We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simple and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sale e Pepe

Sale e Pepe
Ranked #30 of 335 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located close to the Tulum ruins, Sale&Pepe is an Italian restaurant that offers the best in Italian food. The menu ranges from a wide variety of pastas, pizzas, calzones, seafood and excellent desserts.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Simple and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We ate here after a long day of biking and sightseeing. We ordered the ravioli con carne and the pomodoro fresco pizza. Both were so delicious. The raviolis were homemade and had that wonderful homemade al dente consistency and were stuffed with a delicious meat--not sure what it was-perhaps some combination of sausage and veal?--whatever it was, I wish I could find these raviolis at home. The pizza crust was perfection--very thin and crispy, topped with mozzarella, sliced tomatoes and fresh basil. The serving sizes were just right and with a large bottle of water, our meal came to 275 pesos. Our waitress was very pleasant and we will definitely come here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suze05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    84
    35
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food & Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We ate at this wonderful restaurant 3 times during our stay in Tulum. Every time the food was
excellent, service was great, very friendly...between staff members we heard English, Spanish, Italian & German spoken. Great food ... Great staff. We will definately be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley
Level Contributor
144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Missed the Mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited this busy street corner restaurant early in their dinner service and so we were the only clients for a time, though the restaurant did fill up with families with children as time went on. From an atmosphere standpoint we found the heavy traffic and small children distracting.

The Fettuccine Carbonara was good but did not stand out and the lasagna that was ordered came cold and needed to be taken away and warmed, though it was tasty. The combination of all of the above left us feeling that the restaurant missed the mark at least with us.

Since this restaurant is considered one of the better ones in town and in the top echelon for Italian food in Tulum it really qualifies how much we can say that is positive about our experience.

Prices are OK, the food tasted OK, the service was below OK. OK, is that what you want to have?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank winetraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Marginal at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went because of recent good reviews, but what a let down! Like all the restaurants in Tulum, over priced. Service mediocre and the pizza, pasta, and fish dishes our party ordered were acceptable, but far from stellar. Combined with its location on busy, dusty, noisy Highway 307, I cannot foresee ever returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DH1and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEDDGELERT
1 review
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Perfect food delicious, had best italian ever and thats in mexico ! And wifi is way better then in my resort :) thank you very much!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KONRADANDIZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale e Pepe also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Sale e Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing