We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be nicer”
Review of Las Palmas Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Palmas Maya
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 30, 2012

There's one reason to stay at Las Palmas Maya - the playa across the street. My wife and I are not 'beach people' but we spent way more time on the playa than we thought we would.

The hotel is clean, comfy and casual. Tom, the manager, sees to your every need.

My only quibble is the location. It's near the end of the beach road. Getting back to the main road takes a bit of time due to traffic and the ubiquitous topes. But if you plan on staying near the beach this won't be a concern.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveYuhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at LPM. Thank you for your thoughtful review. I am not surprised to hear that the beautiful Tulum beach can captivate even non-beach people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 395 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and loved it. Tom, Frank and Cheryl are all fantastic and so welcoming and inviting with a great knowledge of cocktails, fly fishing guides and anything else you could possibly ask for! With the new kitchen and chill out area nearly ready this place is just going to keep getting better... we miss you already!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Glad that you recognize the "important" things in life like cocktails and flyfishing...we think it is wise to stay knowledgable about such vital things, too! Seriously though, the new communal kitchen and chill out lounge will be open in just a couple of more days! We enjoyed having both of you as our guests and hope that you can return one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent 10 days in August at Las Palmas Maya as a couple for the celebration of our wedding anniversary and this trip was a blast! As soon as we arrived, Tom, the manager welcomed us and greeted us by name and we share a bottle of Champagne with my wife after we unpacked. If you are looking for luxury in Tulum just stick with the all-inclusive resorts – if eco-tourism is your choice Las Palmas Maya is the perfect place to be! The rooms are comfortable and clean. The beach area is totally off the grid which means they have to pump their own water and produce their own electricity – back in August water was running all day but electricity only at night – However, very recently, Las Palmas Maya purchased a new generator and battery set up which now allows 24hr electricity and high pressure water!
The beach is literally across the street and it is no surprise it has been voted number #3 beach on EARTH! The beach is simply amazing, there is a great restaurant called OM on the beach you can get a cocktail (look out for the happy hour!) or delicious quesadillas (one of the best ever!) and enjoy the beach all day. There are so many activities in the area! It is your choice you can go swim with the turtles, visit the national preserve featuring all kind of bird species or visit the ruins of Coba and the Cenotes. It is better to have a car if you stay for a long period of time so you can travel longer distances without hassle.
Tom, Las Palmas manager will be always here to help you. All his adventure / dining suggestions were always right on. We hope to find time shortly to come back and spend more good times together again! Thanks to Cheryl and Frank also for being so generous and warm – We can’t wait to enjoy Las Palmas again now I see they built a new communal kitchen that is impossible to find a better place for such affordable price in Tulum!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoRoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

We are so honored that you and your lovely bride chose to spend your honeymoon with us. You are so correct in that there are tons of activities in Tulum in addition to soaking up some rays on that beautiful beach. We hope to see you again soon...perhaps for an anniversary? ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in November for 3 nights and we could not be happier. Very nice and affordable place to stay. Tom (manager) was very informative and knowledgeable of the area and can prepare a "mean" cocktail of his own creativity. We were present for the "start" of the new generator which meant we did have electricity 24 hours a day ( one of the rare place in the area) and with the new communal kitchen - "Palapas" it will be a beautiful place to relax.
Cheryl and Frank (owner) were generous in their kindness to help us in any way possible

We are ready to return sooner than later

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank so much for your kind words. We are glad you got to experience the "inaugural" 24hr electricity while you were with us. Please do come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I enjoyed a week at Las Palmas Maya at the end of October and the weather could not have been better. I chose the suite which was very spacious and the private balcony overlooking beach road was a favorite in the mornings! The beach is literally across the street and I can see why it's been voted #3 on EARTH. During my stay I visited Coba's ruins, many cenotes and all of Tom's adventure / dining suggestions were right on. I'll be back!!

- Becky in Florida

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeckyinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed the Treetop Suite! There is so much to do in the area and Tom is wonderful at helping guests plan their excursions and activities. Do come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for three nights in October 2012, and it was perfect for me. Cheryl was amazingly responsive and helpful by email with directions and advice on transportation from Cancun. Tom, The manager, greeted me by name when i arrived at the gate and was immensely helpful and accommodating, helping to book cave diving and fishing trips. The new communal kitchen was under construction, but should be completed by the time you read this, and it will be lovely. I should stress that it was made very clear at the time of my booking that construction was underway, and that i should expect some noise and activity during the day. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Understand, though: that it is basic accommodation. If you're looking for marble floors, A/C, T.V. and a mini bar, stick to the all-inclusives at Playa. Tulum is probably not for you. Overall it is comfortable, secure, and very welcoming. I will definitely stay there again when i return to Tulum.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grady299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We appreciate your kind words about your recent stay at LPM! We are so excited about the new communal kitchen and lounge and really appreciate that you were so understanding of the construction happening during your stay. Customer service and satisfaction are of the upmost importance to all of us, so thank you again for your positive comments. We look forward to having you as our guest again at your earliest opportunity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and another couple. I like to be a little spoiled when I'm on vacation but majority ruled on this choice. It's a cute place but not my first choice of boutique hotels where there are so many to choose from in Tulum.

Pros
- Tom, the manager, is friendly, gives great advice
- location
- communal kitchen

Cons
- no AC
- electricity gets turned off during the day
- like many places in Tulum, not much protection from the weather

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dkrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of LPM. We appreciate all of your comments and are grateful that you and your friends stayed with us for a few days in May. Since then, we have made several improvements to enhance our guest's experiences. First and foremost, our new generator and battery set up allows 24hr electricity!! Our new screened communal kitchen offers much more protection from the elements and our 2nd floor lounge is a great place to nap in a hammock, chill out, or meet up other guests to discuss the days activities. Please do come check us out again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
923 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
4.5 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 101 in Tulum
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#24 of 101 in Tulum
624 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 101 in Tulum
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $68 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing