We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful beach cottage steps from the water”
other travelers have booked this property
Why you come to Tankah! our beach looking north
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Why you come to Tankah! our beach looking north
Downstairs sleeping area now has a queen size bed equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Why you come to Tankah! our beach looking north
Downstairs sleeping area now has a queen size bed
equipped kitchen
Cenote Manati just a 15 minute walk
shaded reading area
fresh coconut from our trees
dining area
turtle returning to sea after laying and burying eggs
tankah sunrise
talavera bathroom with walk in shower
garden flower
minicenote in ocean floor 10 min walk south
Tulum ruins only 15 minutes away
Two person kayak to take out on our calm and beautiful bay
View of kitchen with ladder to loft with two double beds.
Sunrise from neighbors deck
Beach to the south
The loft with 2 double beds
New queen bed and sitting area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kimberlee...
1 review
“Beautiful beach cottage steps from the water”
Reviewed March 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We recently returned from a 12 day relaxing vacation at kasita katalina. The cottage was everything advertised - well appointed kitchen - large fridge and functional gas stove. We ate in for breakfast on most days and never had to search for a pan or utensil - everything was right at our fingertips. Comfortable beds both downstairs and in the loft. Five people could be comfortably accommodated if you don't mind sharing one bath. Nice linens and fluffy towels too - everything thought out for the guests comfort including a drinking water pitcher in the bath. We enjoyed sitting out on the porch watching the birds and small creatures in the evening. Juan, the caretaker was available for anything we needed - ask to see his paintings - they're beautiful. The casita is set back behind the main house about 50 steps from the beach. Well maintained loungers, beach chairs, hammocks and tables were all neatly arranged for guests use. The beach was very private and quiet with very few people passing by. I would definitely bring water shoes because of the coral on entering the water. We snorkeled right in front the house and saw many varieties of fish and rays. We rented a car and Tulum was a 5 minute trip away. Many restaurants on the main strip - we enjoyed Barracudas and ate there a few times. There is a large grocery store too with everything from eggs and beer to souvenir t-shirts. If you don't want to drive, Casa Cenote is a five minute walk from the casita for snorkeling with a restaurant across the street if you want to enjoy a margarita without the drive home. We ate there many times and the house margaritas were excellent. We had a great 12 days of sun and beach -Thank you Kathy and Juan for a wonderful stay!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2018
Thank you for coming. We love guests such as you and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neuronell
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We found Peace at the Kasita”
Reviewed February 3, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Just home from a month's stay at the Kasita. When my husband and I arrived, we were greeted warmly by Kathy and Nico, beautiful puppy boy with a bottle of champagne to celebrate my birthday. It was heaven sitting on the beachfront while sipping and getting to know our hostess.
The beach is a short walk through Kathy's carefully nurtured gardens. Our beachfront was simply gorgeous and where we spent the majority of our time. Nature is the theme here. Kathy has planted herbs, flowers and feeds the multitude of colorful birds. This trip was for us, a rest and relaxing one as we had recently retired prior to our visit.
Each morning we took our beverage to the oceanfront and enjoyed the sounds of the sea and nature. And did I mention the warm temperatures?! ;) Yes, the Kasita is a great place to escape winter!
The house is cute and was a perfect space for the two of us. We had a full kitchen for preparing breakfast, lunches and snacks as well as a few dishes from home. The new queen sized bed on the first floor is awesome! The neighborhood is semi-
residential and feels safe, as there is a security gate close by and hosts a few restaurants within walking distance.
Juan, our caretaker spoke little English but he went out of his way to make our stay perfectO! He loves making a show of cutting cocos for you to enjoy (a propina is welcome).

For breakfast, we recommend the Tankah Inn (they only accept pesos). They have an outdoor ocean front view as well as indoor seating. The cook, server and chief bottle washer is Pancho. Tankah Inn also has a selection of paperbacks left by guests and games if you want something to do on a rainy day. Inexpensive.
Casa Cenote which has a nice ocean front palapa has large and in charge Margaritas, but the food is so-so. Bar food. Cheap.
Blue Sky is the next one up the road and was by far our favorite. We spent alot of time here sampling their menu and getting carry-out salads. Go here for pizza (better than La Nave), hamburgers (authentic), pasta dishes, fish tacos, fresh seafood ( the avocado stuffed with shrimps is great!) and salads. Cheap to Moderate prices.
On our last night in Tulum, we sampled Cielo Maya. Our server, Gregorio was very helpful and nice. The place is gorgeous, but we had better meals at Blue Sky.

We are so grateful to have had this opportunity! Muchas gracias Kathy and Juan!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2018
Melissa and Robert were the perfect guests. They were quiet and nonintrusive. I hardly knew they were there. They were polite to Juan and Felicia and especially kind to Nico, my chihuahua/ dachsie, who misses them as much as I do. The questions asked were pertinent and assisted me in updating my guest tips. Robert's sense of humor was enjoyed. I would definitely host them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catvernch...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Tranquil Paradise”
Reviewed March 5, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My husband and two teenage daughters loved our stay at Kasita Katalina. It was better thenI imagined with the quiet location away from the craziness of the Southern Beaches. Having the beach just steps away was a wonder. The beach complete with hammocks and kayak made for a tremendously relaxing time. Almost like having your own piece of private beach. The accommodations were comfortable,clean and charming. There is a sweet area on the porch to sit and listening to the tropical bird calls. The coconut trees and garden added to the over all ambience. There was a spectacular Cenote walking distance away. We met a diver who claimed to come back 6 times rather then the one visit planned for. We had the added benefit of having the owner nearby giving us wonderful advice for restaurants,Mayan ruins and selection of cenotes. The area felt safe even hammock swinging under a full moon felt free from worries. We especially enjoyed meeting the people in Tulum. Very much respect how hard every one works. Lastly we had the best shrimp ever in Tulum.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and beach.
Liked least: Getting scammed by the police for not speeding when we left for the airport. Closer to Cancun
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Nico and I look forward to your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJCMaine
York, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a quiet holiday vacation”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed over the Christmas and New Year holiday and found Kasita Katalina to be the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a quiet holiday away from it all. We have stayed in the Tulum area many times and this was our first stay in Tankah Tres. I was a bit unsure about how busy the beach would be because there is a small resort - Pavo Real - about 4 properties away, but you wouldn't even know it's there.
The casita was everything we needed - clean, comfortable, well equipped and the AC unit came in handy on a few of the more humid days. The house is set back off the beach so it is very private, and a quick stroll (30 seconds) through the garden and past the new house being built on the property puts you right on the private beach, which has chaise loungers and hammocks, and even a table and chairs to have meals. It was a bit too windy this time to have our meals on the beach, but the breeze really helps to keep it at a comfortable temperature. Without a breeze, it tends to get a bit too warm and humid.
As mentioned, there is a beautiful new house that the owner is having built on the property. So, that house will share the beach with the original casita but the area is big enough, I feel, to accommodate both comfortably. The landscaping on the property is very nice, with several species in full bloom while we were there.
It is very easy to swim and snorkel off the beach, and there are tie-offs about a third of the way out to the reef for tying up your kayak. I would recommend water shoes as the first 50 feet or so off shore is quite rocky. Casa Cenote is less than a 10 minute walk down the beach. Go early in the morning to avoid the crowds. We rent a car when we stay in the area because we like to go into town every couple of days, but you can definitely get away without one if you take a collective into town to get groceries, etc.
Our caretaker Juan was very helpful and friendly, and ensured we had everything we needed during our stay. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely return to Katalina in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
I look forward to having you return in the future. Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happytrav...
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small,private, beach house, great location suited 4 adults well”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When I first saw the Kasita, my thoughts were that it was very small for 2 adult couples, but it turns out that with beautiful beach and landscaping, and cool ocean breeze, we spent the vast majority of time on the porch, on the beach, snorkeling, Kayaking, and swimming in Cenotes. The house and clean and artistically decorated. The gated community and fencing, made for a safe and secure feeling. Being close to the many things to see in the Tulum area was helpful.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Hope tomsee you again in the future. Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire_Ma...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a relaxing getaway from our normally busy lives, and we found it here. This little casita was quaint, and the location was just right. The house is not right on the water, but a short walk though the property. No matter to us, we spent most of our time in the hammocks right at the water with our books, snorkeling in the water, or kayaking about the bay. With no internet availability or TV, we quickly got over our desire to check in at every moment and slipped into vacation mode. We did most of our cooking in, but did head in to Tulum for a few meals. Explored ruins in Tulum (get there early, ahead of the tour buses) and in Cobá. Air conditioning was necessary to cool down the casita, but the fans were good after that. Juan did come and cut open cocos for us to sip; a delightful experience. We would definitely consider a return to Kasita Katalina.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hammocks on the beach
Liked least: Water pressure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patricia...
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looking for quiet and privacy in a tropical garden ending in a lovely private beach....that is Casa Katalina”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The present house is very comfortable for a couple maybe with an older child who can sleep in the loft. It was ideal for us, an older couple who love privacy, flowers, birds, butterflies and eating alone on the beach at sunup and sunset. Tankah Bay is very quiet but only a short drive from shopping and restaurants in Tulum. Rent a car to explore and to shop for groceries. Walk down to Casa Cenote in the early AM for a swim before the diving classes gather....swim /snorkel ALL the way to the back where the fish hang out and herons and cormorants will be catching breakfast two feet away from your face mask!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Thanks for visiting a second time. If you have the notion would love an additional review as guests like to see recent ones. Thanks also for treating me to dinner. Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing