We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped it would be...and More!”
Review of Las Palmas Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Palmas Maya
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Smithville, Ga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped it would be...and More!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first trip to Tulum. It won't be our last trip and we will certainly stay at Las Palmas Maya when we return. We had two rooms for 5 people, the treetop suite and a deluxe room. They were comfortable, clean accommodations. The communal kitchen is great, the hammock lounge even better! A great spot for a power nap! Being across the road from the beach is not a drawback. Access through OM is only a two minute walk and the service provided by OM's wait staff was very timely...my Victoria's were never empty! The best thing about Las Palmas Maya is Tom and his staff. Please take advantage of his knowledge about the area, things to do, places to go, restaurants and anything else you may need while in Tulum. I am really looking forward to the upcoming additions Tom described to us. And I really miss his margaritas! I wish I had one now!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Improvements are continuing throughout the summer, so please do come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    43
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
151
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Las Palmas was definitely one of the highlights of our trip, we had stayed at 3 other hotels prior to coming to Las Palmas with only one coming close to the welcoming and friendliness of the staff, Tom was awesome and the open kitchen was wonderful, While not directly on the beach the access through Om was nice and literally across the street. This will no doubt be a place I will recommend to anyone planning on taking a trip to Tulum..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zennon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We cannot imagine being anything but kind and helpful...after all, it is paradise! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here when the world was supposed to end or something like that! We thought the room was really nice and although the shower was poor, Tom was quick to fix it once we brought it to his attention. Would recommend this ace to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeffynTheGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thankfully, the world did not end December 21, 2012! We are all still here, and enjoying all that Tulum has to offer. Thank you for your thoughts and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in Las Palmas Maya with my wife and 3 yr old son in April 2013. We were welcomed by the manager who proudly showed us around the lovely installations. He was warm, welcoming and had a wealth of knowledge about the area, tours, and places to visit. The palapa we rented was the first one entering from the road, on the right hand side (second floor). It was large, cool (despite the heat of the day), had a lovely thatched (palapa) roof enabling the room to breathe and keep fresh, a large bathroom and it nicely decorated.

We didn't really take advantage of the hammock area, kitchen and chillax area as we made the most of the great wind and spent the day on the beach kiteboarding and relaxing. However, I would like to say that this is an awesome touch for those who are looking for great value for money place to stay with self catering: fridge, pantry with private spaces for each room, cookers, fresh coffee each morning, this is the place for you. It has a lovely vibe to the place and feels like your home on the holiday.

We will be back next year!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was the biggest. It has 2 double beds and is very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Okay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so pleased that your family enjoyed the comforts of the Treetop Suite and your time at LPM. Thank you for your review and please do return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We really did our research to find this place. After spending over 2 hours driving up and down the hotel strip going into many, many hotels to check out their rooms and rates this was definitely the best comfort and service for a very reasonable price.

We found that most of the restaurant and hotel staff we spoke to in Tulum while asking around about hotels knew Tom ( the manager at Las Palmas Maya) and had nothing but great things to say about him. After finally meeting him it was clear why. His friendly, high energy positivity is contagious and he really goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great trip. He is so warm and welcoming, and really made us feel like old friends staying at his house instead of customers are a hotel. The other staff at the hotel was great too, Cecilia his assistant was very sweet and absolutely adorable! If you stay here, make sure you sit down with Tom for a drink and get to know him, his funny stories and knowledge of Tulum kept us very entertained.

The rooms although simple are very comfortable and 24 hour electricity, hot water and good water pressure are real luxuries in Tulum. The water pressure in the evening is so strong it feels like a water massage! You'll be hard pressed to find all these at another hotel this close to the beach for this price. Although there is no AC the fans here are quite powerful and definitely superior to the ones in the other hotels we stayed at in Tulum. The decor is very colourful and funky (Martha Steward might not approve, but I liked it) and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The kitchen is very, very well stocked (they even have a blender!) and is very clean.

This hotel is not on the beach but you have access to the clean beautiful beach, beach chairs and umbrellas across the street at Om hotel. We found that being across from the beach instead of on it meant there were less creepy crawlies around. We really enjoyed seeing all the gekos and found that the neon green mosquito nets keept the Mosquitos from biting us as long as we kept them closed at all times. If you are really worried about critters, I suggest a cruise to Alaska instead of Tulum, but you might still want to talk to Tom as he has some great advice about preparing for cruises.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
It gives us such a great feeling to know that you liked LPM well enough that you extended your visit! Although we are in the jungle, we know our guests appreciate a few special amenities, including the fans and high pressure/hot water showers. We do have a treasure in Tom, and he is a fantastic host. You are right, Martha Stewart might gasp at the rooms, but perhaps Andy Warhol would approve?? Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and do please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A friend and I spent 2 weeks here in late April/early May in the Treetop Suite. Las Palmas Maya fills a unique travelers niche in Tulum - think in terms of a backpacker with private rooms and baths, and suitable for all ages. Rooms are reasonably priced and simple, but comfortable and impeccably clean. The hotel has 24 hr electricity which means fans overnight. Tulum veterans know that on the jungle side of the road, this can be the difference between an uncomfortable and comfortable night’s sleep (fans also help drown out the minimal road noise). There is yoga across the street at Casa Violeta. Hotel Om graciously provides beach access and use of beach side furniture, and provides food and beverage service from their restaurant/bar. Las Palmas staff are friendly and helpful. Manager Tomas makes you feel as if you are an old friend and guest in his personal home. Bikes are available for rental for trips to town or exploring the restaurants and shops on the beach road. There are of course an abundance of restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a full communal kitchen (spotlessly clean) with designated dry/cold food storage areas and 24hr access to drinking water and ice. My only suggestion for improvement would be more hammocks in the hammock pavilion. There is only one and I fear I co-opted it too frequently.......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serendipity-2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience, particularly so that you had a nice, long stay! Every attempt is made to provide rooms as clean and comfortable as possible in this jungle paradise, and we so happy that you found that to be the case! We WILL get more hammocks up there, so when you return you can try out a different one! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed just one night in April, but that was enough time to be impressed with Las Palmas. The owners have put a lot of effort into making the place clean, comfortable and casual. The manager Tom is very friendly and accommodating. The shared kitchen facilities is a real advantage for people staying a while because going out to eat every meal in Tulum can be very expensive. Each room has a shelf in the frig and access to a fully equipped kitchen. Its across the street from the beach, but they have a arrangement with the hotel there so their clients have full beach access. A good choice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edbarnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that, although your stay was brief, you had a pleasant experience and appreciated our amenities. Hopefully when your travels have you returning to our little slice of paradise, you will again choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
851 reviews
4.5 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 96 in Tulum
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
317 reviews
5.2 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#20 of 96 in Tulum
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Property: Las Palmas Maya
Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing