We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palma Real
Nearby Hotels
$343
$259
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azulik(Tulum)
$561
$510
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$261
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$274
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$546
$530
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
$637
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$641
$622
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
13
17
17
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
17
17
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 54 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a 2 star hotel. The hotel manager works very hard to keep the hotel clean and apealing. We stayed in room #5 which has a king bed and right next to the very inviting pool. We stayed 8 nights and looked forward to returning to the hotel in the evening after visiting the much to see within a short driving distance. My wife enjyed the pool while I enjoyed sitting outside at the table behind the hotel. The internet worked very well. I was able to use Google Voice most of the time. If you have a rental car and want to see a lot of the sites on a small amount of money this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: It really is a good find!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JasonRavennaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpalmareal1, Propietario at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Jason Garey, we are very grateful for your comments because it motivates us to continue working on improving the facilities and service and we guarantee it in your next visit to you to change very nice, besides loved the friendliness and simplicity of his wife who took great care of the children of the manager. Yours sincerely the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We chose this hotel due to the price & location as we were between condo weeks in Tulum area & needed to fill in a night somewhere. Just 15 min west of Tulum, on edge of small village, the hotel is handy, clean, simple. Room was very basic, but decent place to spend the night. Pluses: Best bed we've ever had in Mexico. Back yard is not very groomed which actually provided decent bird-watching-2 parrots & various others! Kingdom Hall (spanish) across the road. WIFI quite slow. Pool was warm and clerk was friendly. AC worked fine.

Room Tip: Room on furthest end by pool is close to their washing machine-might be noisier.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mexiaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpalmareal1, Propietario at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your valuable comments, it helps us improve our service and we will be happy to know we are working on improving the equipment of the rooms and now we already have Internet 5 times faster than the last, receive a Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I will start by saying that the hotel itself was nice, the owners very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable and clean. There is an outside pool and a computer in reception to access the internet.
However, the location of this property was not ideal for us. It is not within walking distance of Tulum centre, or the beach or ruins. There are not frequent buses that pass either, we spent alot of time on the side of the road hoping for a bus to come by! Of course there are taxis but gets expensive using them everytime you want to go out and return. You can also hire a bike but personally I wouldn't want to cycle along the main road from Tulum to the hotel.
We would always try to grab a lift from anyone leaving the hotel who was headed in that direction!
A shame about the location but if you have your own transport or don't mind spending out on taxis, this wouldn't be a problem. For the budget traveller, yes the rooms are cheap but you end up spending out to get anywhere.
There is nothing wrong with the service, rooms, cleanliness etc, for that it was very good value for money. Just for us personally, the location was not the best.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coconuts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpalmareal1, Propietario at Hotel Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your valuable comments, it helps us improve our service and we will be happy to know that we are making the necessary arrangements with State and local government to improve the frequency of public and private transport. Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews