We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How did I miss this” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Aguachiles Tulum

Los Aguachiles Tulum
Ranked #70 of 384 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $53
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We love beer and fresh seafood!!
MO
Level Contributor
483 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“How did I miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am so glad we finally got to try this place. Not only is it clean, but it's a nice large open air restaurant with good wait staff too. They serve you four different sauces, all very good, but not too hot. The ceviche is the best my husband has ever had, and that is many...medio...$94 pesos. I had the shrimp soup and it was the best I have ever had down here, and we have been coming here for over 30 years. Beware that it is steaming hot, and also very spices. I had tears running down my face, but I couldn't stop eating it. Can't wait to go back and try something else. Loved it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    79
    19
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Simple and delicious. We had the "pescado al vapor". Great Mexican sauces. I am still craving for more. Attentive service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gallinadepalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals Around Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Fresh sashimi tuna tostadas, beautiful whitefish tacos and tostadas and inventive sauces, including a delicious coriander sauce. We were steered here by a nice woman selling necklaces who told us it was the best place in town. She was not lying! The guacamole and chips were amazing and the beer was cold. The restaurant and bathrooms were clean and they had wonderful sinks where you could wash your hands----much needed after the messy, delicious food! If you're there, you need to try it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh & Refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Eric Hartwood introduced us to this recent addition to Tulum Pueblo and now we drop in every time we're in town. Since we live in the Yucatan that means every few months. The food is always fresh and the prices and atmosphere are refreshing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SoloXolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oos Aguachiles restaurante”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

There are, of course, quite a few authentic Mexican restaurants in Tulum.
I had a hard time finding it but, it's fantastic. It's on the main street all the way south of town and just before the police stand on your left.I missed it the first time, look for the "SOL" glassbottles wall on the corner. I think they close at 6{30pm. They also have restaurants in Playa.
I would desribe my choices as gourmet tacos. I focused ont he steamed fish (pescado), shrimp (camaron) and smoked tuna (atun) tacos.Dress 'em with one of their house-made ceamy chiptole and enjoy! You can also have them served on a bed of lettuce (no taco shell) Unreal good with a "lemonade natural". The Spanish-speaking staff is very professioanl. Bon apetit*
Just up the road, North one block, is the very popular "El Camello" also delicious and always busy.
Do try the Ceviche, but the mixed (mixto) medium will be enough food for two. The shrimp cocktails are also delicious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank silverfoxblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Aguachiles Tulum also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Aguachiles Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing