We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salsa, ceviche and tequila!”

La Zebra Beach Restaurant and Tequila Bar
Ranked #28 of 387 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located right on the stunning Tulum beach, La Zebra is dedicated to fresh, delicious modern Mexican beach cuisine. And our bar features fresh juices, smoothies and a range of now famous cocktails (try our fresh sugar cane juice mojitos, or the La Zebra margarita with fresh pineapple juice and a hint of ginger). Sunday nights we have a salsa dance party with live Cuban salsa band....So come dance under the stars with us!
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Salsa, ceviche and tequila!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place is a triple threat of amazing! Beach front, great outdoor seating, delicious food - the ceviche is a must have! The staff is fun and the service was great. The band was great and it made the atmosphere. Every single person there was having a good time. It was a great first night in Tulum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missmeliss972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    303
    98
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fun atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent Sunday night dinner here knowing they had salsa night (group lesson and dancing all night). Great atmosphere with the restaurant right on the beach (make reservations if you want to sit outside by the dancing action and loungy atmosphere) but the food was just so-so. They have an extensive tequila menu and make their own cane sugar with an old-fashioned cane crank machine.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cornyconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“PERFECTION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This small restaurant bar sits in the middle of the beach in Tulum! All I can say is WOW! This is the most incredible place that I have spent a day at. It's roughly 40 minutes south of Playa Del Carmen. Very secluded area. We sat on their lounge chairs, enjoy some tacos, and the best mohitos I have ever had. Instead of putting sugar in the Mohito like most places do, they put in a stick of sugar cane that you can chew on. The beach and water here are AMAZING. We took a 30 minute walk down the beach and encoutered 4 people in total. Very private, very untouched and absolutely stunning. I could stay here in this perfection forever. It's a must see!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 02lightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant salsa dancing in a beautifully scenic setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went dancing here on Sunday and it was a fantastic night- great Cuban band playing salsa, cha cha etc with good drinks under a star filled sky- great evening!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average Food, over-priced, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Food was only OK and took a long time to get. Service was very poor despite the fact that there were very few people in the restaurant. I would give this place a miss, as there are many excellent restaurants in Tulum

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Zebra Beach Restaurant and Tequila Bar also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Zebra Beach Restaurant and Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing