We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Kinich Tulum - CLOSED

Kinich Tulum
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We Invite you to stop in for a traditional but sometimes hard to find MAYAN FOOD. Located away from the thumping headache inducing club scene, our Restaurant offers you several Mayan dishes like our delicious Cochinita Pibil, Our Queso Relleno or an exotic Mayan style Venison.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was a recommendation from a friend in Playa! it was excellent. We had the empandas de chaya as an appitizer, four different entrees and the papaya dessert and mammay ice cream. everything was excellent. nice ambiance... definitely worth a trip to tulum!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gem at the south end of Tulum Pueblo. Go past gate.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a birthday celebration dinner. Romantic garden setting amid the beautiful avocado tree. Our waiter Pedro was outstanding in his patient descriptions of menu offerings and tequila choices. We were given 3 salsas with chips. I favor the local one made with pumpkin seeds. Had the lime soup, cochinita pibil, and relleno negro. The relleno negro is one of the best dishes I have ever had. The texture of the broth and spices was just right. Never had anything like it. The chicken was tender and there was a pork meatball stuffed with egg that made the dish. It felt so unique to the area and culture that I knew I was eating something I could never get anywhere else in the world but the Yucatan. A winner.

An outstanding point of service...the lime soup was salty and taken off the bill without even mentioning it because it was noticed that we both did not finish it. First time that has ever happened anywhere for me. Pibil was delicious with soft warm handmade corn tortillas served in a beautiful handcrafted gourd.

The staff came out with a complimentary birthday flan and sang a wonderful song. We left with a beautiful avocado from the tree and a wonderful dining experience. We chatted with Pedro about Izamal on the way out and left with a much deeper appreciation for Kinich and the local culture and heritage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nesisthesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best authentic Mayan I have had!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A new restaurant on the south end of Tulum has a very unique menu of interior mayan or yucatan cuisine that we found to be very tasty and different from the seafood heavy offerings in Tulum. Pork, chicken and venison are the primary meats with a wide variety of sauces and preparations that make the place unique and worth a try. Several of the usual standards like Conchinental Pibil to some amazing dishes that the mayan words can't describe you just have to ask and give them a try. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill78727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat here! Wow!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Don't miss out on this place, which is at the far end of the main town. It's atmosphere is lovely and clean, and the food AMAZING! The only authentic Yucatan food we found in Tulum. Great service, excellent meal (try the pibil!), and a wonderful experience. Mil gracias!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best for authentical Yucatan Food”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Tulum is great for Interactional and Fusion food you can find many small places where you can try excellent food, especially if you consider that Tulum has an ecological way of living. However you can´t go to the Yucatan Peninsula and leave without trying Yucatan food and that is why Kinich is the best in the area. There are many dishes not to miss but probably the best are Sopa de Lima (lime soup) and Cochinita Pivil (Some kind of Barbecue Pork). We try them both and they were really good cooked the service was fantastic

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Engin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinich Tulum also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing