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Everything was amazing. The room was super clean. The beds were comfortable. The food is great and the margaritas as well. The staff is amazing and they just make you feel at home. I'd go back in a minute if i could.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank brenn_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZAMASHotel, General Manager at Zamas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your delightful comments and enthusiasm about ZAMAS. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we made you feel at home. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Saludos de ZAMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you're looking for high-rise, air conditioned luxury, stop reading now. But if your idea of a good time is kicking back on the beach, an occasional swim, good food and great margaritas, read on. My wife and I went to Zamas in January looking for warmth and relaxation, and that's what we found. We had a large cabana on the beach steps from the water, and the sound of the surf put us to sleep at night. It had no air conditioning but we didn't need it, and only when the wind dropped did we need the mosquito netting. Zamas' open-air restaurant, with WiFi, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, fresh local fish one of the main offerings, and we didn't have any bad meals. We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the live music that's offered four nights out of seven was amazing. If you haven't heard Camilo Nu play the guitar, that alone is almost worth the trip. True, the swimming beach is small with a few rocks. There was seaweed in the water when we were there, but there was always room to swim. And it's easy to track sand into your room, but we bought a bucket and filled it up with water to take care of that. These small imperfections somehow made Zamas even more special, a kind of anti-luxury luxury that will lure us back again.

Room Tip: The beachfront cabanas have the best views and ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The beach was gorgeous - other reviews mention a rocky area to the north, but the south end is perfect and the rocks help to make the beach more private, which we liked. Our room (large beachfront cabana) was rustic, but equipped with electricity, a huge bathroom, filtered water cooler, comfy/clean bed with mosquito net, and a safe. The hammocks on the patio were heavenly and the lounge chairs on the beach were super comfortable and readily available. We could hear the music from the restaurant from our room in the evenings, but it was always done by 10:00 pm and never anything too loud or offensive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, too - loved the yogurt/granola/fruit bowl and the french toast!

Room Tip: The road was right behind the cabana, so we did hear noise in the morning but usually the sound of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljt1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZAMASHotel, General Manager at Zamas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay -- we're thrilled that you liked the beach, the beach chairs, your room and especially the breakfast!!!! And we’re delighted to hear that our staff was attentive to your needs and friendly. Happy to hear that beach road did not bother you – in general, our guests are looking towards the sea and do not notice what is behind them! Thanks for coming to ZAMAS and we look forward to a return visit very soon. Saludos de ZAMAS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#19 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
6.7 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamas

Property: Zamas
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 5 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zamas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZAMAS is a boutique beach hotel situated on a strip of the Caribbean coast in Tulum. Inviting accommodations reflect a locally-inspired, organic architecture. Thatch roofs, stucco walls in beach-worn hues, and vibrant decor exude tropical warmth. Since it opened in December 1993 ZAMAS, with its hip beachfront style, has enjoyed an eclectic and international clientele of honeymooners, fashion professionals, artists, families, techies, and everyone in between. It is a quintessential hangout, mixing colorful urban roots with laid back local vibes and jungle ambience. The devoted clientele has spread the word and made ZAMAS one of the most popular spots in Tulum today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Zamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamas Hotel Tulum
Zamas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing