We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ended our 10-day Mayan trip in a nice note”
other travelers have booked this property
Tankah Inn Tulum.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tankah Inn Tulum.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Tankah Inn Tulum.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smilingff
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ended our 10-day Mayan trip in a nice note”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Tankah Inn is conveniently located, along Mexico 307 to all major sites, yet is very quite, private and relaxing. It is just about 3 Km to Tulum ruins, and 6 Km to Tulum village (countless restaurants and shops), and about 10 Km to Xelha. The beach is nice and private, and you can walk to a cenote. Staffs are friendly and charming. There are total of 5 rooms - so a small and quaint place to unwind. Room is huge, clean and very comfortable. Every room has a balcony and ocean view. Also the place is close to Cancun airport, only 1 hr 10 min drive - on the best road we had encountered in Mexico (as good as in America, if not better).

We arrived on the 29th after an eight-hr driving from Palenque - my boyfriend being an unbelievably driver to make that miracle, and check in was easy and smooth. Throughout our journey, we had been staying with locals, or local enough (that all guest are Spanish-speaking) - those are fantastic. But I also do not mind to tune back into American comfort right before our return.

My only wish is that there could be some mosquito repellent in the room, as those mosquitoes are fierce! And i am still scratching now!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort, and the beach
Liked least: mosquitoes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdandBeni
San Antonio, Texas USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This get-a-way to the Maya Rivera was by far the best, only to be surpassed by memories of the '80's.”
Reviewed February 4, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We searched for 2 weeks on the internet for the right spot on the beach to take a short break from the cedar pollen season in Texas. And we almost booked a place south of Tulum. But thankfully since it was not available, we looked again and found Tan Kan Inn's reviews which mentioned "great snorkeling". That was the big clue, but when we arrived we knew it was perfect for us. Quiet, beautiful beach, great breakfast, walk to cenote, excellent snorkeling (even the snorkel trips from a near-by big hotel come here) and the best hosts. The price was also reasonable and a great value. Thank you all in Tan Kan Inn for a wonderful week. Ed & Beni

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quiet clean beach.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jthomasca
Morro Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and comfortable B&B with great AC and food”
Reviewed January 12, 2012 for a stay in May 2010
4
people found this review helpful

This B&B provided a much needed respite during an exceptionally hot and humid visit - we loved exploring the remote areas in the coast, but it made an incredible difference being able to come back to a very comfortable, quiet room with great air conditioning, in an idyllic beachfront location and offshore coral reef. The Tankah Inn is part of a small neighborhood of homes and small inns on an inlet that's separated from the rest of Tulum. There is a cenote within walking distance, and we had an amazing time snorkling there. There are also a few good restaurants within walking distance. Not to mention to gourmet breakfast provided by the Tankah Inn's own chef. This would be the place we'd want to stay if we go to Tulum again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and AC at very reasonable price
Liked least: No complaints at all about the lodgings.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Reviewed December 15, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing