We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Las Palmas Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Palmas Maya
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Las Palmas Maya was just what we needed for our Tulum getaway: A great size room, safe, close to the beach, clean, and very laid back. It also included a fabulous kitchen (which isn't done justice in the pictures) and an awesome hangout area with hammocks of all shapes and sizes. I also have to say that I had the best sleep in years at Las Palmas and loved the high-pressure shower, which is better than mine at home.

The Tulum beach is filled with all sorts of hotels with different amenities, but none of them have Tom (the manager at LPM) who makes everything easier and delightful. Tom (who lives on site) was able to recommend stellar restaurants, set-up our car rental and excursions, negotiate for taxis, and answer any questions about the area and surrounding towns. His expert knowledge is an invaluable asset, especially for first-time visitors the area! Thanks again for everything! We're already planning our next trip back! -Mel & Justin

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melmmm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Wow! We so appreciate your wonderful review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. The high pressure shower is the best in Tulum (or so we've heard) and we are thrilled that you slept so well. Do come back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 385 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you are in Tulum - Las Palmas Maya is the one! :) atmosphere there is amazing, with a lot of plants, hammocks where you can enjoy your morning coffee, kitchen where you can cook and best of all you have 1 min to get to one of the beautiful beaches i ever saw.
Manager (Tom) is absolutely great. He is really good organizer, he will told you about the best places around Tulum and make it really easy to visit them. What is also very important he is excellent cocktail maker and really fun to be around :D
I am sure if you come to this place you will enjoy your staying and telling everyone about this paradise :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -Anitara-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We really do appreciate your review! Tom is an excellent host and manager and is a man of many talents. ;-) Agreed...the beach across the road and in front of Om is one of the most spectacular ever and has been voted one of the Top Ten beaches in the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here October 18/2013 for 3 nights...... It was our first trip to Tulum and were a little leary regarding accommodations and safety, we quickly realized that there was no need to worry. Tom the manager was an incredible host and it was like staying at a friends house who gave you a key for your freedom but was there to aid in any way or answer any questions.We found Las Palmas Maya excellent value for money during our stay. Its close proximity to the beach and good restaurants close by meant we could indulge at will in our favourite pastimes of swimming, laying on the gorgeous Tulum beach and eating good food! Our room was very clean and comfortable and the ceiling fan and floor fan meant that the lack of air conditioning was no hardship at all. All rooms looked out to the nicely landscaped garden, giving a cosy intimate feeling, away from the bustle of the street. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. The outdoor kitchen was a great place to meet other guests and socialize. The email responses we received before booking were very prompt, because of that we decided to book. Thanks again and we hope to stay longer next time

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are so glad that you felt comfortable and safe. For those that have never been to the area, that can be a concern however, as you learned for yourself, Tulum could not be more laid back and safe! =) Glad, too, that you feel we are a good value and we sincerely hope that you are able to return and stay with us a little longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We simply enjoyed our time at Las Palams Maya, therefore we decided to stay one day more there. This is the place for you if you like to feel settled. Awesome beach, which looks like in the advertisement for Raffaello is very close. The owner Tom is born for his job. Even more, he can do the best margarita! You'll not regret if you decide to spend your holidays in Tom's paradise!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Water_SLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We think LPM and Tulum are Paradise too! So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We sincerely enjoyed our time in Tulum at Las Palmas Maya. We can't wait to go back. Everything from the reservation with Cheryl, to Tom's hospitality was simply perfect. We were impressed right away when our taxi pulled up to the front gate and we were greeted by name. The beach at Tulum was amazing. The restaurants are expensive, so the kitchen at LPM is a huge plus for budget travelers. The all inclusive we went to after Tulum was great, but no comparison to hanging out at OM on the beach or the Hammock Lounge above the kitchen.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank iowatraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you! We are glad that you feel the reservation process went smoothly, your initial impression and greeting were warm and particularly that you enjoyed the kitchen and the hammock lounge. Please do come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Las Palmas Maya. This isn't a fancy hotel - it's fairly basic (reflected in the excellent price), with a bohemian Tulum vibe and it's obvious the owners and manager invest a lot of personal attention in the detail of ensuring their guests have a great experience. Our room was clean and comfortable, with great mosquito nets, comfortable bed, hot showers, and everything we needed. Tom was extremely friendly and helpful, ready to answer all our questions, suggest restaurants and arrange tours at the last minute, and help us find a shop to buy toiletries when we'd accidentally lost ours. If you are organized and thrifty, there is a full kitchen for you to store food and drink and make your own meals, and a friendly communal ambience in which to eat them; we were insufficiently organized for that and typically spent around $25 US a day for two buying basic breakfast at other hotels as there's just coffee (free) here. There's also a nice upstairs hammock area where we spent a pleasant afternoon with books and wine. And the wifi is free and strong, which I always love.

Much is made of the hotel not being on the beach. This wasn't a problem at all for us - there is easy beach access via Om Hotel across the road, a 2 minute walk from room to sea. What we did envy about the beach cabanas was their cool sea breeze - our room got quite hot at times despite the best efforts of two fans.

This hotel is located at km 8.5 on the beach road, opposite Om Hotel and Casa Violetta. I say this because I couldn't figure out its location in advance. It's a couple of kms from the Sian Ka'an nature reserve, and about 9km from the Tulum ruins. This property is well located, near several beach clubs, hotels, bars and restaurants, and a couple of little convenience stores. The beach is beautiful. Taxis are easy to find, and Tom was very obliging in getting one for us whenever we wanted one. He also hires bikes. In expensive Tulum, Las Palmas Maya is a very good choice with a personal, homey touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We really appreciate your thoughtful and thorough review. Tom is a wealth of information, always at the ready to help guests plan their day. We do our best to have a comfortable and clean property at an affordable price with beach access. Please do come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Las Palmas Maya was an awesome experience! It was in a great location just off an absolutely stunning beach. Tom was extremely helpful and made you feel right at home. I really hope to make it back to LPM soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencernelson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thanks for your review! We hope that you are able to stay with us again soon. Loved the video!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
915 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#19 of 101 in Tulum
613 reviews
4.5 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 101 in Tulum
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#20 of 101 in Tulum
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
471 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $106 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing