We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in town, affordable for Tulum”
Review of Posada Malix Pek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Malix Pek
Ranked #20 of 82 Tulum B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in town, affordable for Tulum”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't afford any of the expensive hotels on the beach so opted to stay in town. This place was a great find, super clean and great location just of the Main Street and next to a bike shop if you want to rent one for the day. If you stay here ask for a room upstairs as the rooms downstairs smell like cigarette smoke... No breakfast included but nice hot showers.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HayLee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
71
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very clean room, huge, max , the owner, is super helpful (no one else spoke english, but they'd get him to come over whenever we had questions, and he never seemed to mind)
air con is fantastic, cheap restarants close by, room cleaned daily
you won't do better anywhere in tulum for these prices... we checked...
(it's not on the beach though - check out the map)
(was plenty quiet for us, in one of the cheaper downstairs rooms)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiebackpackers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great Place in Tulum city, owner are awesome and really helpfull with everything as soon as i arrived. Clean and well maintained with a nice garden, the rooms is prefect has everything you need to relax. You can rent bikes or go to the beach with a taxi its also right next to the ADO bus station or close to the several diveshops are the city. I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deantaylor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Posada Malix Pek for four nights in May 2013. If you decide to stay in Tulum town rather than the beach, as we did, this is not a bad option. We got lucky as they didn't have any simple rooms, so we got an apartment for the same price! Comfortable and clean with a good shower and internet connection. It can be noisy at night with dogs barking, noise from the karaoke club and general street noise. Overall good value (especially if you get upgraded!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is nicely off the main drag in Tulum, the rooms are clean and the amenities all work nicely, but the location is very, very loud. I can sleep in loud situations, but it was impossible to get much sleep with the bass and music blasting from some nearby establishment and it went on until about 5am. If it wasn't for the noise, I would recommend this hotel. It's location is great if you're taking taxi's or a bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Our second time in Tulum, this time we stayed in Possda Malix Pek and it was just sensational... We have been travelling for weeks and stayed at both great and not so great accommodation.. The owner of Posada Malix Pek was just great! very approachable and ever so pleasant, the cleaning lady was ever so lovely and sensational at her work.. The location had security every night which were also very nice. Highly recommend this accommodation to all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ev81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
306 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom room on the 2nd floor. Room was plenty big, very clean, lots of hot water in the morning and well located. We were supplied with 4 very soft bath towels. Bathroom is a little small but nothing to stop you from staying here.
We paid $60us for 4 people in the room.
The little courtyard was a great place to play some cards and chat with some of the other guests.

The posada is located 1/2 a block of the main drag and about 1.5 blocks from the ADO bus station.
We found it to be great value and would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#81 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#79 of 95 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Latino
Hotel Latino
#57 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Corazon de Jade
Corazon de Jade
#29 of 82 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emotion Tulum Hotel & Hostal
0.9 mi away
Pacha Tulum
Pacha Tulum
#12 of 82 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Malix Pek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Malix Pek

Property: Posada Malix Pek
Address: Calle Acuario entre av Tulum y polar ponente, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Malix Pek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posada Malix Pek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing