We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Rosa del Viento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosa del Viento
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Been there in March 2013. The hotel is very nice. Rooms are big and clean. Service is lazy, but doable. Private beach with all hammocks and beach beds.
Breakfast just ok, service in restaurant is very slow.
Wi-fi in the rooms.
One of last hotels in Tulum hotels line. About 4-6 km to action. Small parking.
Next time will choose hotel closer to action

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosadelviento, Propietario at Rosa del Viento, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for giving us your honest opinion ..., we are adjusting ourselves every day to grow our business and hope not to cause inconvenience to the service with our overworked ... It would be a very great pleasure to have the opportunity to prove it, hope to see you around here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for Rosa del Viento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 739 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We did not stay at Rosa del Viento, but we did eat there daily for over five days (and were staying next door at Ixchel) so we are able to provide some highlights of the hotel:

The Good:
- The food was excellent except for a few exceptions listed below
- The waiters were all extremely warm, accommodating and professional… in our opinion the best feature of the hotel/restaurant
- The location was great: it is on the best part of Tulum beach

The not so good:
- The food took a very long time to arrive (min 30 – 40 min for lunch/dinner once it took one hour)
- The woodstove oven was not functioning, so no pizza
- Their Gelato was definitely not Italian! It was more like every day ice cream.
- The French toast was made with every day supermarket sliced bread instead of something thicker like French bread or challah bread (ironically when we requested toast with our omelet it came with toasted French bread which was thick and hard and could be used for French toast)
- The omelets were laughable – basically an egg taco; the peppers, tomatoes, and ham were not cooked with the eggs and just added at the end. The result was a soft taco with a crunchy center.
-Fruit plates: beautiful presentation but with an aftertaste of onion/garlic! (Note to hotel: use cutting board & knife dedicated to fruits only)

The Bad:
- The hotel has so many rooms and the beach is packed with beach chairs and umbrellas. This hotel seemed like it was like a continuation of one of the mega-hotels of Cancun.
- The hotel lacks the charm of the traditional thatched cabañas typical of Tulum
- The manager/owner had an air of arrogance about him
- Many children (including those of the manager/owner- we think) were disruptive during mealtimes.
-Music playing in the restaurant. This is Tulum not Cancun; in Tulum music the sound of the waves crashing and the birds singing is the best music.

The Abysmal:
- There is a windsurfing school right next to the hotel. This might be fun to watch at a distance but you can be sure that the entertainment value declines rapidly as they are whooshing past while you are in the water.
- On the street sign of the hotel they indicate that they cater weddings. This in itself is not bad unless the hotel has 24 hours of electricity with sufficient wattage to power the speakers and lights to illuminate the drinks for the loudly laughing wedding guests until after 3 in the morning. We heard all this staying next door at Ixchel, so we especially pitied those guests at Rosa del Viento who were not involved in the wedding. This happened over two nights, however we fled to another resort before the second night of wedding festivities.
- How does this compare to weddings in the more “Tulum”-like hotels? Almost the same except the power goes out at around 11, the guests not involved in wedding hear the waves crashing and the distant laughing of a few wedding guests skinny-dipping under a million stars (stars made visible thanks to the lack of artificial light).

In summary, if you wish to drive an extra hour and half and probably spend more to have the Cancun experience this is the hotel for you. However, if you want to get away from it all or spend some quite romantic time with someone you love, stay away except for the occasional meal. We give two stars to this hotel only because of the generally good food from Rosa del Viento and fantastic servers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank EkiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosadelviento, Owner at Rosa del Viento, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013
Google Translation

Hola! lamentamos mucho haber ocasionado tantos disgustos en tus preciadas vacaciones (podrias haberlas evitado no repitiendo tantas visitas a Rosa del Viento...) Lamentablemente por ti, en esta fecha tuvimos una boda en nuestro hotel pero ello no causo molestia a nuestros huespedes ya que todos eran invitados del evento. Esta es nuestra politica para poder realizar una boda aqui, que todas las habitaciones sean ocupadas durante 3 dias solamente por los invitados, es decir que nuestros huespedes estaban felices festejando dicho evento.
Lamentamos mucho lo sucedido con tu plato de frutas y nos encargaremos de que no vuelva a suceder. El horno ya esta listo y esta sacando las mejores pizzas! y con respecto al helado, la maquina es italiana, el producto base lo importamos desde alla y aqui solo le agragamos la fruta, pero bueno tienes razon: por razones obvias se nos derretiria si ya lo trajeramos hecho.
Con respecto a los niños, somos un hotel familiar y creo que quedan pocos lugares en el mundo donde no te los encuentres...
Esperamos puedas olvidar pronto estos disgustos en tus vacaciones y si amas Tulum en tu proxima visita quizas puedas encontrar algun lugar para alojarte dentro de la Biosfera de Sian Kaan.
Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

very nice small clean hotel with familiar atmosphere and good service
beach is very very beautiful, very less people (last hotel to sian kaán)
very windy and funny waves in march
price performance ratio is ok but high like everything in tulum

first advice: take a torch/reading lamp with you (the small light in the room is too dark for reading and if you walk on the street there is no light

second advice: if you want to leave the hotel: rent a car (there are many nice restaurants along the beach and in tulum city but they are all too far to walk)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aftershower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosadelviento, Propietario at Rosa del Viento, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for leave your comments! Here we hope to have you again on your next vacation and we promise to not miss a reading lamp in your room ... Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from an 8 night vacation on the Tulum beach with our 4 last nights at this nice hotel. Nice rooms,clean,comfortable bed,great water pressure and amazing views. As well as a substantial breakfast. All staff seemed to go above and beyond. Friendly and genuine. The beach is awesome. Coming home to snow and -20 C last night, I wish I was back in Tulum and no where better than Rosa Del Viento!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosadelviento, Propietario at Rosa del Viento, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for reward ourselves with your comments, hopefully we could do endless holiday experience in paradise ... at least expect them soon New Here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

-delicious check-in drink
-Clean and spacious room. Super quiet. The loudest thing you hear are the waves crashing. Spartan with a bed, desk and small dresser. Ceiling fan and air conditioning unit that is quite effective.
-steps from the beach, even if you don't have a beachfront room
-very satisfying breakfast(toast, eggs, oj, coffee, tea, bacon, hash browns are one of the three options)
-hot rain showers in the room.
-good beachside restaurant service
-nice large sliding door and screen door
-very clean
-plenty of parking
-great huts, beach chairs and a table for your stuff
-great sand and beach
-bottled water provided
-cant hear neighbors

Con
-shampoo wasn't very foamy. Some sort of organic stuff. Bring your own.
-only one trashcan in bathroom
-only one towel per person ( but this saves energy)
-no privacy sign. Almost got "walked in" on.
-some minor construction. But it didn't start until after 10am.

Room Tip: You'll be fine with a non beachfront room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillsnthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosadelviento, Propietario at Rosa del Viento, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for letting us know your experience at Rosa del Viento! We want to improve every day for what we have in mind your comments ... just as our construction tasks and incorporate a trash extra rooms.
We hope to have you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just spent eleven days on the beach at Tulum. Most, days, I had breakfast at your restaurant. I had dinner there twice. I totally enjoyed eating there and hanging out. The waiters were really sweet and have a great sense of humor. The prices are fair and I never felt ripped off-as I did a t the "upscale" place I stayed. I am recommending your hotel to friends. When I return to Tulum, I shall look into staying here

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Natoma519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I'm writing this review from my patio at this hotel. As most reviews say, it is a wonderful hotel in one of the best locations on the beach. It is not near the other hotels so the stretch of sand is really just for the guests, who lounge on chairs or daybeds or hammocks. The rooms are just what you need to be comfortable and relaxed, with plenty of room and spacious patios. And, there is air conditioning which can be useful, although not necessary all the time. There is an almost constant breeze off of the ocean, so sleeping with the screen door only is fantastic...ocean sounds.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. I had an issue with a rental car and Eliana at reception took care of it for me, dealing directly with the company because the guy didn't speak English and my Spanish is good but not great.

Food: The restaurant happens to be very, very good. Breakfast was included and it was plenty of food to start the day. On our first night we had dinner here and it really impressed us. The ceviche was honestly one of the best I've ever had, and the entrees of fresh fish and lobster were delicious. It seems that others who eat here agree that they do a solid job on the food.

To sum up, we will definitely come back and would recommend Rosa Del Viento as a top choice in Tulum.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank davidk328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 98 in Tulum
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,299 reviews
3.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 98 in Tulum
371 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa del Viento

Address: Carretera Bocapaila km. 10, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $132 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel boutique de 15 habitaciones ubicado a 500 mts. de la biosfera de Sian kaán, una playa privilegiada...Cuenta con restaurant en donde la especialidad son las pizzas y los pescados salidos de nuestro horno a leña ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosa del Viento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing