We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little slice of paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
why you come to Tankah! our beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
why you come to Tankah! our beach
Downstairs sleeping area equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
why you come to Tankah! our beach
Downstairs sleeping area
equipped kitchen
spacious loft
Cenote Manati just a 15 minute walk
shaded reading area
fresh coconut from our trees
dining area
turtle returning to sea after laying and burying eggs
tankah sunrise
talavera bathroom
ladder to loft
side view from porch
Tulum ruins only 15 minutes away
garden flower
minicenote in ocean floor 10 min walk south
the kasita
Two person kayak to take out on our calm and beautiful bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DocnMac
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Kasita Katalina for 2 weeks from 3rd to 17th May and we loved it. Walking through the garden down to the Caribbean every morning to have breakfast will stay with us forever. The bungalow itself is very functional with some nice little touches (the bathroom) and it had everything we needed for a self catering visit. The location is quiet and feels secure as the house has large walled garden and there are security guards at the end of the private road. The garden is fantastic and we saw iguanas, humming birds and crabs all running around. The private beach is beautiful and we had dinner several times under the palms trees. The reef on the beach is great for snorkeling and we saw many tropical fish, turtles and barracuda. Take some water shoes to get to the reef as it is rocky for about 5 minutes before you reach it. We were there in low season and it was so peaceful and there are only a couple of bars/restaurants within walking distance. The margaritas at casa cenote are worth the walk. We hired a car for a week and did some traveling (tulum ruins/coba/lahabna/xel-ha/scuba diving) and these were all great days out. We also used the collectivos to get into Tulum and these were frequent and cheap from the main road. Special mention to Juan the caretaker for the fresh coconuts. This place is amazing if you like to relax in beautiful location. We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and private beach
Liked least: the mosquitos (werent that bad!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nst620
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, private beachfront property”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location - quiet, private and enjoy the hammocks at the beachfront!

House was spotless and perfect size for family of four. The kids (11, 13) loved having the loft area to themselves. We didn't have a car but there is a fantastic cenote a few minutes walk from the house, and great snorkeling right out front a couple of hundred yards from the house.

It is also a great base from which to explore nearby attractions. Highly recommend a local Birding tour and Punta Laguna Monkey Reserve through Yucatan Outdoors.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne S
Larkspur, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place and Beautiful Location”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay was perfect. Don't pay attention to the Trip Advisor Map. The place is just a few steps from the private beach. Snorkeling was good and the place was exactly as stated. The owner met us when we came and Juan the caretaker was very helpful and charming. I would highly recommend this place to everyone. The only suggestion I would have is to have instructions for leaving the key at the end of your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy / felt like it was our own little slice of heaven
Liked least: The bed was a little hard but this would be hard to please everyone as we all have different preferences
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed March 21, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LA
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JLMM612
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway in Paradise”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was a perfect little house for 2 on a private bay near Tulum. The neighborhood felt very safe and secure. The property was beautiful and very private. Juan, the caretaker is awesome and cuts open a fresh coco for you upon arrival. Every room of the little house was clean and new. The owner was very easy to communicate with about the property beforehand.

You will need a rental car. We didn't get one (it was our first time in MX and had no idea what to expect), and we walked a lot. It was a great adventure, but next time we are staying in Tankah bay - and there will be a next time - we will definitely rent a car. If you do like to walk, the collectivos will take you anywhere you want to go for cheap - you just walk out to the highway about 1.5 miles down the road.

Overall, we loved our stay at the Kasita. Would go back in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Private and secluded
Liked least: Cooking utensils and needed a car
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreek123...
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate in relaxation and enjoyment!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kasita Katalina for 6 weeks, Jan 23-Mar 6/13. We brought our spaniel "Tommy" with us and it was the absolute best vacation ever!! The cottage is lovely, well equiped and clean. The beach is stunning as well as the view. Juan the caretaker was extremely friendly, bringing us coconuts whenever we wanted them and he is a very talented artist! We bought 2 of his paintings and were enthralled at watching his progress on a large sculpture he was working on at Casa Cenote. Kathy Flyn, the owner has a wealth of knowledge and history of the area and we enjoyed meeting her and her Chihuauah "Nico". Proximity to town and ease of transportation made everything simple and easy. We rented a car for part of the time and used the "Collectivo" the rest of the time. All in all we highly recommend this property and we are already planning and hoping to return again next winter for a longterm stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything from the house, the beach, the weather...EVERYTHING!
Liked least: It was ALL good!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$145
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing