We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Zamas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zamas
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Came as a family of four. Could not go into the water with young kids because of the beach is rocky and far from being calm. Had to go other places to swim. Food is average and below and overpriced. Had to wait a long time, no matter when you came. Live bands were fun though. Room across a busy road unsafe for families to cross. Despite mosquito net I was bitten. room was clean, comfortable yet basic. For this price, I would go somewhere else.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 599 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel was beautiful and Roger, the concierge, could not have been more friendly or helpful. The hammocks beckon immediately upon entry, and the sound of the ocean waves crashing is very restful. Wifi is in the lobby and there are outlets in the rooms to recharge e books, etc. The hotel is in the center of the beach front, and an easy stroll from many restaurants. The ruins are an easy bike ride away. I went with two teens and there were a number of fun activities from which to choose.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emiliebecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Sometimes its the subtle things that cause one to think something special takes place at Zamas for there are dozens of beach front Cabanas to choose from. In this case, it is how the employees care for the establishment as well as their own role within the business, From the get-go, we were impressed by the folks at Zamas; they're clearly working from the position of pride. We loved our stay at Zamas. In fact, we highly recommend it. Specifics include: Room 12 was fantastic for it created a feel of having our own home on the sand. The lodgings across the street are simply outstanding. Also, our evenings were highlighted by excellent food and drinks at Que Fresca but it was the service provided by Carlos, our waiter and inspiration that stands out. He is an extraordinary person. All in all, we are most appreciative for our brief stay .

Room Tip: Room 12 worked wonders for us ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larue57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in mid-november, right between the rainy season and the start of high tourist season. We haggled a bit and got a great price on our cabana ($60 US/night) and ended up spending three amazing days in Tulum. Staying on the beach is tricky if you don't have wheels, but we rented a cheap scooter from the Bicycle Hostel and spent a couple days cruising around the Riviera Maya, snorkeling and eating fish tacos and lying around. Coming home to Zamas every night was such a treat -- good, reasonably cheap food in the restaurant (with one of the nicer beach views on the strip, plus an unbelievable baked fish special) and a super comfortable, cozy cabana with a big, open format bathroom and a really comfortable bed. The manager hooked us up with recommendations and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. Couldn't have had a better experience in Tulum.

Room Tip: Try to grab one of the Cabanas right on the beach if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkosak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Zamas could not have been better. I felt at home and welcomed since the moment I set foot at Zamas. The staff was friendly attentive and truly kind. First time I've left a hotel hugging every individual in the staff. The setting is beautiful. Right by the beach, a privileged site.

We got a big room as we were 4 in the group, and could not have felt more comfortable.

I would like to describe every little detail that I liked about Zamas, but would really rather keep it simple and convey a direct message: this place was perfect, I absolutely loved it, whether for a couples retreat, a group of friends or a family, I recommend the place 100%.

Room Tip: If traveling with your significant other, get a beach front cabana. If traveling with friends, get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tianvillaveces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Both the food at the restaurant and the ocean view cabana were excellent. And to top it off was the great and warm service from all the people working at Zamas. This made our stay unforgettable and we will most certainly come back here. Which is not something that we would normally do/say

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view rooms/cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noscreennamewanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

There is nothing to complain about! We were lucky enough to stumble upon Zamas when we got to Tulum and spent 5 perfect days 'hut style'. We had a gorgeous cabana right on the sand that was spotless, comfortable and ambient. Listening to the waves at night time and being able to walk outside and be under the stars was as close to perfect one can get.

The staff are amazingly helpful, friendly and efficient and they always have a smile on their face. Somehow they seem to make you feel that they have reached a state of nirvana that hopefully might rub off on you.

The food is fantastic and you can see a lot of effort has been put into perfecting each dish. The burger is mouthwatering and the shrimp with their own home baked ciabatta is exceptional.

The coco locos (a coconut full of alsorts of alcoholic madness!!) are to die for and you can walk across the sand from you hut and be holding one in a matter of minutes!

If Im lucky enough to ever be in Tulum again, I would go straight to Zamas. We had a very romantic and relaxed time at Zamas, it really was quite heavenly!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 99 in Tulum
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
6.7 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
2.3 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#12 of 99 in Tulum
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamas

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 5 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tulum
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $145 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zamas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZAMAS is a boutique beach hotel situated on a strip of the Caribbean coast in Tulum. Inviting accommodations reflect a locally-inspired, organic architecture. Thatch roofs, stucco walls in beach-worn hues, and vibrant decor exude tropical warmth. Since it opened in December 1993 ZAMAS, with its hip beachfront style, has enjoyed an eclectic and international clientele of honeymooners, fashion professionals, artists, families, techies, and everyone in between. It is a quintessential hangout, mixing colorful urban roots with laid back local vibes and jungle ambience. Come experience the Tulum we know- delightfully laid back and naturally beautiful. Welcome to ZAMAS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Zamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamas Hotel Tulum
Zamas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing