We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Relaxation in Tulum”
Review of Encantada Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Encantada Tulum
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious Relaxation in Tulum”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from an amazing vacation at Encantada. We stayed in one of the bottom floor, beachfront rooms and couldn't have been happier. This is our 2nd time in Tulum but first time at Encantada. The views from the lovely bed and our deck was incredible. We loved listening to the ocean at night. Very romantic! The bathrooms were beautiful, loved the blue glass showers! The beach couldn't have been lovelier- soft white sand, no rocks, perfect for swimming. We were very happy with the breakfast which was included with the rooms, especially the homemade banana bread and coconut cookies. The staff was wonderful and made us feel like family. They were very helpful with suggestions for activities and getting around Tulum. We did not rent a car, but used the bikes that were provided, local taxis and walked along the long stretch of beach. We had lunch a couple of times at the restaurant and tried the mayan sample platter and fresh fish tacos. Delicious! Lots of choices on the dinner menu, our favorites were the chicken mole and tequila shrimp. Our dinner waiter Alvero made us a "mayan coffee" which was a coffee drink made with a local liquor and presented at our table by pouring the flaming liquid back and forth from from the glasses. Quite a show! Thank you again everyone at Encantada for an amazing stay. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoubleAA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
298
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Totally overpriced we felt for what we got. We should have followed our instinct and stayed for our whole vacation at Cabanas Tulum. I hated getting out of the shower with no wall or anything to separate you from the bedroom. Water pressure was bad in the shower. Room is very hot at night even with the fans on. Restaurant is not ocean front which other places have. Food was ok nothing to write home about. With close neighbors on both sides if they are playing loud music( which they were) it can be an annoyance. We didn't have any soap in our room, maybe that was an oversight or they just do not give any. There is no spa here like we were expecting, just a palapa massage hut. Purely based on value for money I would rate this place very low. There are better and cheaper places, not as ' upscale or chic' as advertised. Disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank haras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa m, Owner at Encantada Tulum, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We realize everyone has different opinions and likes and dislikes but we are sorry Encantada was not what you expected. We truly strive to be a beautiful and intimate hotel experience and provide the best service possible. As you mentioned, we located our restaurant towards the front of our property in order to afford our beachfront rooms the incredible 180 degree views from both inside the rooms and wrap around decks. Of course, we are always happy to serve people on the beach or private decks, if they prefer. And of course, we always provide a full array of soaps, lotions and shampoos in our rooms. I'm sorry you did not see the basket on the counter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We found this small boutique hotel during a visit to Tulum last summer and we decided to stay here on our next trip to the Cancun area this week (December). The rooms are luxurious and ours had a magnificent view of the Caribbean. The beach is one of the finest in the world and the hotel blends to the beach perfectly. The staff are the best. They are extremely service oriented and know your name immediately. The food is excellent, and our experience included my first spa treatment which was tranquil and terrific. Side effects of staying here are reduced heart rate, and urges for long walks. First class spot.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the beach .... the sunrise is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa m, Owner at Encantada Tulum, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks so much ken for the wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you and your wife stay with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your room and the massage! We hope our staff has the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Encantada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We love this hotel and would definitely stay again! The rooms were fantastic - we've never slept better! High quality linens make the difference and the ability to have a cross breeze from the open screens is to die for! The hotel is tucked away and this is part of its exquisite charm.

Don't stay here if you're looking for a party (go to Cancun!) This hotel is about tranquility and serenity. The decor is beautifully understated and the hotel co-exists harmoniously with the environment (the whole point of Tulum and the biosphere).

Make sure you use the bikes! They are a great and eco-friendly way to see Tulum! We took them to the ruins, into town and to yoga class!

The staff are very friendly (without being obtrusive) and helpful! Big shouts out to Lena, Carlos and Maria! Sure, it's a little pricey but well worth every peso!

Room Tip: We loved our garden suite "Tierra" but would splurge and stay on the top ocean view unit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pugs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is almost perfect. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and the bed was enormous! The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, particularly the banana jam. If you want peace and quiet and an incredible view to wake up to, Encantada will be perfect.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to go for a first floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pros:
super romantic, tranquil, away-from-it-all
gorgeous room style and generous amenities (beach bag, umbrella, drinking water...)
no a/c is part of the off-the-grid charm here, so I list it as a pro
delicious food
breakfast included
no children!

Cons:
restaurant sent back from the beach so no view and more mosquitos
no smoking or events or anything fun! (this is also kind of a pro, though...)
lots of rules
expensive

Room Tip: Cielo is my favorite room. Any upper floor room is better in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guacamoleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are looking for that special place to escape and relax- look no further.. ENCANTADA is the place. It was my first time to Tulum and with all the hotels around, it is so difficult to know where to stay. I wanted a boutique type of hotel and I found Encantada by chance. From the moment you enter the hotel you are transported into this ZEN atmosphere. I stayed in "MAR" and loved every moment... the sea view in the morning, the candles in the room, the sound of the sea at night, the comfy bed, the food (Cerviche is a must!), the massages (divine!), the fact that there are only 8 rooms and especially the warm welcome and great service of the team. Can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Try the massages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.9 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encantada Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encantada Tulum

Property: Encantada Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum-Bocapaila KM 8.7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Encantada Beachfront Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Encantada Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxuriously appointed, rustic Tulum cabanas sit on a secluded stretch of white, powder-fine sand where one can enjoy the view from your private deck, steps away from the crystal clear Caribbean waters. Up and down the coastline you will find a natural peacefulness, gentle breezes and the hypnotic sounds of waves crashing against the sand, all in the simple tranquility of Tulum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Encantada Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing