We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best travel =D” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Palmas Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Palmas Maya
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best travel =D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you want to forget the city, feel the nature and stay peaceful all the days, go to Las Palmas Maya =D I went with my family and my pet (a little dog) on January 2013, everything was excellent, since you arrive until you go. Tom is an excellent person, he´s so attentive with everything, he´s friendly with the pets (if you need to travel with your pet, here´s the best option) also you can enjoy one of the most beautiful country and beach in Mexico.

Consider at Las Palmas Maya for your vacations in Tulum, you can organized as you want, they have a comunal kitchen, where you can have your food if you don´t want to go out or if you don´t want to spend a lot ;) I hope to go soon again, it really worth it =D

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marittza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We really do appreciate that you and your family enjoyed your stay at LPM (and your cute little dog, too)! Thank you for the kind words - Tom is an excellent and thoughtful host. We all hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to this beautiful part of Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    39
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
138
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Tom was an excellent host! I have never stayed at any hotel of any star rate with better service. It's an easy place to stay and forget about your troubles and hard to leave. Would definitely recommend this little little hotel. It's small but has a ton of heart by both Tom and the owners. If your lucky you may get to try the world famous Cococolada.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SkinnyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Another Coco Colada lover!! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was great having you, if only for a brief stay and we do hope that you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed with a friend in Jan 2013. I had know idea what to expect. I'm a little picky when it comes to affordable hotels. Tom, Cheryl and Frank could not have been more welcoming and laidback. The hotel was extremely clean and very comfortable. The location is across the street from one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Toms knowledge of the area was so helpful. He got it right when recommending the "best fish tacos" in town. This little hotel goes above and beyond with a convenient communal kitchen and available WIFI. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We are so happy you chose LPM for your first visit to Tulum and hope that you will return again soon! Tom always has great recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the area, and Matteo's (for fish tacos) is always high on the list. Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts, Kate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in Las Palmas Maya in January 2013. The hotel was lovely with beautiful rooms with huge beds and mosquito nets, just across from the gorgeous beach. The hotel provides free tea, coffee and water and has a communal kitchen with your own space in the fridge so you can make your own breakfast - having the option of cereal and fruit is great after all the lovely but rich mexican food! But the thing that makes this hotel so amazing is the hospitality of the manager Tom. He is always on the property to attend to your every need, and if he is leaving he will let you know in case you need something while he is away. Nothing is too much trouble, from hailing a cab for you and negotiating the fee to arranging bigger trips. It is by far and away the best hopsitality I have experienced in any hotel I have ever stayed in. You absolutely have to stay here if you are visiting Tulum.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelbird07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review! I would like to take your title, create a banner and hang it out by the road...lol! It means so much that you and your friend were comfortable in the rooms and that you see the value in the communal kitchen. Tulum's beach road restaurants can get pricey and sometimes it is nice to just have a snack. Tom wears a lot of hats at LPM and what he does best is attend to our guests. We all hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at Las Palmas Maya together with my Mom for four nights. And we can absolutely recommend that hotel to everyone. The place is clean the staff attentive and helpful at all time and the kitchen is a real advantage when your budget is limited. Tulum is comparatively expensive, therefore it is really nice if you can cook your own meals (or have a cheap breakfast). And even though the hotel is not directly at the beach the walking distance is only about 50 metres.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Naobe1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay at LPM! We enjoyed having you and your Mom with us, and although I know you were a little under the weather for a day or so, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Las Palmas Maya in the beginning of January 2012. I was extremely happy with this choice from the start. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the place is nice - nothing flashy - just homey and nice, but the best thing about this place is the excellent service provided by Tom, the manager. It´s too bad you can only give 5 stars for service, because Tom is what really makes this place so special. He makes you feel as if you are a guest and not just a customer. He took care of our every need, helped us get groceries for breakfast and find batteries for my camera, recommended tours and dining options, and he even gave a great Coco-colada tutorial in the communal kitchen (the results of which tasted excellent). And always with a smile.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a no-frills laid-back vacation among the friendliest people you will ever meet. I certainly wouldn´t hesistate to book a room there next time I find my way to Tulum!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Love your title! Tom has been known to put together a fine coco-colada! Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write of your experience. We look forward to your return with the rest of your family one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rarely is a hotel distinguished by the hospitality of the Manager, it’s comfort, cleanliness and proximity to attractions. LPM is all these and more. First and foremost Tom, who managers the little jewel is knowledgeable, friendly and takes pride in helping his guests make the best of the vacation that they are looking for.
The hotel is tiny, only 4 rooms and a suite, but the rooms and the grounds are ample in size and airy with lots of room to relax. The hotel has a very spacious kitchen that sparkles in it’s pristine cleanliness, it comes equipped with two gas stoves and a fridge, BBQ, plus great quality cooking and eating utensils (plus blenders to perfect your mixology craft). If you are looking for a self-catering option that is clean, friendly and provides for opportunities to meet other travellers and tourist then this might be the best place for you.
Good Internet is available 24 hours a day, as are hot showers and electricity. But the best part is that just a few steps away lies one of the most beautiful beaches you can imagine. Additionally it is very easy to visit the Mayan ruins of Coba, Chitchen itza and Tulum plus many other fantastic places that you can only experience in Yucatan and Q Roo.

Not least of all the hotel is located on a quieter stretch of the Hotel Zone, but still only a stone thrown away from great happy hour, breakfast and eating places. My favourite Happy hour was at La Casa Viloeta, because it is just so beautiful at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moniks20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It makes us happy that you appreciated so many of the amenities that we have worked towards perfecting, and I thank you for speaking of them so eloquently! Please do come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.7 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
0.4 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#15 of 87 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#17 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
5.2 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#14 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Property: Las Palmas Maya
Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing