We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puro Corazon

Puro Corazon
Ranked #34 of 334 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The food was great and the prices were reasonable! Staff was friendly and the decor is adorable! Try the shrimp tacos!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pugs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    97
    30
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming low key garden setting and carefully prepared food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It may not look as cool from the outside as its next door neighbor (which has rotten food), but this place is in a lovely garden. They had live music the Wed night we were there. I think the food was very carefully prepared and each dish tasted a little more gourmet than I was expecting. I was very happy with my flavorful roasted veggie tacos. My daughter's fish fingers were way way above kiddy fish sticks. They were battered in an excellent coating. My husband loved his pork in a mezcal sauce. So they know how to treat both veggies, fish, and other meats to enhance the flavors. Their portion size is a tad on the smaller side (ie no leftovers) and we did have to wait a while for our food, but it was so worth it when it came. I wish we'd discovered this place earlier!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Perfect place for a quiet lovely evening with very friendly attentive service and FABULOUS food! The chile shrimp was something out of heaven itself. We went on a Friday evening and they had live music with a talented guitarist that added to the already great ambiance. This place should not be missed. Very low key and warm and special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vlk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you are looking for good diner this is the place for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Well....... Great food and awsome service in a great location that all you need for a good meal, add that with a great atmosphere and WOW, you've got your self an exelent place to dine
The dishes are maya gourmet and they worth any penny
I tried the steak in chocolate sauce and it was amazing
The service is awsome and kind
Make sure to try the house cocktail (spicy habaneros with taquila and honey)

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenLaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“After the Tulum ruins, this restaurant is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This restaurant is simply one of the best in whole Mexico.
The food is creatively delightful. We tried almost every dish and all of them were always divine.
The decoration is beautiful, the service, incredible. All for the average price of that part of town.
Do not forget to try the Chocovino!

Kudos to the Frenchie and his wife!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cycnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puro Corazon also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Puro Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing