We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Place to Stay”
Review of Zamas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zamas
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Zamas for 3 nights before heading to a resort for a wedding. Zamas is very different than the resorts in the area. While resorts have great service, you are lost in the shuffle with hundreds of other guests. This is not the case at Zamas. At Zamas the staff remembers you, offers to assist you with anything you need, asks how you slept and if you are happy with your room. The food at Zamas was better than the food at the resort we stayed at. The area of Tulum is beautiful. The cabañas are quaint and fun.
A word to people that read these reviews and worry too much. You will be bit by mosquitos. It is not Zamas's fault. The area of Tulum has a ton of mosquitos so just bring really good repellant and be mindful. Also, there is seaweed on the beach. This is also not Zamas's fault. Every beach we visited was lined with seaweed, and the beach at the resort we visited had may more than Zamas.
Zamas is affordable, fun, eco-friendly and located in a great area. There are so many places to explore in the area that we could have stayed at another week or two and not been bored. If you don't want to explore you can always drink beer and tequila in the bar. Or if things turn out for you like they did for us, and there are thunder storms everyday, you can go buy candles next door, or borrow some from Zamas, and wait for the power to go out.
Our trip was fun and romantic and we can thank Zamas for that. Going to the all inclusive resort was a bummer and it ended up ruining our trip. If we would have stayed at Zamas the whole time we would have had a way better trip.
Thank you Erica, Jamie and the rest of the Zamas staff for the great accommodations and great food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark187_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZAMASHotel, Owner at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

We’re absolutely thrilled to have provided you with a “fun and romantic” vacation experience at ZAMAS. We're delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and most notably had time to get to know some of our staff. We truly believe that connections with the local area and staff help make a vacation experience unique and memorable - and it is also most gratifying for us to get to know you too! Please let us know if you are returning and we promise to make your stay extra special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Zamas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 585 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We just returned for a one week stay at Zamas Hotel in Tulum and we are already planning to go back in near vacations. The mixture of nature, rustic but cool architecture, delicious food and warm and caring service made of our stay the perfect combination to relax and enjoy Tulum. Everything is so colorful but at the same time in harmony with the colors of the sea and all the vegetation that surrounds which surround the cabins. We enjoyed watching how everything changed from the sunny morning striping down the palms, then the midday coloring the chairs and tables at the restaurant, and finally the sunset and the nights with live music and lights just a few steps from the sea.
It is always refreshing to come back after a day in the wild or visiting the ruins and be able to sit in front of a paradisiacal view with a well done cocktail (I recommend the Caipirinhas) and a delicious plate. Spicy gambas, various pizzas, the Dannyburger and the fish filet were our favorites. And in the breakfast the juice varieties are always the best way to start the day; they are as fresh as they can get, with local ingredients like chaya and even a hint of habanero chili. "Huevos Rancheros" are amazing and full of energy for a demanding day or ask for toast with the surprising pineapple marmalade. Food has always been important in our trips and this time we enjoyed it there at the hotel with no need to struggle looking for hidden restaurants.
The staff was always friendly and ready to help. Erica at the front desk gave us special tips before planning our days and was really kind with us. Mara, the Manager, made of our stay a good reason for us to go back. She is open to talk and make your stay the best. She showed us around and we got to see some other cabins and they are all different and shape according to the landscape. She explained us how they treat water at Zamas to be able to reuse it for hosing, the solar and eolic system for reducing energy consumption and the organic products they use for cleaning and in bathrooms.

Room Tip: Well, of course the rooms on the beach are the best. But if you travel with more than 3 or 4 persons...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZAMASHotel, Owner at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for the lovely comments about your stay with us. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay and delighted that you appreciated the unique ambiance that is ZAMAS. “The mixture of nature, rustic but cool architecture, delicious food and warm and caring service,” is what we strive to achieve and we are very pleased that to hear these words from you! We would be delighted for you to return; if you plan to, please let us know so that we may offer you a special thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I first stayed at Zamas in April 2011 and have since returned twice. What brings me back is the low-key vibe, the engaging employees, and the tasty, reasonably priced restaurant. In fact, I'm reluctant to write a review at all because I fear that more traffic will bring change to a resort that uniquely combines a beautiful location on the Caribbean Sea with the exotic feel of the Yucatan. And it's pretty amazing, given room rates at more resorts, that you can stay in a beach front casita for about $150 a night. Even though Tulum is definitely on the radar screen these days, it still remains compelling with its wide sandy beaches, close proximity to the Sian Ka'an biosphere and authentic feel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We recently got married in Tulum and stayed at Zamas for a few days, and so did most of our friends! It was an excellent experience and we loved every moment of it!

The beach at Zamas is not as 'friendly' as other beaches in Tulum, as there are quite a lot of rocks but you can still swim and it is a beautiful and romantic place to hang out with family, partners and friends...it offers a lot of privacy and quietness, far more relaxed than the crazyness and buzz of Playa del Carmen and Cancún.

One donwnside of the hotel is the fact that it doesn't offer any breakfast included in the cost of the rooms, at least juice and toast or fruit would be appreciated since the prices are quite high :) the food in the restaurant is a bit expensive, which makes it unaffordable to eat there everyday, but the quality is excellent and I heard excellent reviews from our guests!

The restaurant is actually one of my favourite parts in the hotel, the colours, the vibe, the beautiful landscape! and this is where we ended up most of the time, chatting to friends and catching up :D

Apart from that, the hotel is GORGEOUS! I am the kind of person that will never carry a hair straightner or hair dryer in my luggage, who can't really sleep with AC on and who loves the eco-friendliness that cabañas offer, so this was heaven for me! :D

But what we actually enjoyed the most was the great service of Zamas' friendly staff. Mara, the manager was there for us all the way, helping us make our guests feel like home, and hosting a beautiful welcome cocktail!

Thanks so much guys for your help and support those days, we had an amazing time and we hope to be back soon!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcedeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Zamas announce itself as eco-friendly, but that comes at the expense of consumers comfort.

The lights in the room are few and very dim, so taking a shower or getting ready after sunset is difficult. You cannot connect a straightening iron to the outlet, but you can charge your cell or lap top. No ac available.

The cabañas at the beach are the best in the hotel. If you want to stay at Zamas, you should definitely pay the extra money to stay at the “beachfront rooms". These rooms have a nice front porch with hamacas and are a few steps away from the sea. I actually don’t think is worth staying in the “garden” rooms, because you have to cross street to get to the beach/restaurant/front desk.

The beach is private and beautiful, perfect to relax! But there are a lot of algae and rocks in the sea, so you have to be careful when you swim. It is also really close to the street, so at nights, noise and cars light are a little annoying.

Staff is very nice, even if service is slow, and the restaurant offers delicious food, but it’s expensive so it’s not practical to plan to eat all your meals there.

One more thing, their booking system is awful: you have to pay in cash and (several months) in advance the total cost of your staying. I had to make a special request so they could let my pay with my credit card!

Room Tip: Beachfron rooms are the best, particullarly 7 & 8.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Everab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Hola Everab,
Thank you for sharing your ZAMAS experience. We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay overall but sorry we did not meet all of your expectations.
We continually strive to give excellent service and appreciate the feedback. We’re delighted that you liked the room, the food and our staff but sorry to hear that you thought service was slow. We'll address this in staff meetings to improve our response-to-guest time. As you mentioned, we are an eco-hotel and are committed to our solar/wind power system. This does put some limitations on the use of electrical appliances. Based upon your feedback, we’ll take a look at increasing the light wattage in the rooms.
In terms of payment, we now accept credit cards or Paypal for reservations. The information on our website is outdated and we are in the process of updating it.
If you would like to return to ZAMAS, please contact us directly. We would love to host you again and meet or exceed your expectations!!
Warm Regards,
Susan
info@zamas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

if you don't have troubles dealing with little electricity, no A/C, nearly no water pressure and if you are a girl who's used to use every day and iron machine for your hair or a guy who's pants are always flat, this is NOT the place for you to be. This is what they like to call the “rustic-chic” place. Or at least that’s what the American newspapers or magazines notes hanging on the restaurant bar says.
Actually this is a charming place to go, if you are on the alternative style honeymoon mood. This is not place to go solo, since you’ll hardly meet people on the beach (the beach is almost a private beach, and is NOT the nicest on the area: too rocky), the area is a little far from noisy night life and the mood is always cabaña style. But, if you want to open your eyes and the first thing you see is a turquoise ocean and with sand, and if what you want is to feel the sand on your feet as soon as you step out of your room: you found heaven!
I have to say that there almost no extra services, and this is an expensive hotel. But is all worth when you can go right from the cabaña to the Caribbean.
Also, the restaurant is very good. I really recommend the huevos rancheros for breakfast. They really are the very best!
Think what you want, since this is not a hotel for everyone. But if this is your style, you’ll thins Shangri-la is closer that you think.

Room Tip: rooms by the ocean!! heaven!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramonescoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Hola Ramonescoba,
Thank you for sharing your ZAMAS experience. We’re pleased that you found us to be “heaven” or “shangri-la” albeit, “if you want the mood to be cabana-style.” ZAMAS does strive to keep the original feel of Tulum and it is our intent to use local architectural themes in our design. We hope you liked it!
ZAMAS is an eco-hotel, with a solar/wind power system. This does create limitations on certain electrical appliances; we turn on the generator for irons and hair dryers for our guests to use for wedding days and other special occasions. We don’t have a/c but we do have fans in every room and this suits the needs of most. I’m sorry that you felt the hotel was expensive – it is our understanding that our rates are very competitive with other hotels in the area. In response to your review, we will review the rates again. We do have promotions from time to time on facebook/twitter and for our repeat clientele.
As you suggested, ZAMAS and the area can be quiet during the low season. During the high season, we are well known for our live music and we have performances almost every night. The rest of the year we have music once a week, generally on Friday nights.
Regarding services, I’m sorry that you felt that we didn’t provide any extra service. We offer activities and services to our guests on an ongoing basis and we are truly sorry that you did not receive information about these services or that you did not feel well attended to. We would love to have you back for a return visit to ZAMAS; please feel free to contact me and I will make sure that you are well taken of and you receive the best rate available for your next stay.
Warm Regards,
Susan
info@zamas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Our friends threw a birthday celebration/3 day concert at Zamas Hotel and Resort in Tulum. I can not imagine a more beautiful setting, a more accommodating staff or a better value than our group experienced at Zamas. Our group took over the entire resort; my wife and I were lucky enough to stay at the Casa Vijello (I'm not sure if that particular property is typically available for rental). The owners are wonderful people who welcomed our admittedly strange band of merry-makers with open arms and warm hearts. I look forward to returning to Zamas...I'm sure it will feel like seeing an old friend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpkempler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear jpkempler,
Thank you for sharing your ZAMAS experience. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! The three day, full-blown concert was amazing and it was a pleasure to accommodate all of you. We were delighted to have you stay with us and were very pleased that we met all of your expectations for this special time!

Also, I’m so happy you enjoyed staying at Casa Vallejo; it is available for rent year-round.

We appreciate that you thought of ZAMAS for this special event. We look forward to having you come back for a return visit to see “old friends.”

Warmly,
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#22 of 98 in Tulum
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#40 of 98 in Tulum
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 98 in Tulum
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#74 of 98 in Tulum
220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#38 of 98 in Tulum
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamas

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 5 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#12 Family Hotel in Tulum
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $97 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zamas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZAMAS is a boutique beach hotel situated on a strip of the Caribbean coast in Tulum. Inviting accommodations reflect a locally-inspired, organic architecture. Thatch roofs, stucco walls in beach-worn hues, and vibrant decor exude tropical warmth. Since it opened in December 1993 ZAMAS, with its hip beachfront style, has enjoyed an eclectic and international clientele of honeymooners, fashion professionals, artists, families, techies, and everyone in between. It is a quintessential hangout, mixing colorful urban roots with laid back local vibes and jungle ambience. Come experience the Tulum we know- delightfully laid back and naturally beautiful. Welcome to ZAMAS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamas Hotel Tulum
Zamas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing