We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palma Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palma Real
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We planned one night, and stayed three. The hotel is small, fully renewed and looks good. The staff is friendly and helpful. There was some misunderstanding about payments (1 night Expedia and 2 nights direct) but the staff solved it professionally and easily. The pool is good, even though the tiles, both inside the room and between the pool and the room are extremely slippery when wet: be careful! Little restaurants in the nearby village are good value for money, especially La Paisana. If you like to see an authentic Mayan village that is NOT a tourist trap, drive to the roundabout near Coba, turn right and stop halfway between there and Punta Laguna. A sign at the left hand side of the road invites you to a 'zoological park': we visited the village and had the best possible experience. Punta Laguna itself is a tourist trap (expensive, very organised).
Back to the hotel: the rooms are clean, the bathroom adequate. A light near the bed would have been comfortable, as well as a roof fan (the aircon is too loud to run overnight). The only minus is the noise of the road, but despite being rather noise sensitive that did not stop us from booking three in stead of one night.

Room Tip: The further away from the road, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 364Jaap_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto H, Propietario at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback, your server and Joseph offer an apology for the inconvenience payment and invite you to return soon and will offset the administrative error with a free night, Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were very pleased that we had selected the Palma Real for our stay in Tulum. The accommodation was of a very high standard with very comfortable beds, hot water 24 hours a day, good a/c and rooms cleaned daily. As it is located half way between Tulum and Coba it was an ideal base for visiting both places easily. The swimming pool was a nice bonus to come back to after sightseeing. Several small shops are available in the village nearby. Very friendly staff who were most helpful to us. Would certainly recommend this hotel as it was certainly one of the best we stayed in during our trip.

Room Tip: Upstairs gets a good view of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto H, Propietario at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your good comments staying at our hotel, we will be waiting for your next visit to the Riviera Maya with open arms, accept my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

For more then 20 years I stated in the Hotel Villas Archeologicas in Coba and wasn't very pleased to find this hotel closed on my arrival in march. On my way to Tulum then I found this hotel along the road to Tulum. Wracked after a long journey I decided to stay in the Hotel Palma Real just for a night and look for something better the next day. To be honest I did not find anything better then this Hotel for the next two weeks and stayed there throughout my whole vacation. The people working there are very nice and helpful (borrowed me a laptop that I was able to watch Soccer Matches via Internet), the rooms are big, the shower warm with a good pressure, aircon., Wifi, nice clean pool, a good breakfast for 5 $ what else can you ask for?
You need a car, but if you want to explore this part of the world that is helpful anyway. I met a couple of people that made the same experience then I had with Palma Real, staying for one night and then stay on because of the good experiences.
Next time I travel in this area I will Book this Hotel in advance. A little of the beaten track, and you don't have to pay the crazy prices for rooms in Tulum pueblo and at the beach.

Thanks to the staff that worked in the Hotel Palma Real beginning of March , I really enjouyed my time there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karl-Heinz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto H, Propietario at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are grateful for your comment, it helps us to do more every day, on your next trip surely will offer a better room with more and better services. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

27km west of Tulum, on the way to Coba. We needed an hotel for a night whilst transiting the Yucatan and found this one for $ 29. Our expectations were low but : what a surprise! It is more a Motel 6 type but rooms were large and clean and with ensuite hot shower and Loo, and it was clean. Bed was very comfortable and it has a pool which was much appreciated. It is a work in progress and needs to be finished. There are no restaurants nearby, even in Coba, but other guests found a bbq stand nearby, which they said was delicious, and we found a tiny "Mini-Super" to buy food for an in room picnic. Our breakfast at $ 5.00 each was yet another pleasant surprise ( coffee, toast and eggs of your choice)
Highly recommend for a cheap and cheerful stop-over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto H, Propietario at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we will continue to enhance products and services, so that on your next visit will bring back a pleasant surprise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stettler
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The price was right for this hotel. It is a little off the beaten track, but located along a highway, so if you have a car, it is easily accessible. The staff only speaks Spanish, so that can be a difficulty if you do not know Spanish. We had booked two rooms, but they had only written down one for us, although luckily they had another available room. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We were in Unit 1, closest to the road, so the light and music and guests having a good time at the eating area, and highway noise were a bit irritating as we were trying to fall asleep, although later at night all was quiet and calm. The internet was not working while we were there. The people who did eat there said it wads very good and very affordable as well. When we went to leave, the owner asked for a way inflated price, so it was a good thing that I had paperwork documenting the price from the online hotel reservation site that I had made the reservation through. It was fine for a stopover sleep, but I wouldn't stay here for an extended time.

Room Tip: Room 6 was upstairs and far away from the noise of the highway and eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderingroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto H, Owner at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your good comments, they motivate us to work harder to improve the services offered at the hotel, we hope to serve you soon, accept my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a small hotel but comfortable and great value. I stayed here with my son and found that the people here are very helpful and work hard at keeping it spotless. There is a nice pool to cool off in. Breakfast and dinner are available. It is located part way between Tulum and Coba on the road from Tulum to Valladolid so if you have a car and want to visit some of the local archaelogical sites, it is the perfect location. Local bus service is available but I am not sure of the frequency.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto H, Propietario at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It is a pleasure to have had their pleasant visit and have met your expectations, we are at your significant orders on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

As bargain accommodation goes, Hotel Palma Real is true to its star rating. Rooms are basic but generous size. We opted to pay for a premium room and were pleased with two comfortable double beds, table and chairs, fan, air con and shower/toilet. Yes, the plastic bed protectors were annoying... and the decor was not inspiring... but at these prices we didn't expect the Hilton! The staff were courteous but our halting Spanish meant we didn't have much interaction. The hotel is c 20km from Tulum (a car is a necessity), but there is a small village within walking distance should you want to pick up a few provisions or a bite to eat. If this hotel had a small fridge in each room I would have gladly rated this hotel higher. The external motion detector search light automatically switched on throughout the night, which was annoying as the curtains did not fit the window. Our Spanish wasn't up to trying to explain this... But I hope the owner sorts these out. We didn't use the pool or other facilities.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JJBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto H, Propietario at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are grateful for your comment, it helps us to work harder every day, work on our weaknesses and points out you on your next trip surely will offer a better room with more and better services. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
12.6 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#76 of 92 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
12.5 mi away
Rancho Tranquilo
Rancho Tranquilo
#64 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
12.4 mi away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#77 of 92 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#69 of 92 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#80 of 92 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
12.9 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#78 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Real

Property: Hotel Palma Real
Address: Federal Highway Tulum-Coba Km. 21. 5 | Francisco Uh May, Tulum 77796, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palma Real 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel very comfortable and affordable with all the services needed to achieve a very pleasant and enjoyable, situated between two important archaeological sites in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palma Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing