We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosa del Viento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosa del Viento
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

From the moment you are greeted at reception, right through to check out, the experience at Rosa del Viento is just perfect.

It's all in the details and and nothing has been overlooked. The rooms are spacious and ecochic at it's very best. Tall ceilings, walk in shower with rainhead and excellent water pressure .. comfort of the beds, quality of the linens and bath products > someone is seriously paying attention to the details. Rooms are absolutely immaculate.

Infrastructure is not to be taken for granted in Tulum, as it is largely off the grid. Hotels run on generators and septic tanks, with all the inherent problems associated with spotty services. This is not the case at Rosa del Viento .. everything worked perfectly. Even though they advertise Wifi as being available in public areas, I had an excellent connection at all times in my room and at the beach (often not the case in Tulum)

The beach is magnificent, the best in Tulum. There are lovely lounge chairs, palapas and beach beds to relax on while the staff makes sure you have everything you could need or want.

I know many outstanding restaurants in Tulum but after my first meal at Rosa del Viento I ate all of my meals in their lovely dining room. Breakfast, lunch and dinner ... everything was wonderful. Their wood burning oven produces pizzas that rival anything I have eaten in Italia, and their house made tagliatelle would make an Italian nonna swoon. The wait staff is charming, helpful and gracious without hovering or rushing you. The menu is quite extensive (I highly recommend the almond crusted salmon) with something to please everybody. Loved the selection of healthy fruit/veggie drinks. Everything comes out of the kitchen expertly prepared and beautifully presented.


The atmosphere is charming, laid back and romantic, while at the same time being quite family friendly. The owner is on site at all times, making sure everything meets your expectations. The staff is very well trained, friendly and accommodating.

Rosa del Viento is located at the southern end of the hotel strip, very close to Sian Kaan. Taxis do not come by as frequently as they do at the northern end of the strip, so if you are dependent on transportation I suggest asking the receptionist to call for a cab or you may find yourself on the side of the road waiting for one to come by.

The highest compliment a customer can pay a business is to be a repeat customer. I have already booked my next trip.

Room Tip: I was in Room 14, an upstairs unit with a garden view. Loved the privacy of the deck. Very efficient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    224
    55
    20
    16
See reviews for
90
450
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The place is heaven the best beach in tulum good food great clean comfortable rooms...again a bit expansive
Take in to consideration that the price of the room is only the beaning coz you'll pay the hotel more for the food and drinks


  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a fantastic time at this little hotel. Smack bang on the beach and with a nice little restaurant that does great drinks as well it's a brilliant place to chill out and out your feet up.

They also have bikes that we rented to cycle to the ruins which are about 6kms away

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We visited Rosa del Viento last week with my wife and baby. The whole experience showed Tulum at its best: ecochic design, top italian home-made food a pristine beach and a hipster (though family friendly) crowd.

We highly recommend this new jewel (opened just 6 months ago) not yet discovered by the mainstream media in New York. Both if you want relaxation on mingling with models and celebrities this is the right spot: not crowded, excellent service, delicious food. The waiters and managers were really friendly with us, and helped us with all the baby "logistics".

All the 15 rooms have air conditioning and most of them have sea view. They are ample and comfortable. Rates are really good value compared to other "chic" options in Tulum. In the whole week we did a good trial on the menu and the highlights were the wood oven pizzas (pizza napolitana!), whole baked fishes, ceviches, and the fish tacos. Congratulations to the owners Massimo and Elisa.

Room Tip: Most of them have an amazing sea view, but a few don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertoLhopital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I wanted calm, service and attention, right on the beach with enough privacy to rest. I just got it: it is named Rosa del Viento. The food is excellent and the owner very friendly. I will return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurent d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosadelviento2012, Propietario at Rosa del Viento, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks for your vote to RDV!
It is so satisfying for us to read that you felt like home ...
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had a lovely time at Rosa del Viento! Do not miss out on the massage on the beach or the wonderful cocktails!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klercia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the rosa del viento, the room was on the ocean nice and windy.
The staff is very friendy and helpfull. Pizza are great whit home grown herbes and basil.
The beach is just outstanding there , and the hotel is nearly the last one of tulum road.
A really good place to relax.

Room Tip: room N°2 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justchilled75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
3.4 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#18 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa del Viento

Property: Rosa del Viento
Address: Carretera Bocapaila km. 10, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel boutique de 15 habitaciones ubicado a 500 mts. de la biosfera de Sian kaán, una playa privilegiada...Cuenta con restaurant en donde la especialidad son las pizzas y los pescados salidos de nuestro horno a leña ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rosa del Viento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing